We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandwich Nirvana”
Review of Black Camel

Black Camel
Ranked #541 of 8,575 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $10 - $19
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sandwich Nirvana”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

You know that you have found the best sandwich in town when there is still a line up ten deep at 1:30. Black Camel in Toronto is a little bit of sandwich heaven across from the Rosedale Subway station. They serve up the BEST brisket, pulled pork, chicken (I think are more, but those are the ones I have had) sandwiches ever. Toppings are numerious.....my favorite is the shredded brisket with Black Camel BBQ sauce, carmalized onions and horseraddish...although sometimes we change it up with dijon. Served up on a perfectly soft bun. Selection of sweets and coffee, soft drinks et al....but it is the sandwich that is star! $12 for sandwich, drink and small bag of designer chips. Wow! This place has been true to its original formula and it shows. Consistenly serving up excellent sandwiches. Way to go Black Camel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freejoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brisket sandwich... sooo good”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Located directly across the street from Rosedale TTC Station is this tiny little sandwich shop that serves a small; but growing menu of tasty sandwiches on fresh buns.

I have tried the pulled pork and beef brisket, and I must say that while both were excellent I did prefer the brisket (with mushrooms, horseradish, and bbq sauce). If I have someone accompanying me, then usually i'll go with 2 sandwiches and split on a coleslaw (it's the vinaigrette kind, not the creamy kind). It's also here that I got hooked on San Pellegrino Limonata.

While this place is generally a takeout spot, if you go when it's warm enough to be outside, there are two parks located a few steps away where you can take your yummy sandwiches on a picnic. I highly recommend bringing bocce balls along and playing with your one free hand in Ramsden park (sandwich in your other hand).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank btt1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“None Better -- and I mean anywhere”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

You might find a beef brisket sandwich as good as this somewhere (although I can't think where that might be) but it won't be better.
Cooked for hours (and tastes it). Try it with their various house-made toppings. Best sandwich bread you've tasted -- fresh daily.
There is a reason why Rosedale people park their Range Rovers outside and risk a ticket.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank YukonRoadKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have been a few times and have had the brisket sandwich and the pulled chicken. Both are yummy and very tender. The place is tiny and usually busy and there is not much seating inside so be prepared to wait if you want to eat there, if you are taking out then no problem. Staff is very willing to offer suggestions and explain the menu to you. They do run out so you might want to check ahead.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kacee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Sandwich Shop in Toronto”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Located very close to the subway it's very easy to get here. The shop itself is quite small, which is fine when the weather allows for eating outside; however, these sandwiches are so good I would stand in the cold to have one. The brisket is particularly incredible, the meat is very tendered and generously doled out. The choice of sauces and the range of toppings you can add are all worthwhile. Essentially, you must try this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gagnonsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Camel also viewed

 

Been to Black Camel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing