We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living history”

Fort William Historical Park
Ranked #2 of 64 things to do in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Living history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fort William played a pivotal role in the development of Canada. It was no so much a military operation as a commercial one run by the North West Company, a rival of the famous Hudson Bay Company of British North America. The personnel are in character and costume of the early 19th Century (around 1815) and at our visit there was a re-enactment of a War of 1812 battle with the invading Americans. The British won. It was an entertaining, educational, and enjoyable trip for us grandparents, our kids, and grandson. A short side-trip to beautiful Kakabeka Falls in an Ontario Provincial Park was well worth it as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dudley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    100
    14
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
168 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went on the public holiday Monday and not all the park was in true operation even allowing for this we both thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Bit hard at times to be in the "role" along with the employees but it was fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great place to live Ontario's History!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful walk & full of history that learn about thru the "interpeters/actors" that all play their roles impeccably and with Great knowledge of the era!! So enjoyed conversing with the actors. The doctor offered to cure "My foot Rot" and I was offered 20 beaver skills for my colorful shirt! We had lots of fun and learned so much!! Unfortunately we missed the "show down" which I hear is outstanding!! If you plan on camping be warned there is NO shade from trees! Great Fort!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank terrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
358 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise this Fort was”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I really didn't have high expectations coming to this Fort, but was most pleasantly surprised by the experience. The Fort sits on a lovely bluff above the river and is an authentic recreation of the early 1800s in almost every way. The staff are in period costume and are performers of that era, essentially actors sharing the history of the place like it's todays news. The building techniques are authentic to the time, and there are some very interesting aspects to the fort. One that I found most interesting was watching the construction of a genuine birch bark canoe. I'd heard about them for decades, but was fascinated at the detailed craftsmanship and the sturdy quality of these canoes. From the boiling of pine roots to weave the birch bark together, the making of pitch to waterseal them, to the construction of the frame of the canoe, all very fascinating. Also very impressive were the fur stores. I was astounded to see hundreds and hundreds of pelts on exhibit (which I'm told have been donated for decades by people -- not specifically hunted), but it really does give you a feel for what a trading for was like then. The farm is large and attractive and the animals very cute. Very highly recommended, especially for families.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank drfumblefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleyville, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Live The History...See It, Feel It, Smell It and Taste It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fort William is one of the best attractions of its sort that we have ever visited. It doesn't top Williamsburg but it is certainly on the top with Williamsburg.
There is so much to see! Plan to spend at least the afternoon strolling through the entire community. Watch as bread is baked in the old wood fired wall ovens...and then purchase a loaf and enjoy! They raise chickens, sheep, ducks while having a huge vegetable garden. The food raised is also cooked there. They actually serve to civic organizatons and other special groups in the Great Hall and the food is cooked in a huge fireplace in antique pots and pans. Just this alone was amazing to me.
The hospital and all the work shops are as if you stepped back. Artisans are working away creating everything from boats to boots.
The entire fort is also handi-cap friendly. There was even a hidden elevator in the Great Hall so that I could reach the upper floors. I so appreciated this touch.
This was a trading post for trappers. If you have never felt the pelts of fox, bear, mink, rabbit, beaver....it is available in the stores of the trading post of Fort Willliam. This is in Canada and while we do not have such displays in America due to our animal rights laws, Canada does not have such restrictions.
I don't have enough space allowed to tell you all the wonderful reasons for visiting Fort William, just treat yourself and do it. It's a photographers dream.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort William Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort William Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing