We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Quiet”
Review of Thunder Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thunder Bay Inn
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent a couple nights here during a recent visit. Our room was spotless..Whole place seems to have been renovated... Nice north end location thats close to amenities. 10 minute drive to airport....Would stay again.

Room Tip: Recommend the Jacuzzi Room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVSNiagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Thunder Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in our road trip across Canada. It is in a very convenient location for those wanting to avoid downtown traffic. Super clean, comfortable beds, friendly staff. A really nice hotel. You can tell people working there care for the property. I'd recommend it without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaMarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

After reading several favourable reviews we arrived here with high expectations. Unfortunately Thunder Bay Inn fell below what we expected. The young woman who greeted us upon arrival was not able to recommend any local restaurants, the room was clean but spartan, the bed was uncomfortable and the complementary breakfast was meagre. OK for tired travellers looking for a quick overnight crash and no more.

Room Tip: Find your room somewhere else.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mortsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a bad experience at a non brand name hotel the night before we stayed at this hotel and were a little hesitant while driving up to this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised it was convieniently located had great curb appeal. The small lobby was spotless, the gentleman that checked us in made us feel like we were staying at a bed & breakfast. Very friendly. The room was also spotless everything looked and smelled brand new. The breakfast area was very small, we actually went back to our room to eat, but the breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennistessier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

When travelling to Thunder Bay we often passed by this small Inn. On a recent trip to the city we decided to book a room and give it a try. We were more than glad we did. The person who took our reservation was very friendly and really seemed that he appreciated our decision to stay there. Upon arrival the friendliness continued and we were actually shown to our room which was different even though the room was just down the hall. The room was spotless and very well equipped. It beds were soooo comfortable and for a small place they sure didn't scrimp on quality linens, pillows and towels. It was great to have a nice quiet sleep instead of the noise of party's in the rooms around us like the larger dirty hotel two minutes up the highway. We found some critters in our room at that hotel. What a world of difference. The rates were reasonable and well worth the price given the quality of the room. I would strongly recommend the Thunder Bay Inn to anyone looking for a good night(s) rest. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Thunder Bay Inn is a bit far from the main shopping and entertainment areas in the city but they...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankBruyere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This motel looks and feels brand new. Homey yet offering all the amenities you could want, this motel was perfectly comfortable. Loved the style and subtle luxury. We had a large camper and boat and had plenty of room to park. Plus they had a very lovely outdoor picnic area. Would definitely recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofiafofana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed here in the last year. Rooms are clean and spacious. There are microwaves and fridges in the rooms plus hi speed internet. All rooms are none smoking which is nice. There are in room movies. but you can not view anything that is still in theaters. No elevator. Comp breakfast is offered from 6 to 9 am.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakotawoman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
880 reviews
3.3 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,552 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Bay Inn

Address: 1460 Dawson Rd, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7G 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range: $97 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunder Bay Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Break from Lifes Adventure. Enjoy your stay at the Thunder Bay Inn Hotel, a calm, comfortable and clean place to recharge. New and friendly staff. Convenient location. Affordable rooms, clean and quiet for all visitors. Just the right spot to stop, just minutes away from the airport, downtown waterfront and shopping at the Intercity Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thunder Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunder Bay Inn Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing