We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Toronto Garden Inn
Nearby Hotels
$370
$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$224
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$244
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$355
$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$289
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$336
$272
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$301
$240
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$279
$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$238
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$320
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
138
90
24
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
90
24
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorchid roombed and breakfastwithin walking distance of downtownbasement apartmentparking passdundas squareshared bathrooma great place to staybreakfast was excellenthome away from homeeach morningfloor roomstayed nightsmin walktop floorcomfortable bedsyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 258 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2010

This is a great place to stay and you cannot find a better deal in Toronto. I'm from Toronto and needed a place to stay for a few weeks and I really loved it there so I stayed almost a month. The breakfast is great with a huge selection of everything imaginable. Unal and Ergun are welcoming, courteous and friendly. The rooms are homey and comfortable and all have their own unique personalities. Having tried a lot of discount hotels in Toronto I can assure anyone this is the very best deal you will find in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielwilson7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I had stayed here for 3 weeks. Love the antique furniture in this Victorian house, each room is uniquely decorated. House is pretty clean, part of kitchen (available for use anytime) is brand new and bright. Ambiance of the house as a whole is very relaxing and comfortable. Free local calling, wifi internet and computer plus a printer. Downtown and restaurants takes a good 15min walk so streetcar is the way to go. Some small eateries nearby. Laundromat 1min walk away. Two convenient stores within walking distance. Street car 1block away. Overall very good service and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InToronto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

This was my very first visit to Toronto. I stayed 10 days at the Toronto Garden Inn in the Begonia Room. The B&B was located within a hundred feet of the street car, and within a 10-15 minute walk east of the Eaton Center area. The location was convenient to public transportation and other amenities. There was laundry mat on the corner, and a great food store called "Metro" down Gerrard Street, about a 10-15 minute walk away. Also, a 5-minute walk away (south of Dundas Street East on Parliament) there is a terrific, very small family owned Thai restuarant, Sukhothai (274 Parliament Street) - the Pad Thai and spring rolls were fantastic! There's a very good, cheap middle eastern joint, Ali Baba, on Dundas Street East, across from the Esso gas station, about a 10 minute walk away. Their hummus and falafel were quite good.

The Begonia Room was very quiet given that it was at the top of the stairs and thought I was the only one in the B&B as I did not know there were other visitors except when we happened to congregate in the kitchen. Also, the use of kitchen was a bonus and breakfast was included. Although temperatures were cold outside in mid-December, the B&B was very well heated inside - I walked around barefoot in the B&B in December!

Although the area nearby was "seedy," I had no problems. Supposedly, the area is the next up and coming neighborhood in Toronto. I spoke with a number of Torontonians and they remarked that a one bedroom for $1000 rent in that neighborhood was normal - go figure!

A fine stay overall with a very helpful host and a toasty warm B&B to come home to! Cheers!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank artlandmusictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I have traveled a great deal, both for business and pleasure, and have always stayed in a B&B. I prefer the comfort level that they provide and how it allows me to feel less displaced from home. I find that no matter how nice the hotel there is always a feeling of disconnect from those around me.
I was referred to the Toronto Garden Inn and was very glad to find that Unal was able to accommodate myself and my colleague. We stayed in the Trillium room on the third floor of the house. The final flight of stairs was quite steep but the large private deck looking out onto the city made it very worthwhile for all those but the physically challenged. It was furnished with two twin beds (with the option for a king size single bed) allowing myself and my colleague to share a room without having to share a bed. The room was bright, airy, and yet cosy with a chair and settee to the side and a tv and dvd player for in room viewing. As I stated there was a large (approx. 12' x 15'/14sq meter) deck with bistro table and chairs to relax with. Even though it was late November the weather was still warm enough to enjoy it. There were two shared bathrooms, one just off of the second floor towards the back and one on the lower floor just off of the kitchen. There was also a very nice garden off of the kitchen that was surrounded by a fence to allow privacy as you enjoyed the crisp morning air and coffee. There was a larger additional tv and a nice selection of dvd's and books in the comfortable living room at the front of the house if you wanted or needed them. Free high-speed wi-fi was great since most all travelers bring laptops. Breakfast was very good and there was enough variety to suit most everyone's tastes. Another great thing that Unal does is leaves fruit and nuts out all the time so if you feeling peckish you can just grab some and go, a very nice touch. The location of the Garden Inn Toronto is just a few steps off Dundas so it is very convenient to hop on the street car and get all over the city or just walk a few blocks and you are right in the centre of boy's town with all the great shops, bars, and restaurants. The parking is typical for Toronto and so can be a challenge; but if you purchase a week on-street parking pass online you can park right on Seaton most of the time. The pass is only sold for a week at a time (you pick the starting day/date) and at a cost of approx. 18 dollars Cn a very good deal even if you are only staying a few days (min. flat rate parking is 5 dollars Cn) and much cheaper than a min. 30 dollars Cn parking ticket. The Garden Inn Toronto is quiet and peaceful which is an great advantage when you are feeling harried or exhausted from a day of work, pleasure, or travel. Unal's beautiful smile and kind, embracing personality is of course what brings the entire stay together. He is there when, or if, you need him with engaging conversation or a quick tip on where to eat or what to see and he makes you feel comfortable and welcome from the start. This gives you the feeling that you are staying in a friend's home and when it comes to staying away from home that is something most everyone enjoys.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cinemetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

The host has been really kind in helping to planified our stay in Toronto. The team loved the place, they felt like being at home. We surely will go back again !

Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
3  Thank adjointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews