We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd stay here again - price is right for a clean room!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived at the Econo Lodge after a long, wet drive from Sault Ste. Marie. We booked by telephone and received a very good rate including breakfast $76 + tax. The staff was very pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Our room was small but it appeared to be newly renovated with the exception of the air conditioner which was quite noisy. Bed was comfy and we had a good night's sleep. While the hallways could use some work, we were quite happy with our stay. Breakfast included hot items. We'd stay here again - it's in a good location, a restful night and good breakfast - for the price, you can't beat it!

Room Tip: This is only a 2 story hotel - our room was on the second floor and we had a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spunky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 132 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Rooms had been renovated. Small but comfortable and clean. Hallways could use some work. Air conditioner a little noisy but worked well. Good location. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast included hot items.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Spunky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

As some of the others had mentioned the AC was loud (fine to sleep as it was background noise, but harder to hear TV. It seemed that the shower caused the shower curtain to smell? On the plus side the front desk crew was very helpful & called to find out the hours of a local restaurant. Continental breakfast was fine. Make your own waffle, yogurt, cold cereal, muffins, coffee, boiled eggs, etc. Overall a good value for the money (under $90) & they are also doing some upgrades. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank incu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were generally happy with our stay at the motel. As the name suggests you get an economical room ie bit small with very small towel each. But that is ok our problem was the wall air conditioning unit which due to size of room is almost right next to your ear as you lie in bed. That would not be a problem if the unit was quiet but it is EXTREMELY loud. Would be ok if the weather is cool. Breakfast was better than usual as they did provide boiled eggs.
Service was good.
There is not much to do in Thunder Bay.

Room Tip: Make sure the room has a quiet air conditioning unit,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked through Hotels.com and received a rate of $89. The room had been a smoking room at some point as there was a stale cigarette smell, at least in our room. The halls and stairwells were oppressively hot and stunk of Fabreeze. I don't know if it's just me, but I always feel I'm being ripped off spending anything over $45 for a room this basic, no elevator, depressing surroundings. The a/c had not been started in our room prior to our arrival, so the room itself was stifling when we entered. There was also hair stuck to the walls of the bath surround... YUK!

A show for toddlers played on the tv in the breakfast room... how mind numbing!

The staff was pleasant enough.

Room Tip: ask for something on the main floor because carrying your luggage up the stairs and down those long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickAndNoraHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here with our family as we passed through Ontario in July 2012. Could have used an elevator, and maybe an access door closer to our room as it seemed like we were carrying our things for miles to get to our room.
We had requested a playpen and when we got in the room it was not set up, and we were unable to get it to set up ourselves.

I would likely search for another hotel if we come through Thunder Bay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dritere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed one night, on Choice Hotel points. Using points usually gets you the dumpy room. Not this time. Our room was recently renovated, it was smallish, with a queen bed, but more than adequate for a night spend with my eyes closed!. The carpet was cleaner than the higher end places we've stayed. The air conditioner was noisy, but didn't keep us awake. Alan was very helpful and friendly when we checked in. Breakfast was good. We thought it was as clean and comfortable as anyplace we've stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GnMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
3.2 mi away
Old Country Motel
Old Country Motel
#27 of 33 in Thunder Bay
51 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads
3.6 mi away
Thunder Bay Inn
Thunder Bay Inn
#12 of 33 in Thunder Bay
84 reviews
3.3 mi away
Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 686 Memorial Ave, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range: $64 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing