We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service and great management.”
Review of Thunder Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thunder Bay Inn
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
New Brunswick
1 review
“Exceptional service and great management.”
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We travelled from New Brunswick to Ontario to attend our nephew's wedding. This was the first time we had driven to Ontario and needless to say, we were all tired when we arrived at the Inn. We were pleasantly greeted at reception by management who were very quick to get us set up in a room, as well as very helpful in answering any questions which we had with respect to the area. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and well maintained. It definitely felt like "home away from home". Very quiet and peaceful. On the day we left to return to New Brunswick we encountered mechanical problems with our car and had to stay in Thunder Bay another night. We returned to the Thunder Bay Inn where management were very kind and quickly set us up for another night. We highly recommend the Inn as the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieNewBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
35
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

I should have read the previous review before I stayed there. The owner is the biggest jerk I have ever encountered at a hotel. First he made a big stink about switching us rooms cause we needed to change in time for a funeral, when there was NO other people in the hotel. At least he did this. Then a few other friends of mine came in to ask to change, and i said it was for a funeral, and he said no, it would be $10 bucks a person! Garbage! He was so rude to us, telling us no partys, which we were not going to have after a sad day like we had. Then the final straw was, we called down for extra towels, asked for 3, and he said NO we already had two and would bring one more. What a joke. No customer service skills whatsoever, completely rude, and at this rate will go out of business real quick. Dont waste your time here people, drive another 6km into town and stay somewhere else to avoid this headache receieved from the owner.

  • Liked — Room was pretty clean
  • Disliked — Customer treatment
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vienna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThunderBayHotel, general manager at Thunder Bay Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2009
February 10 2009

Dear Readers,

Thank you for your interest in our property.

Receiving excellent service starts with honesty. When filling out a hotel registration it must be accurate and honest. In this case, the amount of persons was not accurate. Having extra persons using the facilities for showering and grooming results in extra charges and, for safety reasons there is a limit of the number of persons assigned to a room.

In order to respect the others in the hotel, when management sees young people entering with a case of alcoholic beverages, warning them to be responsible is very normal so everyone can have a good night sleep.

Honestly, eveyone is very welcome.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Stayed at this hotel before becasue they allowed pets. When we arrived the owner was extremely rude because he said my poodles were too big. Stood outside our room, gave me the creeps. We were not allowed to leave the room for a minute. When I said we would have to check out, he got really angry and told me he would charge me for cleaning the room, which we were in for 1 minute. When I complained he got even angrier and threaten to keep $120.000 on my Visa. These are new owners and obviously have no people skills and are definitely in the wrong business. Would not recommed this place to anyone, unless you want to be verbally abused. Rooms were not great either. My dogs are cleanier. Burn holes in bedspreads in non-smoking rooms. what a joke. He ended up charging us $ 55.00 for one minute in this disgusting room.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Magicpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThunderBayHotel, general manager at Thunder Bay Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2009
February 10 2009

Dear Readers,

Thank you to all the responsable pet owners.

To have a great experience when travelling with pets, make sure you ask and respect the Hotel Pet Policies. We love pets but pets also love their owners and if you leave your pet in a new environment the pets will be nervous and anxious, resulting in moaning, barking and in some cases, trying to escape the confinement of a hotel room and causing damage.

One important thing missing in this review is respecting one of the hotel pet policies. The pets were to be left alone in the room, when we made it very clear not to leave the pets alone in the room at anytime.

To protect our guests that are not comfortable having pets around them in the hallway and on the hotel grounds, we've reviewed our pet policies since this preventable event.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arborg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

I was arriving late into Thunder Bay and didn't really feel like driving much more so found this motel on the outskirts of the city quite handy. The check in process was quick and very friendly and even though the hotel was full the clerk was able to fit me in somehow. The rooms are new, well kept and very clean. Even though the hotel was on the main route into Port Arthur the noise from traffic was non existent and behind the hotel was a nice tree area for a bit of a morning jaunt. Checkout very friendly and they did seem honestly interested in how I enjoyed my stay. Would definitely choose this hotel if I need to stay in Thunder Bay again.

  • Liked — Reception desk
  • Disliked — Not well advertised ie. no billboards coming into city - one turns the corner and suddenly its there
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank arborgmadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
857 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.9 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,476 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Bay Inn

Property: Thunder Bay Inn
Address: 1460 Dawson Rd, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7G 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunder Bay Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Break from Lifes Adventure. Enjoy your stay at the Thunder Bay Inn Hotel, a calm, comfortable and clean place to recharge. New and friendly staff. Convenient location. Affordable rooms, clean and quiet for all visitors. Just the right spot to stop, just minutes away from the airport, downtown waterfront and shopping at the Intercity Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thunder Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunder Bay Inn Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing