We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
rural ontario
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet and Comfortable”
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We read good reviews of Cedar Meadows before booking a spot to stay in Timmins and I'm very glad we did! Excellent value and seemed to be comparable in price to some of the brand name yet dingier looking hotels in town. We got a basic queen room that was very large and clean. High speed wireless internet worked perfectly and there is wildlife all around the resort (fenced in) as you drive in which was really neat! Nice views and a little balcony from our first floor room. You would want to have a car if you are staying here as it is about a 5 minute drive to downtown and restaurant chains. We had breakfast at the Cedar Meadows restaurant which was excellent food, but very slow even though we were the only ones there, so ok for a leisurely meal but frustrating when you want to be on your way in the morning. There seemed to be some great packages on their website which we didn't take advantage of but worth looking into if you're staying longer than we did.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    48
    19
    16
    7
See reviews for
14
42
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at Cedar Meadows for a family wedding that was taking place on the property. Now this place is called a resort, but I dont really understand why. The property surrounding is all farm land with fences and bark mulch, and I was definitely expecting to see some landscaping or some kind of garden, but their was none.

The rooms themselves were adequete, albit a little small. We paid extra to have a junior suite thinking it would be bigger than the other rooms, but it wasnt. It did have a jacuzzi though and the bathroom was nice with a double shower. We were expecting a king or a queen size bed, but all they had were doubles in the room which was a dissapointment. Another thing was that the room service came early! They were hollering for 'room service' by 830am, not something I enjoyed waking up to in the morning on a holiday,

The restaurant at the hotel did have good food at decent prices. And the location to Timmins was good... close to the airport, close to town.

My biggest complaint would be with those who run the weddings there. You would expect that by spending thousands of dollars on their property, the hotel would bend over backwards to make it a happy care free day for the bride, but it was not so! My sister in law was scheduled to have her wedding the next day outside on their lawn but decided that since it was suppose to rain she would change the location to inside. This should have been fine considering she had up to 24hrs before the wedding to decide. So, she called, NOBODY answered, so she left a message stating that she wished to have it indoors. That evening everyone arrives for the rehersal to find that they set up all the chairs OUTSIDE. She goes to talk to managment about the mistake and they tell her that that morning they had already set up all the chairs outside and they werent going to change it (Oh, and they got her message, but it was too late. PS - they never called back)So now, they actually expected her to pay $800 for something she wasnt going to use. Talk about money grabbing! Obviously, the bride was extremely upset and tried to talk to the coordinator about how it wasnt right for her to have to pay for something that wasnt her mistake and for something that she wasnt even using! The wedding coordinator told her "Pay it, or you arent getting married here tomorrow." I could not believe someone would say something like that to a bride the day before her wedding.

So that right there is what left a very bad taste in my mouth about this hotel. It would be considered decent otherwise; good maybe for a business traveller who is simply looking for a place to sleep. But I certainly would NOT recommend this place to a bridal party!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CarolynLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2009
I am replying to this posting in order to provide you with the facts and what really happened.

We are a resort located on 275 acres of land. As for the farm, we do have a barn nearby obviously to keep our animals in during the winter months and with a barn you need to have a fence obviously. Bark mulch? Lanscape designers use mulch for flower beds in order to help prevent the weeds. Everybody raves about our property and how great our landscape and flower beds look. This couple did get married outside in May (which at that time in Timmins, was still too cold for flowers to grow...they would freeze!)

Our Junior Suites, as oppose to our Standard Rooms, DO have Queen Beds (not a double) and are actually quiet spacious. Our housekeeping staff does not start at 8:30am. They start their day at 10:00am (since check-out time is 11:00am).

The night of the rehearsal (where our Events Coordinator had to wait from 5pm to 8pm since the party did not know what time it was going to take place) is when they decided they did not want to get married outside (at this point was less than a 24 hour notice). We did not ask them to pay $800. But asked them to pay half (for the Gazebo & chairs) of what they owed, since by now, everything was ready and set to go. They paid us $287 to cover the cost of labour. We do ask that the full amount for weddings be paid ahead of time, which was not, and our coordinator simply asked to pay the remaining balance or we would not be able to proceed with the wedding. This wedding party made a dinner reservation in our restaurant at 8pm yet they showed up at 10pm (the time our restaurant closes!) and we kept additional servers on just for them.

On the day of the wedding, our Events Coordinator did get a voicemail from the groom to be (1 hour before the actual wedding ceremony was to take place) simply asking her to call him back. The coordinator was obviously out and about the property making sure everything was in place, which is why she did not get the message right away. She DID return the call (I was there with her) and spoke to the bride to be where she advised her they did not want to get married outside (due to the rain). Which was fine, and we moved the wedding ceremony inside our resort.

We take pride in providing the best quality service possible which is why we are the place to be for such events. We did “bend over backwards” for these people…this shows you that no matter how hard you try sometimes, you can’t please everybody! It is a shame people go out of their way to make such accusations and blow things out of proportion. I can guarantee you, these are the facts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort erie on
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

This resort is the Best i have ever stayed at. I stayed from March 11th to the 13th 2009.
I stay at many resorts ,Hotels all over Ontario on Business. There is no better ,Hats off to Richard Lafleur ,Family and Staff for perfect Dining,Clean Rooms Quiet picture perfect setting,A warm welcome from all staff . And to say the least Prices are reasonable and Affordable. This is the Number One place to stay While in Timmins Ontario On Business
or just Relaxation. I look forward to my next Business or Vacation there.
I will be sure to tell my Friends about this Picture Perfect Resort.
Jim

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesForterieon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2015
Thank you "JamesForterieon" for your stay and excellent 5 star review. We were happy to welcome you and appreciate that you took the time to write and share this review.

Yours truly,

Marie-France Lafleur
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I stayed 3 nights at this family owned hotel with its unique touches. It's in a tranquil setting just 7 minutes to downtown and 10 minutes to airport. At the front entrance is a pond with waterfall.

There are fields for horses around the resort. Saw a fox in the distance while looking out my glass door. Each night, I found it extremely quiet. There are no other restaurants or stores within walking distance!

My room was the first in the new section, main floor. Very clean and comfortable. No wall pictures, but two of the walls with special finishes. Gold tones. Good quality wood furniture: bedside tables on both sides of the queen bed, table with 2 chairs, work desk with business chair, and a desk with chair next to the 3 bureau storage drawers.

Air conditioning unit - with basic knobs - worked fine. The room had one sliding glass door onto the common walkway, no other windows. So, a bit dark during the daytime, but there are many (stylish) light fixtures. Blackout drapes, but no other drapery.

The pillowtop bed had high thread count sheets. Large flat panel tv, blue berber carpet – that seemed out of place. I used my room’s free cable High-Speed access: no password required. Modern bathroom with tub surround, curved shower rod, bath sheets (so, huge towels), nice shampoos, hair dryer.

Closet included iron and board. There's a coffeemaker and nice-sized empty fridge included in the room.

The 24 hour gym included 2 treadmills, eliptical, bike, universal station, flat panel tvs in both directions. Access with your room key. The spa next to it not open

Restaurant has great food including specials. This resort appears to specialize in receptions including weddings. Ice and soda/pop machines are on the 2nd floor; no elevator.

How could it improve?
- find somewhere besides the front hallway to store the two serving tables
- increase the lighting in the first hallway section

Overall, a great stay. I can’t imagine any hotel in Timmins being nicer.

  • Liked — Tranquil
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Does the basics well. Business rooms in the new wing are nicer - modern bathrooms, flat panel TVs, some with hardwood flooring. Nice serene location. Free wireless internet. Good restaurant. Building a new spa which looks nice. Far above other standard hotel choices in Timmins.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rad8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for one night. There are not many options in Timmins for newer / clean hotels and I think I can say this is the only one. Service was friendly upon arrival. Received my room which was clean and modern. Floors were hardwood with tiling in the bathroom. Decent flat screen T.V. and large enough bathroom. Desk area had internet hook-up. Would have liked to open the windows but could not open ............air conditioner was fairly noisy when trying to watch T.V. Well not fairly........It was noisy. Room was not well lit as windows were small and just not enough light in the room. Had supper at the restaurant ... good service and fairly decent food. Had breakfast also and it was good. All in all hotel would definately be the choice in Timmins.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank okop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

i spent three weeks in timmins on business leading up to the christmas holidays. i was referred to this resort and my stay was very enjoyable. the rooms were very warm and comfortable. the restaurant would match any in a toronto hotel , with great nightly specials. the staff, from the cleaning staff to the owner went out of their way to make me comfortable. having spent three weeks in timmins, there are no accomodations which come close to this resort.......excellent !

  • Liked — warm and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank barneyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2015
Thank you "barney" for your stay, and for including us in your plans over the holidays and during your extended visit to Timmins.

Our team is always happy to read such reviews and we were glad to hear you enjoyed our services and restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marie-France Lafleur
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timmins hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Timmins
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Timmins
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Timmins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Balsam Suites Boutique Inn & Residence
1.7 mi away
The Senator Hotel
The Senator Hotel
#7 of 12 in Timmins
233 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Timmins
Ramada Timmins
#9 of 12 in Timmins
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa

Property: Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa
Address: 1000 Norman St, Timmins, Ontario P4N 8R2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Timmins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 175 acres, this 5 chalet resort & spa is nestled in the majestic beauty and natural serenity of Northern Ontario. Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is ideally located five minutes from the urban center, ten minutes from Timmins Airport and five minutes away from the Shopping Mall. Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is proud to welcome you to Timmins’ very first wellness spa, Le Spa Grande Nature! As Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is continuously growing, people gradually understand our philosophy:“We want you to experience and feel nature the way it is intended to be.”Offering the convenience of a year round resort & spa, guests are welcomed by the natural surroundings, the genuine warmth of the staff, the richness of the appointments and the tranquility of the country setting. This environment is perfect for a wedding ceremony, working, or relaxing! Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa restaurant Le Voyageur Dining Room offers a quiet and romantic atmosphere where you can enjoy your breakfast, lunch or dinner! If you prefer not to leave the comfort of your room, your meal can be brought to you at your leisure by using our in-room dining service. Why not take advantage of our complimentary exercise room open 24 hours for your convenience? Afterwards, enjoy a hot sauna in the spa’s Infra-Red Sauna. At Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa you can even get up close and personal with moose, bison and elk, while riding on a tractor drawn wagon! This Wilderness Tour is offered daily to the public.Whether you join us for a night, a weekend or longer, Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa has all the amenities you expect and the thoughtful extras that will make your stay memorable. Premier and Executive Suites provide for the perfect getaway. Indulge yourself in a setting that includes a two person Jacuzzi, soft romantic fireplaces and comfortable living rooms. For those individuals here on business, all our suites are designed to provide you with comfort and practicality. Our modern facilities include hi-speed wireless internet access. Offering a pristine rural setting that gives you complete privacy while providing big city business facilities and services. Choose from four fully equipped conference rooms ideal for groups of 10 to 150 people and one outdoor tent that can sit up to 300 guests.Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is a special place that captures the very way you live. A resort that is rich in character, elegant in detail, and offers the very best in service and hospitality, assuring you of a memorable stay no matter what time of year you visit. Truly a four season resort & spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Meadows Hotel Timmins
Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa Timmins, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing