We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just like the old days.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathcona Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathcona Motel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just like the old days.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a very nice family owned motel that brings back memories of the 60s. The kitchen is a nice addition which you do not normally expect in a motel. The room was very clean and the owner is friendly and knows the area well as his family built the hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: Only one channel on the tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ichabod322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and review - it is greatly appreciated. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
17
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern, Ontario
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This neat as a pin motel has all the warmth of years gone by, but the amenities needed today. I would highly recommend this motel. Ken and Janice, the last sentence of your motel's history says that the Strathcona is a small motel with a big heart. I could not agree more.
Regards. Richard and Edna Kelly

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BSCSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Reviews like yours are very gratifying for a small business owner - thank you for this very kind review. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was on a road trip with my bro from Manitoba to sleeping giant and decided to sleep here after a long day of driving. We were told to be there before 11 pm but forgot about the time zone difference and arrived after midnight. We were welcomed in and had a fantastic sleep! He was very understanding and made sure we were comfortable and well rested. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikibee129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write this positive review. We hope to see you again soon and anytime before midnight! :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

:This place is truly a hidden gem, it is clean well maintained and QUIET. The price is riculously low I paid for seven days what would cost me one night in a major hotel chain. The kitchen had everything I needed, there is a friendly Donut Shop within walking distance plus a pizza place, grocery store drug store etc. The Golf course is accross the road and the beach is around the corner. Nice spot, relaxing stay and the owner made sure I had everything I needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejp139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review of the motel and its surrounding area - we think it is a pretty nice and friendly neighbourhood too! Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Had lots of room and everything was very clean and in good repair. My partner and I enjoyed the restful stay and the owner seemed to go out of his way to make is aware of the sights near by. It's also in a nice part of the city which makes evening walks feel safe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WpgZygon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for this positive review - we are very glad to hear that you had a restful stay with us in our quiet, friendly neighbourhood. Hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you're looking for an inexpensive and comfortable stay in Thunder Bay, you can't do better. My family of four (parents, teen, and kindergartener) spent three nights here. Workable kitchenette that is adequately equipped for cooking simple meals, fantastic sheets and towels, simple decor, one bedroom and a small couch that pulls out into a bed in the living area. Friendly, knowledgeable owner and a fantastic location near parks. Sofa bed could have been more comfortable, but we all know what we're getting into with a sofa bed. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serafina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write - we were very glad to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the area. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Strathcona Motel will transport you back to a simpler time of old school hospitality and outstanding value - it's the sort of lodging that just doesn't exist anymore in this era of cookie-cutter plastic hotel chains. Located in a quiet residential neighbourhood just off Highway 11/17, the motel includes free parking and free wifi, and the rooms feature charming vintage furnishings and fixtures that are very well-maintained. The kitchenette was fully stocked with a stove, microwave, and full sized fridge - plus a Keurig coffeemaker, which was a lovely touch! After driving 9 hours from Winnipeg, this was the perfect stay for us - clean, comfortable, good location, and very kind, accommodating hosts. Pride of ownership is definitely evident here. I don't believe you will find a better deal than this in Thunder Bay - or the rest of Ontario for that matter.

TIP: The TV only has 1 channel, so bring your laptop and - if you're so inclined - an HDMI cable to hook it up to the TV.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thanks for your kind and thoughtful review of the Strathcona Motel. We have upgraded to digital tv since your stay last summer, so people can enjoy more programming options. Glad you found the place charming and good value for money. We would be very happy to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
5.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.0 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
8.5 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#7 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathcona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathcona Motel

Property: Strathcona Motel
Address: 545 Hodder Ave, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thunder Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Green Hotel in Thunder Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1956, the Strathcona Motel prides itself on being clean, quiet and affordable. Steps to gorgeous parks, a municipal golf course and other attractions, you won't regret spending the night. We believe that a comment left by one of our guests recently says it all: "Your place here... it's really a hidden gem." We invite you to come and stay with us and see if you aren't charmed too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathcona Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing