We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait for a table.....excellent meal.”

Prospector Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 289 Restaurants in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Thunder Bay
1 review
“Long wait for a table.....excellent meal.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We attended this restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. The wait was over an hour and took awhile to find a seat in the bar/waiting area. However our meal was awesome. Of course the homemade buns were fabulous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 44fishing13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    91
    35
    25
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homeof the buns”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very good food. You always tend to order the dinner becauseit comes with the allyou can eat salad/ buns & soup. One of my favorite places to eat in TBay as long as you don't over eat. You won't leave hungry.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“don't understand the hype”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went here for my birthday with 6 other people. They seated us in a back room that looked like a boiler room. Okay, it was busy, so we went with the flow. Waited way too long for a menu and then once we got it......20 mins before she came back. Ordered prime rib and baked potato.....got (I think it was prime rib?) but it had the texture of raw tuna!! Tasted okay, but was just a very strange texture......and mashed potatoes instead of baked. Would have tried to change it or at least inquire, .......but again, no waitress. Had to ask someone else working there for water and drinks. Buns were good. Salad minimal. Soup so so. Don't think I would return sadly. Be careful walking if you are a bit unsteady on your feet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galaxycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our food was amazing and perfectly cooked, hands down the best prime rib meal ever! We were also very happy with their salad bar options.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Sad to see an institution decay”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The Prospector used to be a respectable restaurant and took pride in their product and service. However in the last three years each of my visits has been more disappointing than the last.

The quality of the food has slipped over the last years, the prime rib is now dry and flavorless. Baked potatoes are dry and tough and carrots are over cooked. The condiments like sour cream and butter are now all pre-packaged in tacky tiny cups. When charging up market prices, they should honour that level of service.

The interior has seen better days and in an effort to increase business they have crowded in additional tables to the point where venturing to the lackluster salad bar is now an acrobatic manoevre. My aging in-laws had a hard time hearing dinner conversation whereas I too easily heard all about the dinners surrounding our table.

Don't waste a nice night out or your money, go to the Keg.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank digerati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prospector Restaurant also viewed

Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 

Been to Prospector Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing