We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Buffet”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Dragon Restaurant
Ranked #72 of 94 Restaurants in Timmins
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
North Bay
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved the Buffet”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I ate here right after the labour day weekend and thought it was great. The buffet had all kinds of choices, but unfortunately for my stomach I hogged down on all the spicy dishes. Still, no regrets! What I enjoyed most about the experience was the ambiance. It was like stepping back in time to a movie set or an episode of Streets of SanFransisco, I half expected Karl Mauldin and Michael Douglas to come walking out of the back room. Seriously, this was pure Oriental kitsch decor from top to bottom. Don't ever change a thing!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RossNorthBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    6
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
VAUGHAN, ONTARIO
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Awful!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Had 14$ buffet and all chicken dishes were like rubber! Rice was like plastic! Complete garbage!
Avoid!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leafs_Country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Dinner”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The buffet was great as usual, even when we arrived near the end of their regular service hours. This restaurant is on my list of places to visit on a regular basis.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Big_Ed_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Buffet in town”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great selection always hot nice atmosphere wonderful staff we always have a good meal here if i have a complaint it is with the dark washrooms

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ticon2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst food ever”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This restaurant is not at all like it was a few years ago when Tom owned it.The rice was not cooked at all and the rest was not very good. My husband did not want to go back for seconds and left his plate with a lot of food on it. I would not go here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Dragon Restaurant also viewed

Timmins, Northeastern Ontario
 
Timmins, Northeastern Ontario
Timmins, Northeastern Ontario
 
Timmins, Northeastern Ontario
Timmins, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Golden Dragon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing