We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”
Review of Bar Italia

Bar Italia
Ranked #42 of 291 Restaurants in Thunder Bay
Cuisines: Italian, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
TBay
1 review
“Expected more”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

After reading good reviews of this restaurant I expected to go there and have an excellent meal, but I have to honestly say I'm puzzled and disappointed. There was nothing special about the food, as the sauce on everything we ordered was like thin overused Ragu, mediocre ingredients (cheap canned mushrooms, old onion, oversalty everything) crusts that tasted like really old grease...I'm glad I didn't take someone there to impress for a nice dinner! I would not recommend it unless you were friends of the owners or something. Even the dessert was old like it had been sitting in the fridge for 3 days. Decent espresso.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Actual home cooked meal ....southern italian style”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Honestly, I am writing this review because it is long over due with the quality of food that you find. My wife and I frequent restaurants on the weekend, and we found that expensive high class restaurants are starting to have poor service. All this money and still poor service. So we started going to real authentic cultural restaurants. Bar Italia makes wonderful pastas, panzerottis, pizzas all with wonderful staff. It is priced very well and you can enjopy a night as a couple without breaking the bank. As well, it is perfect take. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Thunder Bay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roberto r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Real Taste of Italy”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This restaurant reminded me of several I had visited while in Italy (Rome) many years ago. The food was fabulous, very authentic and reasonably priced. The cappuccino is excellent and the atmosphere is very "Italian". The place is modestly decorated but very homey and pleasant.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Basia146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

They make really good panzarotti. The service is very good as well.

Helpful?
Thank akaent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Nice family run restaurant. Great pizza and friendly atmosphere. Pizza is authentic thin crust with fresh toppings.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennylaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Italia also viewed

 

Been to Bar Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing