We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They just do everything right here”
Review of Penrose Fish & Chips - CLOSED

Penrose Fish & Chips
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Neighborhood: North End
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
133 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“They just do everything right here”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had the halibut fish-and-chips. The halibut tasted fresh and clean and the batter was perfect, not too doughy. Chips were cooked to order and the birch beer was a refreshing change from mass market pop. Service was friendly, prompt but not rushed. Not the cheapest fish but you definitely get the quality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MapleLeaf1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
265 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Tasty quick lunch”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

it is hard to beat Penrose Fish and Chips for a tasty and filling lunch. This is an old fashioned chippy with the fish battered and fried right there in front of you. Here, it is Friday everyday. I almost always opt for the haddock, although if I am feeling hungry and wealthy I will go for the halibut. The chips are so tasty - done exactly the right way and the fish is always good hot and fresh. i like their batter recipe and the crisp finish of the batter along with the delightfully soft, hot and flavourful taste of the fish. I usually treat myself to one of those delicious old fashioned pops from the Boylan's bottling company that they keep in the fridge - with birch beer going particularly well with the fish. The service is friendly, quick and understated.
They have home made pies as well. They look good and I have heard that they taste good; but I am pleasantly full after my meal and have never succumbed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classic.Great.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We went for dinner, bit late, but they still served us with a big smile. We had halibut and cod, both crispy and fresh. The fries greatly crispy ant toasty. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank txipironensutinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Penrose's in Pen-ultimate!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The number of true quality Fish & Chips shops in Toronto has declined with the growth of new & different dining establishments and changes in neighborhood demographics. fortunately, the excellent older family-style traditional shops have survived & thrived. Quality food picked for the specific prices, well-prepared, reasonably-priced remain Penrose's strength.

Take-out or eat in the cozy dining area, enjoy a Seaman's soda, at the only place outside Nova Scotia that sells them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colonelhightower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
504 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A classic”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

There used to be lots of little fish and chip joints around the city. But most weren't the places you wanted to sit and eat. The Penrose ticks all the boxes. Vintage pop, a selection of fish that is cooked just right, and the french fries are the way i remember them in fish and chip joints. Bravo!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penrose Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing