We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort well on its way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great resort well on its way!”
Reviewed August 23, 2007

I recently stayed at Cedar Meadows Resort to discover they are adding a new section to their resort which will include 20 new rooms, an exercise room and a spa! I think this is great news and decided to personally congratulate the management/owners of this resort during my recent visit (August 18 and 19 2007). Cedar Meadows Resort has the best service, the best food A++++ and this is from a world traveler. I've been to many 4 and 5 star hotels during my travels around the world and from a professionals point of view, Cedar Meadows Resort is the place to stay when in Timmins! Thank you to all the staff at Cedar Meadows for making my stay so wonderful. It truly felt like my home away from home. I look forward to my next stay in one of your new rooms maybe?

  • Liked — The service and food
  • Disliked — nada
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dash11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2015
Dear "dash11",

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa.

We look forward to your next visit!

Thanks again and much appreciated,

Marie-France Lafleur
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    49
    19
    16
    7
See reviews for
14
42
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tour2007
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

I have never been so dissatisfied with a stay at a hotel over the course of many years and many hotel stays for business and pleasure. Despite booking a room weeks in advance, I was given a room adjacent to a new wing under construction. Having arrived late in the evening, I was distressed to be awoken by hammers and loud noise at 7 a.m. the next morning. I am fairly patient so expected that this was a one-time occurrence. Unfortunately the situation only got worse. The next morning, I was awoken at 8 a.m. to hammering by multiple workmen. It got so bad that the headboard was actually vibrating from the hammering. Since I was checking out that morning anyway, I lodged a complaint and requested a discount since I had been so inconvenienced. While the clerk was courteous and apologized, she said could not help me. She contacted the manager and a third person in charge and the answer was consistently no since there was a sign posted to say that the resort was under construction and that guests could expect some noise. Why was I not told this when I booked the room? Why was I not given a room away from the construction? I was appalled at the arrogance of the management thinking that the customer experience was unimportant and that posting a sign made the noise acceptable. They had my money so cared little that I was dissatisfied.

As well, the lock on the door did not work (which the staff were aware of but did nothing to remedy the problem). There was a charge for the internet but the reception was inconsistent and I eventually gave up. I booked another hotel the next night for less money, free internet, a continental breakfast and had a restful sleep as one should expect in a hotel.

My advice, stay away from Cedar Meadows as they don't care about satisfying their customers and do little to prevent a poor experience.

  • Liked — animal santuary the best asset of this hotel
  • Disliked — little regard for the customer with complaints, not attempt to prevent problems related to noise from ongoing construction
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tour2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2015
Hello "tour2007" and thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that your experience at our establishment was not an enjoyable one and we do appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. It is through comments such as yours that we can better ourselves in great Customer Service. Thank you for staying with us.

Marie-France Lafleur
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2006

I would have to say that Cedar Meadows would probably be the best hotel in Timmins. The room we had was very nice, clean with a gas fireplace. The bedding and furnituire were standard as are the bathroom fixtures. The service was good, the front desk very helpful and all in all we had no complaints. The restaurant was nice and reasonably priced and we had a nice meal there. It would be a great place to bring children as they have a little zoo on the property which is quite nice. Cedar Meadows is located in the woods and so you have a very peaceful relaxing feel to your stay. Although it is not a 5 star resort we were comfortable there and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank northerndecorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Hello and thank you "norterndecorator" for taking the time to post your review.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit!

Thanks again!

Regards,

Marie-France Lafleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timmins hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Timmins
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Timmins
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Timmins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Balsam Suites Boutique Inn & Residence
1.7 mi away
The Senator Hotel
The Senator Hotel
#7 of 12 in Timmins
235 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Timmins
Ramada Timmins
#9 of 12 in Timmins
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa

Property: Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa
Address: 1000 Norman St, Timmins, Ontario P4N 8R2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Timmins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 175 acres, this 5 chalet resort & spa is nestled in the majestic beauty and natural serenity of Northern Ontario. Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is ideally located five minutes from the urban center, ten minutes from Timmins Airport and five minutes away from the Shopping Mall. Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is proud to welcome you to Timmins’ very first wellness spa, Le Spa Grande Nature! As Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is continuously growing, people gradually understand our philosophy:“We want you to experience and feel nature the way it is intended to be.”Offering the convenience of a year round resort & spa, guests are welcomed by the natural surroundings, the genuine warmth of the staff, the richness of the appointments and the tranquility of the country setting. This environment is perfect for a wedding ceremony, working, or relaxing! Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa restaurant Le Voyageur Dining Room offers a quiet and romantic atmosphere where you can enjoy your breakfast, lunch or dinner! If you prefer not to leave the comfort of your room, your meal can be brought to you at your leisure by using our in-room dining service. Why not take advantage of our complimentary exercise room open 24 hours for your convenience? Afterwards, enjoy a hot sauna in the spa’s Infra-Red Sauna. At Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa you can even get up close and personal with moose, bison and elk, while riding on a tractor drawn wagon! This Wilderness Tour is offered daily to the public.Whether you join us for a night, a weekend or longer, Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa has all the amenities you expect and the thoughtful extras that will make your stay memorable. Premier and Executive Suites provide for the perfect getaway. Indulge yourself in a setting that includes a two person Jacuzzi, soft romantic fireplaces and comfortable living rooms. For those individuals here on business, all our suites are designed to provide you with comfort and practicality. Our modern facilities include hi-speed wireless internet access. Offering a pristine rural setting that gives you complete privacy while providing big city business facilities and services. Choose from four fully equipped conference rooms ideal for groups of 10 to 150 people and one outdoor tent that can sit up to 300 guests.Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is a special place that captures the very way you live. A resort that is rich in character, elegant in detail, and offers the very best in service and hospitality, assuring you of a memorable stay no matter what time of year you visit. Truly a four season resort & spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Meadows Hotel Timmins
Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa Timmins, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing