We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Rectory Cafe

Rectory Cafe
Ranked #384 of 8,648 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Burlington, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went to the Rectory Cafe on Ward's Island for lunch. It was a very pleasant surprise. It is a very small cafe with indoor and outdoor seating in a beautiful setting. Our server was excellent as was the food. Portion size was just right for lunch and our food was served prompty. The burgers were very tasty and probably the best in recent memory. There are many kinds of exotic teas on the menu that are worth a try. Just a beautiful cafe to stop in on a trip to the beautiful islands.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyBar_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    92
    23
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nutrition meets Nature”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our day away from the bustle and noise of the city was capped by a wonderful lunch at the Rectory Cafe, Ward's Island. After a short ferry ride from Toronto's harbour front and a leisurely walk through the pathways and gardens, we came upon the cafe just in time for lunch. We were seated at a nicely shaded table on the patio. I ordered carrot-ginger-orange soup, the frittata and a glass of viognier. The service was friendly and prompt, the food fresh and very tasty. The Rectory Cafe has a relaxed, country atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagmamanCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We discovered this little gem while walking around Toronto Island. It's a renovated house that's been made into a café. You walk through the house and in the backyard is this little café. It's small and quaint and they have a wonderful staff. The food was great, the atmosphere was peaceful. You eat in a small garden. Excellent food and great staff. I will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant, can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Rectory Cafe is a lovely restaurant in an absolutely beautiful setting on Ward's Island. When the weather co-operates I would recommend eating on their patio that overlooks the water, it truly is incredibly picturesque. The staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, we were a party of seven and everyone enjoyed their meal. I am very fussy about hamburgers and the burger I ordered was one of the best I have had in some time. And the desserts are to die for! If you are visiting Toronto Island I would highly recommend this restaurant. I am really looking forward to going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank northerndecorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“island oasis”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A welcoming oasis at the end of a walk on Toronto Island, especially on a hot day. Very friendly staff providing a great lunchtime menu. Outside garden setting under the trees overlooking the lake great on a hot day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank almalmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rectory Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rectory Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing