We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, good location to public transport, area a bit sketchy”
Review of Toronto Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toronto Garden Inn
Ranked #8 of 116 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice room, good location to public transport, area a bit sketchy”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Room: We stayed in the Trillion room, the largest room in the attic of the house. Room was cool with fans blowing awhich i8pm, but during the afternoon it was very hot no matter what. (The heat was not a problem in the other rooms with central air.) The back patio (only avail with the Trillion room) was great to kick back with a beer during downtime.

Service/amenities: the guys who take care of the place are great, very friendly and responsive. 2 shared bathrooms which we didn't love but never had problems waiting to get into the bathroom. Areas were clean, breakfast was adequate and had many options. They provided towels and there was shower stuff in the bathrooms.

Location: a block and a half away from the streetcar which was great, right next door to the stop was a convenience store where we bought tokens for $2.50 each. Also about a ten minute walk to Yonge Square/Easton Shopping center. Unfortunately, the walk there has an assortment of homeless/crazy looking people who solicit you often. I was pretty nervous at night and would not feel safe walking alone.

Value: we would've preferred to stay in the smaller rooms - the value is much better around $90 at this B&B for the amenities provided and services. At $110+ we probably would've done better to go elsewhere for a little more with bathrooms, better location, etc. However overall we still enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    86
    23
    6
    0
See reviews for
28
79
76
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had an great stay in Toronto and we found our rooms at the Garden Inn really nice. The rooms are really ok, clean, quiet. We had some issues with the internet connection, but things were worked out. The breakfast was actually really good - self-service. We can really recommend the Garden Inn when you go to Toronto!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The decor is modest and the bathroom tiny but the price is right, the location ideal for Toronto’s cultural scene, and the proprietor could not be more helpful. We advise asking him for a $10 24-hour permit to leave your car on the street, as the 505 streetcar along Dundas Street is a great trip through the heart of the city and connects with the subway system. A bargain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After one year I am back at the Toronto Garden Inn. It is such a welcoming place, historical, cosy, interesting and very very clean. Breakfast is laid on for you to come down to the eat in kitchen on a lovely old timber table, any time from when you wake until about 10/10.30am. Bryan our host is kind, helpful B&B is situated on the edge of historic Cabbagetown and a 10/15 minute walk to downtown Dundas Square (or for the lazy or shopping ladden - a short direct street car ride on the Dundas line). I often walk and as a single woman, who nearly always travels alone, I feel very comfortable and have never been harrased by anyone in this area. There are a number of services for the homeless in a street parallel to this one - but the homeless are not interested in what I do! If I do see them they are generally just waiting patiently for a meal from one of the local services.

I would stay here at the Toronto Garden Inn anytime. If you stay here for any length of time you will come away with new friends both fellow ravellers as well as the managers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doroAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I should have known that the "healthy breakfast buffet" would leave a lot to be desired. Boxes of cereal, powdered sugared donuts, loaves of grocery store bread, etc are not my idea of a healthy breakfast. We were there for three days and the same hand towel hung in the two restrooms for use by all the entire time. Barely acceptable, IMHO. Also, located in a sketchy part of town and I don't mean a part of town suitable for sketching.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klyontex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorontoGardenInn, Manager at Toronto Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are sorry to hear that we couldn`t meet with your healthy breakfast criteria. We currently provide milk, soy milk, lactose free milk, eggs, yoghurt,%100 orange juice and cranberries or alternative fruit juice, fresh fruits, jams, honey, peanut and almond butter, olives, cereals, nutella,, bakeries, 4-5 different type of bread and more variety. After reading your review we will improve our breakfast. We have 5-6 pair of same hand towels and we change them on a daily bases and we assume because they are look alike you did not realize that they have been changed. We are located right in the centre of the city, literally it take 8-10 mins to walk to Dundas Square and Eaton centre and like ever major city, Toronto also have some run down streets and yes we are close to one of them but actually we are located on a very desirable street and neighbourhood which call Cabbage-Town, also known as the largest Victorian neighbourhood in North America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

As a single woman travelling on my own, I felt welcome and safe at this B&B. I arrived when it was dark, and easily found my way on public transit, thanks to good instructions from Bryan, the owner. The location worked for me, and provided me with a nice morning walk to my downtown meeting place. I was in the Jasmine Room, and was glad for the desk as I had work to do on my laptop. I didn't mind the shared bathroom. The room was simply decorated, with a comfortable bed and sheets, and I had a sound sleep. I enjoyed the older Victorian homes and front gardens along Seaton Street. I live in an older neighbourhood in Edmonton, so, felt right at home. I will book there again. A couple I met at the B&B passed on a tip for live jazz at The Rex, which I enjoyed before travelling to the airport.

Room Tip: Jasmine Room has a desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 818Kathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This B&B provided my husband and I with a friendly, very conveniently located and affordable overnight oasis in the heart of Toronto. Bryan was a thoughtful host who helped us arrange affordable parking. We enjoyed our walk both to and from the Distillery district. We stayed in the Trillium room at the top of the house which had a lovely sunny deck patio to enjoy in the morning. The central air and ceiling fan ensured a comfortable sleeping temperature. The accommodations were cheery, clean and thoughtfully arranged for facilitating our visit to the City. The kitchen was well stocked and well maintained for a range of serve-yourself hot or cold breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,641 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#23 of 136 in Toronto
1,937 reviews
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Garden Inn

Property: Toronto Garden Inn
Address: 142 Seaton St, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2T3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toronto Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Garden Inn is an intimate Bed and Breakfast set in a charming Victorian Home ideally located on a residential street within walking distance to many of Toronto's major landmarks and attractions. We have 6 comfortable guest rooms and 1 studio apartment suite. Prices are per room, single occupancy and vary according to the room and the number of guests. We offer free continental breakfast, 24 hour snacks and beverages as well as free Wi-Fi and Canada/U.S. Phone calls. We are about a 10 minute walk east of Dundas Square/Dundas subway station and within 10 to 30 min walking distance to the Historic Distillery District, Yonge Street, the Eaton Centre Shopping Mall, St. Lawrence Market, Cabbage Town, the Elgin Theatre, the Art Gallery of Ontario, Ryerson University, St. Michael's Hospital, the Gay Village, The Financial District, The Bus Terminal and the Train Station and 30 to 45 minute walking distance to the CN Tower, Ripley's Aquarium, Roy Thompson Hall, Yorkville, Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, University of Toronto, Royal Ontario Museum, Greek Town as well as the city's finest restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Toronto Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Garden Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing