We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff; Clean; Poor Location”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Reviewed January 3, 2012

There was a lot to like about this place:
1) My room was spacious and clean;
2) The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. One night clerk researched bus routes for over an hour for me, helping me find the least expensive way of traveling to the 1815 Fort re-creation outside of town;
3) There's a pay laundry machine available between the inner and outer doors in the side entrance to the motel. When a person is travelling for an extended period of time, finding a washer/dryer is almost as good as finding a pot of gold!

The only negative about the place is its location. It's out on the long, dreary strip of motels, gas stations, etc. along Memorial Avenue. I was traveling by Greyhound, so would try to get around by foot in each city I visited. It's quite a walk into the heart of downtown Thunder Bay from this motel, but it's do-able.

Over all, this place was a good value. When booking, remember that most Econo Lodges are affiliated with Travelodge, and so when booking into one, your booking might be shunted to the other.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 132 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the Ecno Lodge for 9 days in October 2011. While the appearance of this hotel on the outside is less than attractive our stay there was pleasant. The front office staff is exceptionally helpful. The rooms are basic but clean, quiet and comfortable. Any request we made was accomodated very quickly. The breakfast is the standard fare and the eating area is clean and pleasant. The price is reasonable here and while it's not fancy, it is a good place to stay. We would stay there again. Great friendly staff includes housekeeping people as well.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the door that opens from the stairs to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank googled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Fairly low price, but a good, clean room. Very basic. Fast wi-fi. Basic continental breakfast.
TV got a lot of channels, but for some odd reason, the tv is connected to the light switch beside the door. When you turn off the light, the tv won't work. Strange.
The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed for one night on August 17 my husband, two children and I. It was easy to find. Upon check in which was fast we received a voucher for the continental breakfast and had to lug our luggage up two flights of stairs. The hotel lobby and hallways are not air conditioned just the rooms which made for a hot walk with the luggage. Our room key did not work after a half a dozen tries and we had to go and get it corrected. Even after that the room key worked sporadically which was extremely annoying. The room is basic and very sparse. The air conditioner in the room is very loud. The hotel is in kind of a sketchy location. It is beside a bowling alley and people are always just hanging around the hotel and at a picnic table across the parking lot. I wasn't sure it they were staying there or just loitering. Which made me feel uncomfortable as I had to bring in everything from the car. It would have been nice if there was a security guard. The continental breakfast is very very basic. Toast, package muffins and no-name oatmeal (which doesn't cook in the lukewarm water provided) and coffee and tea. The staff here are fantastic and friendly but I would not stay here again due to the location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PenelopeKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Not too much to say about this place except that it was clean and a great price. The free breakfast and Wifi made it an even better value. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alligood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

It was ok. Didn't stay for the breakfast. Not in the most exciting part of town, but with all due respect to Thunder Bay is there an exciting part of town?

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobalbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

After travelling 15 hours over night on Greyhound we were greeted by the friendly front desk staff. The motel reception area was clean and modern. The hallways to the rooms were slightly dated but this added a cosy charm to the place. Our room was on the first floor, a good size, very clean throughout including the bathroom. The room included tea/coffee facilities, a big wardrobe, drawers, tv and wifi. Internet connection was good. Breakfast consisted of English muffins, bagels, toast, selection of cereals, teas, coffee and juices. I would highly recommend this motel to other long distance travellers (also only 10 min walk to Greyhound depot)

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess_T149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
3.2 mi away
Old Country Motel
Old Country Motel
#27 of 33 in Thunder Bay
51 reviews
1.7 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
909 reviews
3.8 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Thunder Bay
Super 8 Thunder Bay
#11 of 33 in Thunder Bay
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 686 Memorial Ave, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range: $65 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing