We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good, but disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Dundas, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall good, but disappointed”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have stayed at Cedar Meadows previously and enjoyed the experience. This last time out, as there were 3 of us we decided to stay in a chalet. This was not a good experience. The bed in the chalet was BAD - very soft and we kept on rolling to the middle. We found this very strange as we have always been happy with the beds when we have stayed in the rooms. Another thing, is that the sloped ceiling in the loft room of the chalet, is extremely low and makes it very difficult to even sit upright in bed. We found we were banging our heads at every turn. The biggest disappointment was when we returned at 4pm after a day out, we discovered that the room had not been serviced. We contacted housekeeping to confirm the chalets were supposed to be serviced and they said they would investigate and get back to us. This never happened.

However, on the other hand, we have always had a positive experience when we have stayed in the rooms at the resort and we love the spa!

The ratings below are for this experience.

Room Tip: If you travelling with heavy luggage be sure to stay on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muggzdelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry your last experience did not meet your expectations.

We will look at the mattress in the Chalet you occupied since it may be defective? All mattresses are from the same manufacturer (the mattresses in our rooms are the same you will find in the Chalets) and were purchased a little less than 3 years ago.

As for the ceilings of the Chalets, the upstairs was designed as a "loft" with slanted ceilings.

We do apologize for the miscommunication between the Front Desk and our Housekeeping department. We can assure you this is not a regular occurrence.

Thank you for your candidness. We've appreciated your business in the past and hope you will feel comfortable enough to try us (and the spa!) again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    48
    19
    16
    7
See reviews for
14
42
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Breakfast.. they had one waitress on who was not a happy one.. coffee came, tea and water about 5 minutes later.. breakfast was good however and very reasonably priced.
Dinner: we went to front desk to make reservations and they said dont' bother you won't need them. When we went for dinner around 7:00 p.m. and they would not take us in the inner dining room. Sat in main cafeteria..good salads.. tad light on the dressing, pickerel was overcooked and rubbery and the steak was a piece of meat approx 1/4-1/2 inch thick, and cold when it arrived. No apologies or compensation.. rather odd.. wine selection very poor!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Ruth W,

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate it when our customers give us their feedback.

In regards to your restaurant experience with us, one morning server is usually sufficient for our Breakfast and Lunch period. However, the restaurant can get busy at times (especially when guests check out around the same time and have flights to catch), we do apologize you waited for your coffee.

Although a dinner reservation is not mandatory for our restaurant, it is recommended. A reservation should have been taken for you especially if you wanted to request the back area of our restaurant. We always do our best to accommodate our restaurant guests, however, since space is limited in that area, we cannot guarantee a table in that specific area. We can only guarantee you a table within our restaurant.

We do not have a cafeteria in our resort nor do we offer cafeteria type services. Perhaps you meant the staff sat you in the lounge area of our restaurant? The decor is different but it is still part of our full service restaurant offering booths and larger tables for groups. The pickerel you had that evening was smoked pickerel. The smoking of the fish does change the texture of the fish than lets say if you were to have a pan seared fish. We do offer a delicious grilled salmon or pan seared haddock which you probably would prefer as oppose to the smoked fish. Our steaks are cooked on demand and are brought to the tables. We apologize the steak you received was cold. It surely was not our intention (to serve you a cold steak). The steaks are hand carved by our chef and usually range from 8 oz to 12 oz (sometimes bigger if a guest requests it). We are sorry your server did not offer you a new steak. As for our wine list, we update our wine list twice per year. We would love to hear your wine recommendations for the current wine list we are updating.

Please feel free to contact myself at any time. We thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Unfortunately, Timmins is desperately short on quality accommodation, and this is it. It's close to the airport, the rooms, while (really) dated, are clean, spacious and comfortable. Lighting in the rooms is for romance (if you're into dated dimly lit rooms as being romantic), and not all that useful for reading.

The attached restaurant is fine -- not inexpensive, but passable food.

The place needs a bit of a reno, and some updating, but it's still the best that Timmins has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenM465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello "StephenM46",

Thank you for your review. We do listen to our guests and you will be pleased to know we have currently renovated our rooms, suites and restaurant!

We would like to invite you to stay with us again in the near future and see what improvements we have done.

We have appreciated your business in the past and hope you will return while in the Timmins area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I maintain the comments I made on my previous review of this, but now I realise that weekends are hit or miss about one thing: noise. As I said previously, usually weekdays are busy (business clients), and weekends more quiet. Except if a group book for a party. Just had that experience. Loud talk in hallways, slamming doors until 2 AM, etc. Really unfortunate, because the rest of my experience is great.
As I said in my earlier review, some guest have been 'intense' here before, and the place will eventually need refurbishment (not urgent, but eventually; it doesn't get in the way of my comfort or enjoyment). When the day comes, a thought about soundproofing would really be welcome to guests.
Otherwise, very nice staff, efficient service, cleanliness, peacefull surroundings (wildlife etc). I maintain the earlier positive comments (spring 2012).

Room Tip: if the possibility of being bothered by noise is a concern, then ovoid rooms with low numbers (101-1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88puffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello "88puffin",

Thank you for your review and comments. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are sorry for taking so long to reply.

We would like to apologize for the noise you experienced during your last stay with us. Our resort is very popular which larger groups such as weddings. We do try to control the noise levels within the resort. However, as you know it can sometimes be difficult to control this noise when people are returning to their rooms once the wedding reception has ended. We do advise our guests to keep noise levels down and respect other non-wedding guests. What we also like to do during wedding season is book the wedding group rooms together in one area and non-wedding guests on the opposite floor. However, this is not always possible since we do have different room types throughout the resort; lets say a guest requests a Suite and that specific suite happens to be close to the wedding group, then a guest may experience some noise. Even though our rooms and suites have been sound proofed, it can be difficult to control certain individuals and their actions.

In the future, we would recommend contacting the Guest Service Associate on duty at that time. We are very accommodating and although it may be an inconvenience to some guests, if a guest agrees, we will be more than happy to try and find that individual a different room if one is available.

We do look forward to seeing you again in the future and thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

After a long day at a mill and tailings site in Sudbury, our field trip class finally arrived road worn in Timmins to this resort where we stayed for two nights. First impressions when my friends and I got to our room was that we would enjoy this place, it also helped that we stayed at a cheap motel the night before.
The closet was placed in the middle of the room beside the TV cabinet; I thought that was a bit nontraditional. But the way the bedframe, the cabinet, and the closet was made out of wood and the lighting gave this room a natural and relaxing touch to it. The beds were clean and comfortable. And so was the bathroom.

Over the course of the two days we stayed, we used the meeting rooms, dined at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. I myself checked out the spa. The meeting room upstairs was big enough to fit 50 students. The restaurant served bar and restaurant food, we went for the former and it was great for its price.
I believe I was the only one out of the group who tried the spa out. I basically paid for the atmosphere, the quick pedicure was a way for me to relax after a long day. I know I could have gotten more for what I paid for in the city. But the no-cell phone environment, waterfall, and spa music they foster in there made me glad that I made that little getaway.

Room Tip: For closer proximity to the spa or fitness center, choose a room at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello!

We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We wanted to say thank you for your kind comments and we are happy you enjoyed our facility and accommodations.

Looking forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I just came back from a weekend escape with the girls and what a great weekend it was. Upon arrival at this beautiful resort, we were greeted by very friendly staff. The room was newly renovated and over looked the garden. The food served in the restaurant was amazing. Great specials offered by their Chef daily. The dining room staff were very attentive and friendly as well. We also enjoyed all the Spa services that were available. Great knowledgeable staff were there for our every need. We especially enjoyed the nature baths. We also had the opportunity to take their Wilderness Tour which was just over an hour in length. It was amazing to come that close to all the wonderful and friendly animals. The driver of the tour did a fantastic job.

Great escape for the weekend with friends. Absolutely enjoyed what this resort has to offer. Nothing can compare in this area. One of a kind!! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello Patti L and thank you very much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We're so happy you and your friends enjoyed your weekend and fully took advantage of the services we offer at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa!

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I attended this location for two nights in conjunction with a wedding. Upon arrival, the drive up is very picturesque, swans swimming in the creek on either side of the driveway, horses cavorting in an enclosure. We both thought, this looked promising. On entering the building, however, that first impression crashed! The small entry was over-crowded with newspaper dispenser (really, you're a resort and no complimentary paper), a real estate magazine dispenser and a snow pusher. The last one I could understand if we arrived in December, but, this was August! Looking up was no better, a light fixture suspended from the vaulted ceiling was replete with dead insects in the light basin and cobwebs stretching from the corners of the wall. There was only one luggage cart and no elevator for the second floor. Good thing we were on the first floor.
Our room was adequate, not resort quality, but adequate. We took a walk over the grounds directly adjacent to our court-side room and were pleased to see gold fish in the creek that ran through the property. The water wasn't running, however, which surprised us as it looked as though they had a system to have a waterfall (and it was working the day we checked out - disappointing).
My husband thought he should check to make sure that when his brother arrived that they were booked into a main floor room as his wife had no ability to climb stairs and they always specify a ground floor room. He discovered they weren't and he told them that wouldn't work and requested they find them something on the first floor. They did find a room for them, however, it had no access to the courtyard, which was disappointing as they were there for the Grandson's wedding.
We did not eat at the resort, except for the wedding banquet, as we weren't overwhelmed by other amenities and didn't want to risk another disappointment.
The wedding was set up in a tent (leaky tent, as it turned out) Yes, it rained(not the resorts fault). But, on that note, an additional tent-way could have been installed, in anticipation of possible rain, to the hotel entrance, to keep attendees from getting wet between the tent and the hotel (bathrooms were in the hotel).
But, finally, and I think this is important, I forgot something at the hotel that I didn't notice until a day or so later. I never received a call from the resort to let me know and ask me how I would like my property returned.
Overall, if this was a budget hotel, it would have been an average stay, however, it's resort and if it would like a better rating, should probably up it's game! It's the little things that matter in a resort. People go there, not because they want to be in a run of the mill hotel, but, a 'wow' place that makes them feel special.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here in the summer, ask for a court-side room - lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMR1000, Manager at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you Catherine W for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry that your experience at Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa did not meet your expectations. We do make it a practice to share all of our guests' comments with our employees and management team. It is through comments such as yours that we work to help improve guests' experiences.

We thank you for your candidness. We have appreciated your business in the past and hope you will feel comfortable enough to try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timmins hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Timmins
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Timmins
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Timmins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Balsam Suites Boutique Inn & Residence
1.7 mi away
The Senator Hotel
The Senator Hotel
#7 of 12 in Timmins
235 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Timmins
Ramada Timmins
#9 of 12 in Timmins
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa

Property: Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa
Address: 1000 Norman St, Timmins, Ontario P4N 8R2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Timmins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 175 acres, this 5 chalet resort & spa is nestled in the majestic beauty and natural serenity of Northern Ontario. Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is ideally located five minutes from the urban center, ten minutes from Timmins Airport and five minutes away from the Shopping Mall. Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is proud to welcome you to Timmins’ very first wellness spa, Le Spa Grande Nature! As Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is continuously growing, people gradually understand our philosophy:“We want you to experience and feel nature the way it is intended to be.”Offering the convenience of a year round resort & spa, guests are welcomed by the natural surroundings, the genuine warmth of the staff, the richness of the appointments and the tranquility of the country setting. This environment is perfect for a wedding ceremony, working, or relaxing! Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa restaurant Le Voyageur Dining Room offers a quiet and romantic atmosphere where you can enjoy your breakfast, lunch or dinner! If you prefer not to leave the comfort of your room, your meal can be brought to you at your leisure by using our in-room dining service. Why not take advantage of our complimentary exercise room open 24 hours for your convenience? Afterwards, enjoy a hot sauna in the spa’s Infra-Red Sauna. At Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa you can even get up close and personal with moose, bison and elk, while riding on a tractor drawn wagon! This Wilderness Tour is offered daily to the public.Whether you join us for a night, a weekend or longer, Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa has all the amenities you expect and the thoughtful extras that will make your stay memorable. Premier and Executive Suites provide for the perfect getaway. Indulge yourself in a setting that includes a two person Jacuzzi, soft romantic fireplaces and comfortable living rooms. For those individuals here on business, all our suites are designed to provide you with comfort and practicality. Our modern facilities include hi-speed wireless internet access. Offering a pristine rural setting that gives you complete privacy while providing big city business facilities and services. Choose from four fully equipped conference rooms ideal for groups of 10 to 150 people and one outdoor tent that can sit up to 300 guests.Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa is a special place that captures the very way you live. A resort that is rich in character, elegant in detail, and offers the very best in service and hospitality, assuring you of a memorable stay no matter what time of year you visit. Truly a four season resort & spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Meadows Hotel Timmins
Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa Timmins, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing