We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot to take the Kids!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mars Diner

Mars Diner
Ranked #2,148 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: East End
Toronto
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great spot to take the Kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Incredibly kid friendly (big booths with TVs that show Treehouse and kids menus and crayons) this is the place to go to eat if you have kids (or don't). Food is always consistent and service is always terrific. Conveniently located beside the big park in the middle of the Beach (Kew Gardens - you can see the playground from the back door!) its the perfect spot to stop for a quick bite while strolling through the neighbourhood.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4kids3dogsandahubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
643 reviews
438 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Retro Diner Tradition at 3 locales”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This diner has been around for decades and now has 2 additional outlets. But the real McKoy is the original flagship locale on College near Bathurst. The Eglinton outlet feels misplaced and the Beaches branch has items missing off the menu. At College, one is somehow at the source, the real vibe intended for such an eatery. Good selection of salads, sandwiches and typical diner fare. But don't expect the range of things found on an American diner menu. Great muffins (try takeaway) and superb rice pudding. Very good prices. Toronto has few of these old-timer eateries left and this is perhaps the best. See also Ted's Diner way out in Highland Creek (West Hill), the newly reopened Lakeview or the ubiquitous Frans. I am done. The end.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Huuuge disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Re: Yonge & Eglinton location
Friendly, thoughtful staff and fast service. But downhill from there.
Pancakes came cold and stale. We got there around 1pm, so maybe they were made earlier in the day? The English muffin under my eggs bennie was burnt-- black and inedible. We actually had to leave early because the smell of burning from the open cooking area was overwhelming.
They were also mopping the stairs and the area at the top of the stairs-- my child slipped. I appreciate the cleanliness, but it wasn't rainy and the place wasn't deserted, so maybe that could have waited for a less potentially dangerous time.
Too bad; really wanted to like it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SJinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“friendly service, not clean enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have only been to Mars for breakfast. The menu selection is very good. Although we tried it a few times I am not impressed with the overall cleanliness. Everything feels sticky and that creeps me out. The staff are generally friendly and the food was always good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mars every weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

I end up going to Mars pretty much once a weekend at 3 or 4 am after Nobody Writes to the Colonel across Bathurst because this place makes fantastic poutine and Kraft Singles Texas Toast grilled cheese... nice and simple. OH! Try their chocolate milk as they whip it in the milkshake machine! Pancakes, french toast, club sammies... everything.. the cook there is the nicest man ever and makes our usuals the second we walk in the door before sitting down. Great place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie-Lynn X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mars Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mars Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing