We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Staff was great, greeted everyday with a smile. Food was amazing in Voyager Rest. Beautiful court yard and setting, along the river, close to some great walking trails. Great stay cant wait to be back in Timmins to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the positive feedback! We are looking forward to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    47
    19
    16
    7
See reviews for
14
42
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Liskeard,Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very good group rate ! Excellent attentive staff. Dinner was good with ceremony and reception in a beautiful room. Breakfast the following morning was excellent , both in quality and value. Service again was excellent.

Room Tip: Second floor quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baseball_Fan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We hope you will return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The Nordic Baths were a great stress reliever! I'll agree that the room was just 'ok' but the courteous staff, restaurant & spa certainly compensated for it...recommended a stay there to my family & friends!

Room Tip: Our room was on the main fllor half-way between the spa & restaurant..perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 323Betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

After reading several of the reviews on the website, I have to agree that the rooms are a bit dated. We stayed in the Junior Suite with the fireplace and jacuzzi tub, and although it was nice, I was a little disappointed. The small table rocked, the walls were plain and I expected it to be a bit bigger and nicer. I dislike the old style top comforters that don’t cover a duvet, which was probably my biggest issue. The tub was clean and I enjoyed having it. The shower had 2 heads, but the fixtures were old. The hotel is quiet in comparison to the Holiday Inn Express, so will probably be my hotel of choice due to the amenities provided on site, not so much the room quality. Also only 2 pillows, we found one in a drawer and I'm sure we could have asked for more but it was something we noticed that could have been improved.

On the positive side, I went to the Spa the next day, and what a pleasant surprise. I did the Nordic Baths ( a must), a facial, infrared sauna and a massage. The spa is beautiful and clean, the staff are bend over backwards accommodating and friendly, and it was a really, really enjoyable day. The only complaint is the outdoor hot tub doesn’t have a switch to turn on the jets. The steam room was the best part of the Nordic baths and the relaxation rooms, comfortable, clean and beautiful.

The restaurant - the staff was friendly, the food was good except one day I had the waffles and they were still cold in the middle (frozen). However, we made reservations for dinner and got a booth in the back. The booths are private, have curtains, and are very nice with their own little lanterns and privacy. The food was EXCELLENT. I had veal and my husband the stuffed chicken, both were amazing and if you are a guest you can order a bottle of wine with dinner and bring the leftovers to your room if you don’t want to hand around. The desserts were also excellent, the mini-sugar pie and chocolate cake were shared and were great. The service couldn’t have been better and it was a good experience.

The fitness center was adequate, 2 treadmills, weights, eclipse. Small but it worked for me as it is not used often by the looks of it.

I am looking forward to seeing the grounds without snow, as they looked very nice and would be a great trip to see the animals on site alone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiceHotelSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear "NiceHotelSeeker",

Thank you very much for your review. It is important to us to hear from our guests such as yourself.
We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and wanted to let you know that we are currently renovating our rooms in order to keep things fresh and updated. However, instead of a modern feel and look like most new hotels offer, we are going more for a rustic look (with rustic wood floors, textured walls, natural earth tone colours). Fixtures and lamps are next to update!

We are also pleased to hear you very much enjoyed our Spa and Nordic Baths In regards to the hot tub, it is not meant to have full force jets. Its purpose is to heat up the body and the "jets" you do see in the tub are to circulate the salt water.

Thank you again for your great review and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapleau, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last weekend. It was not the first time, since we chose this hotel as a private family gathering for the last three years. The staff is very friendly, helpful and bilingual. The rooms are clean and some of them have no carpet which is a bonus for me.
We always make reservation for supper and breakfast since we are a group of 10. The food is excellent.
This hotel is one of the best in Timmins and if you want a quiet weekend, this is the place to go. The hotel offers massages, spas etc. better to check their website as you will need to reserve.
We will be back again next year!!!

Room Tip: My room had a king size bed and no carpet. First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We would like to thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa in Timmins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have stayed at Cedar Meadows previously and enjoyed the experience. This last time out, as there were 3 of us we decided to stay in a chalet. This was not a good experience. The bed in the chalet was BAD - very soft and we kept on rolling to the middle. We found this very strange as we have always been happy with the beds when we have stayed in the rooms. Another thing, is that the sloped ceiling in the loft room of the chalet, is extremely low and makes it very difficult to even sit upright in bed. We found we were banging our heads at every turn. The biggest disappointment was when we returned at 4pm after a day out, we discovered that the room had not been serviced. We contacted housekeeping to confirm the chalets were supposed to be serviced and they said they would investigate and get back to us. This never happened.

However, on the other hand, we have always had a positive experience when we have stayed in the rooms at the resort and we love the spa!

The ratings below are for this experience.

Room Tip: If you travelling with heavy luggage be sure to stay on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muggzdelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry your last experience did not meet your expectations.

We will look at the mattress in the Chalet you occupied since it may be defective? All mattresses are from the same manufacturer (the mattresses in our rooms are the same you will find in the Chalets) and were purchased a little less than 3 years ago.

As for the ceilings of the Chalets, the upstairs was designed as a "loft" with slanted ceilings.

We do apologize for the miscommunication between the Front Desk and our Housekeeping department. We can assure you this is not a regular occurrence.

Thank you for your candidness. We've appreciated your business in the past and hope you will feel comfortable enough to try us (and the spa!) again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Breakfast.. they had one waitress on who was not a happy one.. coffee came, tea and water about 5 minutes later.. breakfast was good however and very reasonably priced.
Dinner: we went to front desk to make reservations and they said dont' bother you won't need them. When we went for dinner around 7:00 p.m. and they would not take us in the inner dining room. Sat in main cafeteria..good salads.. tad light on the dressing, pickerel was overcooked and rubbery and the steak was a piece of meat approx 1/4-1/2 inch thick, and cold when it arrived. No apologies or compensation.. rather odd.. wine selection very poor!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Ruth W,

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate it when our customers give us their feedback.

In regards to your restaurant experience with us, one morning server is usually sufficient for our Breakfast and Lunch period. However, the restaurant can get busy at times (especially when guests check out around the same time and have flights to catch), we do apologize you waited for your coffee.

Although a dinner reservation is not mandatory for our restaurant, it is recommended. A reservation should have been taken for you especially if you wanted to request the back area of our restaurant. We always do our best to accommodate our restaurant guests, however, since space is limited in that area, we cannot guarantee a table in that specific area. We can only guarantee you a table within our restaurant.

We do not have a cafeteria in our resort nor do we offer cafeteria type services. Perhaps you meant the staff sat you in the lounge area of our restaurant? The decor is different but it is still part of our full service restaurant offering booths and larger tables for groups. The pickerel you had that evening was smoked pickerel. The smoking of the fish does change the texture of the fish than lets say if you were to have a pan seared fish. We do offer a delicious grilled salmon or pan seared haddock which you probably would prefer as oppose to the smoked fish. Our steaks are cooked on demand and are brought to the tables. We apologize the steak you received was cold. It surely was not our intention (to serve you a cold steak). The steaks are hand carved by our chef and usually range from 8 oz to 12 oz (sometimes bigger if a guest requests it). We are sorry your server did not offer you a new steak. As for our wine list, we update our wine list twice per year. We would love to hear your wine recommendations for the current wine list we are updating.

Please feel free to contact myself at any time. We thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timmins hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Timmins
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Timmins
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Timmins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Balsam Suites Boutique Inn & Residence
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Timmins
Travelodge Timmins
#10 of 12 in Timmins
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Timmins
Ramada Timmins
#8 of 12 in Timmins
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa

Property: Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa
Address: 1000 Norman St, Timmins, Ontario P4N 8R2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Timmins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 175 acres, this 5 chalet resort & spa is nestled in the majestic beauty and natural serenity of Northern Ontario. Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is ideally located five minutes from the urban center, ten minutes from Timmins Airport and five minutes away from the Shopping Mall. Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is proud to welcome you to Timmins’ very first wellness spa, Le Spa Grande Nature! As Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is continuously growing, people gradually understand our philosophy:“We want you to experience and feel nature the way it is intended to be.”Offering the convenience of a year round resort & spa, guests are welcomed by the natural surroundings, the genuine warmth of the staff, the richness of the appointments and the tranquility of the country setting. This environment is perfect for a wedding ceremony, working, or relaxing! Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa restaurant Le Voyageur Dining Room offers a quiet and romantic atmosphere where you can enjoy your breakfast, lunch or dinner! If you prefer not to leave the comfort of your room, your meal can be brought to you at your leisure by using our in-room dining service. Why not take advantage of our complimentary exercise room open 24 hours for your convenience? Afterwards, enjoy a hot sauna in the spa’s Infra-Red Sauna. At Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa you can even get up close and personal with moose, bison and elk, while riding on a tractor drawn wagon! This Wilderness Tour is offered daily to the public.Whether you join us for a night, a weekend or longer, Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa has all the amenities you expect and the thoughtful extras that will make your stay memorable. Premier and Executive Suites provide for the perfect getaway. Indulge yourself in a setting that includes a two person Jacuzzi, soft romantic fireplaces and comfortable living rooms. For those individuals here on business, all our suites are designed to provide you with comfort and practicality. Our modern facilities include hi-speed wireless internet access. Offering a pristine rural setting that gives you complete privacy while providing big city business facilities and services. Choose from four fully equipped conference rooms ideal for groups of 10 to 150 people and one outdoor tent that can sit up to 300 guests.Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is a special place that captures the very way you live. A resort that is rich in character, elegant in detail, and offers the very best in service and hospitality, assuring you of a memorable stay no matter what time of year you visit. Truly a four season resort & spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Meadows Hotel Timmins
Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa Timmins, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing