We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth a visit- fascinating, fabulous mine tour.”
Review of Shania Twain Centre - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shania Twain Centre
Attraction details
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Really worth a visit- fascinating, fabulous mine tour.”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We went here yesterday. It was a real eye-opener and anyone new to the area must pay a visit. A retired miner took us down a mine shaft- demonstrated all the equipment, answered a multitude of questions and was incredibly informative and entertaining. Can't recommend it enough!
If you want to learn something about another way of life and where your gold jewellery comes from- don't miss this. The mine tour took about 2 hours; there is also an above-ground walk where one can pan for gold among other things.
You will remember this for long time- and learn a great deal. (Your world view may also be somewhat affected!)

Helpful?
Thank Quipianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    3
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Silly.”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This place is really just a closet. Has some dresses and memorabilia. Really is just kind of pathetic. But I'm not the fan club type so maybe it's just me. Also used as a community venue, but badly.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadaMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Waste of money.”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Has Shania ever really been there? If so, does she really care about what is connected to her name? Will never go again, waste of time and money. Nothing to see.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I thought that the gift shop was very well displayed, the staff friendly and they had a wide variety of gifts. I so enjoyed the display of clothing, plaques and reading all the interesting information about Shania. It makes me proud to say that I live in Timmins the home town of Shania Twain. Great Job on displaying and setting up at the centre.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jean_T365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shania and sound”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

An excellent place to host an elegant evening. Yhe music video room is superb. Will need changing as Shania becomes less famous. Currently have very up todate clothes form her on display

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shania Twain Centre also viewed

 
Timmins, Northeastern Ontario
Timmins, Northeastern Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing