We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McVicar Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McVicar Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Thunder Bay B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolute Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Dorothy and Tom Walch run one of the very best B&B's we've ever experienced anywhere. It's almost worth the trip to Thunder Bay just to stay with them. The house is spacious and beautiful, rooms are impeccable, and food is superb. The Walches really take care of you too. They are gracious hosts, and fun to talk to. Do yourself a favor and be their guests!

Room Tip: En suite room is just gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil and Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband daughter and I stayed at McVicar manor for 5 days. We were attending a family wedding. As we were greeted at the door, Tom and Dorothy made us fell like family. As a matter of fact we are family, our son married their daughter, while we were visiting.

This is not just any B&B, the walsh's have brought something different to the mix. It is called class and sophistication. The manor itself has old world charm, but Tom and Dorothy have brought it to life. Whether you spend time indoor or pass the time in their whimsical garden, you know you have been treated like royalty....

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here on a recent trip to Lake Superior region. Everything was wonderful here. The gardens are a true delight. The breakfasts were delicious. We were in two different rooms since we reserved late but that went very well. Both rooms were very nice. Excellent hospitality and we will be back if we travel back this way again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forestlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The author and motivational speaker Charles Swindoll wrote what many people in all walks of life acknowledge ... that "the difference between something good and something great is attention to detail." Dorothy and Tom's generous hospitality and respect for their guests is reflected in this 'gift of attention': the bathroom has everything that you may need including quality products from The Body Shop; a complimentary glass of wine each evening; bottles of water in the room; Stuart McLean's latest book (I laughed and laughed at the story about Galway the cat who learned to flush the toilet). Combine this attention to detail with the warm and easy congeniality of Dorothy and Tom; the wonderful breakfasts; and the grandness of a century home and you have the recipe for what makes McVicar Manor a special place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonesToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I aren't usually big B&B fans, but our stay with Dorothy and Tom couldn't have been a better example of hospitality and graciousness at it's best. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed into very comfortable surroundings. From our beautiful bedroom (and bathroom), to the gardens outside, everything is in tip-top shape due to the hard work of the proprietors. The breakfast was simply delicious, with the added benefit of great companionship. You're also within easy walking distance of some good dining, with Dorothy providing welcomed advice. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

From the luxury bed linens and delicious breakfast to the architectural detail and art work that graces the walls, McVicar Manor whispers charm and sophistication as soon as you walk in the door. Hosts, Dorothy and Tom, only add to the atmosphere with their warm welcome.

The guest livingroom with its comfortable leather couches is the perfect place to curl up with a good book. The small TV room on the main floor is available for those who prefer to watch some TV.

Be sure to ask Dorothy and Tom for some recommendations for dinner. They have some good suggestions that won't disappoint.

Our breakfast in the morning was a really satisfying menu of coffee, juice, tropical salad, homemade muffins and ham hash and eggs, made to our liking.

It is easy to understand why this property has a 4 1/2 star FOBBA (Federation of Bed and Breakfast Accommodation) rating.

Thank you Dorothy and Tom for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: For those with mobility issues, this is a 2 story home. However, Tom was very hellpful with taking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmblesideInn-Host
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

My only regret is that I stayed just one night. I highly recommend this b&b. Dorothy and Tom are warm and hospitable hosts. I stayed in the Manor Room, which has a large bathroom with a deep jacuzzi tub, a big queen size bed and a sitting area with a fainting couch. Breakfast was delicious and included a yogurt-granola parfair, homemade rhubarb & strawberry muffins and a poached egg on an English muffin. I will definitely stay here when I return to Thunder Bay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
10.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
2.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#4 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McVicar Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McVicar Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: McVicar Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 146 Court St N, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4V2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Thunder Bay
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Mcvicar Manor b&b
Mcvicar Manor Hotel Thunder Bay
McVicar Manor Bed And Breakfast Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing