We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Naxos Bar and Grill
Ranked #15 of 287 Restaurants in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

After a large drive, this place makes it worth it. Moussaka made by owners mom. Made this trip memorable

  • Visited July 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonicaLuddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    70
    18
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If there is a better Greek resturant in Thunder Bay, I haven't found it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I had the Gyros dinner, it was excellent! If I ever make it back through customs, we will definitely eat here again. .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
“Best Greek Restaurant in Thunder Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Naxos is our favourite Greek restaurant in Thunder Bay! The food is authentic homemade food cooked using authentic Greek recipes. We have been the lucky recipients of some of the owner, Penny's many personal experiments to get the sauce just right, or the bread just perfect, so we know the food does not come out of a box or a truck! The Riblets and the Chicken Wings, Naxos style, have a unique peppery. lemon flavour not available anywhere else in the City. The Nachos come loaded with cheese, meat, olives, and onions and are hot, crispy and crunchy. We often come just to savour the delicious Avgolemeno Soup or the Spanokopita. Sitting on the outdoor patio on a warm summer evening surrounded by flowers and sparkling little lights is an idyllic way to enjoy wine, food and conversation. Penny, the owner, is a warm, gracious, welcoming hostess who goes out of her way to visit her customers and to make each one feel like part of a family. The servers are always pleasant, helpful and friendly as well. We love to come to Naxos!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“5star restaurant !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

From the second we walked in to the second we left was amazing! Our group ordered 4 apps and were delicious!! The sizzling apple pie to die for ! Priced right great service ! Will definitely be back!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tucc832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cleverly Hidden Behind a Mac'S Convenience Store-Thunder Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

During our first visit to Thunder Bay for a 3-day dog show, we asked the gal at the desk of the Best Western Crossroads Hotel on Arthur Street where a nice little restaurant might be close by.
She asked if we liked Mediterranean Food ...... like Olive Garden we asked? Well "sort of" she replied "but not just Italian". It was after 9:00 pm (almost 10:00) when we got there (they are open until midnight) and after reading through the menu we found that the entrees were a mix of Greek and Italian selections. Jeff was our waiter and, after hitting him up for a Captain Morgan Bloody Mary (which he had never heard of but he went to great lenghts to tell me how he was going to make it), we made our selections. My wife ordered a chicken Ceasar salad and I ordered "Penny's Salmon" loaded with fetta cheese and peppers, mushrooms over rice with "Irish" potatoes on the side and a slice of lemon. My wife also ordered the Naxos signature soup that had a chicken base, rice with a touch of lemon ..... to die for. Several slices of homemade bread came when the soup and my small, but delicious Ceasar side salad arrived.
The meal was "terrific" and so was the CM Bloody Mary .... and by the way, per Jeff, they are also noted for their breakfast but we didn't get the chance to check that out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pappa_john2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naxos Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 

Been to Naxos Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing