We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the price ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bon Air Motel

Bon Air Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Timmins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bon Air Motel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value for the price ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

...but I wouldn't recommend it if you're traveling by sled. However, f you like adventure and don't mind running sidewalks, parking lots and side roads, then sure, go for it. This motel is located on the other side of town well away from the OFSC trail system. But for the price, the value wasn't bad. It's an older motel, but clean, everything was in working order, nice staff and parking right outside the room. The restaurant next door wasn't too bad - serves breakfast, lunch and supper. This was the only place available on a night when all other hotels were booked. Glad it was there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
6
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Timmins
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Bon Air many times bec, and must let you know that it is an old hotel (probably from the 70's). It's comfortable though, and clean - I've never had an issue with the cleanliness of the phone. As well, parking in front of your room can be a plus sometimes.

As stated in a previous comment regarding the first nation people, I personally find this offensive and a sad commentary on our social attitudes in 2012. I have travelled to many different countries and stayed in many different hotels that have had rowdy people of all nationalities.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jcatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

The girl at the front desk trying to be kind she put us in a room where we could park our car outside the room. The accommodation was find room was large and clean. However
We were in room 101, room 100 where occupied by 3 first nation males and room 102 was occupied by 3 first nations females. The party started at 6:00 pm and continued. Trying to sleep through breaking glass, pounding on walls and doors swearing, eventually at 3:00am no less than 4 police cars where on the scene attempting to gain access. After a considerable amount of shouting and loud voices all way quiet at 3:45 am the police departed. At 4:00 the scene erupted again, we lost our cool went outside and confronted the abusers. Only to be met by verbal abuse, we showered, cleaned the broken beer bottles from around our vehicle, and departed. Do not stay there!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Funretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Timmins hotels

kirkland lake
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

It was very noisy due to numerous parties. I got random calls throughout the night from within the hotel which the staff could not explain (not that they cared and did nothing about). Next time I'll stay in the bush where it's quieter and safer. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyperone999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

I had a mix up at another hotel, when i called the Bon Air the service rep (Holly) told me should could get me a room but it would be smoking (that is all they had left) i reserved the room and when i checked in later the motel surprised me with a non smoking room, she explained she had had a cancellation and thought of me right away, i was flattered with her attentivness. The room was a little outdated but very clean and the beds to die for. Just nice to see people go out of their way for strangers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backsplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

I stayed at the Bon Air motel this past September, the room I stayed in was clean but smelly even though it was a non smoking room. The bed was confortable but the noise from the outside made it very hard to sleep. It is alright for a short businned trip but I wouldn't stay here for a longer stay even though the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudburysouthsuites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Almost didn't have a room!!! Apparently they don't know what "reserving" a room means. The hallway is smokey even in the "non-smoking" area... Beds are hard, pillows lumpy, blankets are rougher than sand paper and the toilet leaked...disgusting place to stay. Was kept up all night with the rowdy drunks outside.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timmins hotels
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Timmins
Travelodge Timmins
#10 of 12 in Timmins
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Timmins
Ramada Timmins
#8 of 12 in Timmins
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Timmins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Timmins
0.3 mi away
Balsam Suites Boutique Inn & Residence
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Timmins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Air Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Air Motel

Property: Bon Air Motel
Address: 355 Algonquin Blvd E, Timmins, Ontario P4N 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Timmins
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 104
Also Known As:
Bon Air Motel Timmins, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing