We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Actual home cooked meal ....southern italian style”
Review of Bar Italia

Bar Italia
Ranked #39 of 288 Restaurants in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Actual home cooked meal ....southern italian style”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Honestly, I am writing this review because it is long over due with the quality of food that you find. My wife and I frequent restaurants on the weekend, and we found that expensive high class restaurants are starting to have poor service. All this money and still poor service. So we started going to real authentic cultural restaurants. Bar Italia makes wonderful pastas, panzerottis, pizzas all with wonderful staff. It is priced very well and you can enjopy a night as a couple without breaking the bank. As well, it is perfect take. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Thunder Bay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roberto r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Real Taste of Italy”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This restaurant reminded me of several I had visited while in Italy (Rome) many years ago. The food was fabulous, very authentic and reasonably priced. The cappuccino is excellent and the atmosphere is very "Italian". The place is modestly decorated but very homey and pleasant.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Basia146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

They make really good panzarotti. The service is very good as well.

Helpful?
Thank akaent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Nice family run restaurant. Great pizza and friendly atmosphere. Pizza is authentic thin crust with fresh toppings.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennylaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food is Fantastic”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The food is absolutely out of this world...always fresh...and they have specials every day. I always order a pizza and it does not get better anywhere. They give you good size portions so go hungry.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Italia also viewed

 
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 
Thunder Bay, Ontario
 

Been to Bar Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing