We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only if your a leafs fan”

The Loose Moose Tap & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Loose Moose Tap & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 8,443 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: Front and University
Transit: 5 minute walk from Union Station.
Description: Welcome to the new Loose Moose, featuring a brand new menu and the largest draught beer selection in downtown Toronto. Since pouring our first pint in 1989, a lot has changed at The Loose Moose. And yet, so much has remained the same. Our space is different, but our address isn’t. Our business has grown, but we’re still independent. And now, even with the most draught beers downtown, we’re no beer snobs. Never have been. Never will be. After all, staying true to yourself is how you make new friends - and keep old ones. Anyone who’s stopped by The Loose Moose to unwind after work, watch the game or make a night of it will tell you the same.
Montreal
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Only if your a leafs fan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Food is very good and the service nice. Since it was the playoffs they had the Habs/Sens game on every screen. Since I am a habs fan great. Asked for the sound to be turned on and we were told that unless its a leafs game forget it. This came directly from the General Manager. The staff seemed embarassed and even told us they didn't agree.

What a shame. We were a group of 20 and after our drink left to find a more customer friendly establishment. If I was the owner and just lost 1000.00 of business that easily I would reconsider my hospitality rules.

Now I will skip Toronto the next time round and avoid the loose moose.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derwood35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    304
    116
    45
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Service?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This place had serving staff walking around but I guess they don't take drink orders? We met up with some friends that had been there for over an hour and had a waiter stop by once and we sat there for another hour before someone had to go and get him again to take our order. Once he took it we waited another 15 minute to get the drinks. Maybe they should just have signs on the table saying , "no table service please go to the bar for a drink". That way it would be clear. Wouldn't go there again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Busy Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I wanted to get a bite to eat before going to the recent Fleetwood Mac concert.We have walked by the Loose Moose many times and decided it was time to go in. The room upstairs was pretty full and the hostess suggested we go downstairs. So down we went .The room was long and dark. The table that we were sat at had a stool with no back on it. No where to put our jackets.Also the hostess upstairs did not tell us that they do not have a full food or beer menu downstairs. So we went back upstairs and she was able to find us a table.The seating here is a lot of long picnic type tables that are ment to share.Reminded me of a german beer hall seating. The room is long and it was full of people either going to the concert at the Air Canada Centre or the Rogers Centre for the Blue Jays game. The vibe was good.Our server was at our table fairly quickly considering how busy the place was. I ordered a Amsterdam Boneshaker IPA pint of draught beer and my wife had a Cloak and Dagger (Guinnes beer,vanilla vodka,kahlua and a shot of espresso) We both enjoyed our choices.To eat we had an order of fish tacos,meatball sliders and on our server's recommendation, the sweet potato thing. The tacos were good,the sliders were good and so was the thing but be warned that the sweet potato thing could feed a family of five on it's own. It has sweet potato fries, regular fries and onion strips in it.It's about 5x5inches and a foot long. We offered to share it with the others that had sat at our table but they said that they had ordered one too.Had we known it was that big we never would have ordered it.I think the server should explain just how big the sweet potato thing is.Other than that she gave us very good service. It was a little loud for my wife, but I would come back with the guys next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plannersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just What It Looks Like”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

While the decor of the Loose Moose has changed since our last visit, it remains exactly what it looks like it'll be--a good place to get a simple meal and a beer. We had San Francisco burgers, with goat cheese, served on sourdough slices, which became a dripping, tasty mess, a beer for one in our party, wine for the other--who noted it was especially nice to be able to order either 6 ounces or 9. Our only complaint was the lack of choice on salad dressings--but since both our salads came virtually dressing-free, the fact that neither of our party would have chosen what purportedly came on all salads was a moot point.

Excellent service, with smiles which seemed genuine, which is always a big part of a positive experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MimsyBorogove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A fresh set of antlers - deserves a second review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I reviewed the Moose about a year ago after a really bad lunch with co-workers. Well a return visit for a work lunch has upgraded my review. The place has bEen redone with a beer hall vibe - which believe it or not is a good thing. It feels like good times even at lunch and has great vibe at night. Visitor consider this place - there are some interesting items on the menu and a great list of local beers. Not gourmet and not a bargain - but fairly priced for a location in proximity to Rogers Centre and ACC. Glad they injected some life into this institution that was starting to fade.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank localguy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Loose Moose Tap & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Loose Moose Tap & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing