We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome value”
Review of Strathcona Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathcona Motel
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for a pleasure trip...twice...great value....awesome service, clean suite with everything you need from stove, fridge, microwave, coffee, toaster.... and close to anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathyg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 51 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you are looking for a stylish accomodation with lots of unnecessary extras like a bar, pool etc and are willing to pay 2...3 times the money you pay here, look somewhere else. If you want a clean, friendly run simple accomodation incl cooking facilities for small money THIS is your place. So far the best (priceworthy) place i have stayed in, during those first four weeks in canada!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KUOch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind review - we definitely strive to provide good value for money at the Strathcona Motel and are happy to receive feedback that our guests are satisfied. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I almost don't want to write this review, because this place may become too popular, and result in no availability when we want to stay here in the future! Everything that everyone has said already about this place is true. We are here from Winnipeg, visiting family & friends. I grew up in Westfort, and was not familiar with this side of the city, except to frequent places like Trowbridge Falls and Centennial Park, but this a great location, the neighbourhood is quiet and inviting. We have done a fair amount of travelling, and this is one of the best places we've had the pleasure of staying in. It truly feels like a home away from home. We will definitely come back here for future visits to Thunder Bay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

It is thanks to terrific reviews like yours that we have certainly become less of a secret and very busy these days! Thank you for taking the time to write - please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This charmer has great value. I was really pleased with my stay here. Five minutes off the Trans Canada and less than ten minutes to the downtown/waterfront area, and a golf course across the road if that's your thing.
The rooms have a very nice and very clean kitchenette set-up.
Wifi was a little spotty for those, like me, who care.

I didn't reserve a room but I was lucky. By 6:00pm on a Tuesday night the No Vacancy sign was lit.
At the price of $60/night you really come out the winner here.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank SteveB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Many thanks for your positive review and constructive feedback. We have worked to address the internet connectivity issue in that particular suite with our service provider (Tbaytel) and then with a little, old-fashioned elbow grease... G2G now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife, our 6 month old and I were looking for a decent place to stay while visiting friends and relatives in Thunder Bay. We decided to stay here based on previous reviews. We were not disappointed! The owner was very friendly and the accommodation was extremely clean and well kept up. It is by no means fancy but we impressed by the fact that it was like a small apartment - separate bedroom and kitchenette. Overall, great value for the money and it left us with a positive impression. Natasha, George, Stephen

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve-Liuba-Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review and glad you found our place to be good value for money. We would be very happy to have your family back again anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is probably the best accommodation value in the city. $60 per night, $100 for two nights, $300 per week. This is a family business which started over 50 years ago, with lots of memories. Not high-end, but well-maintained and clean. Quiet neighbourhood, full kitchen with gas stove and microwave, separate bedroom, comfortable couch. Keurig coffee maker. WIreless Internet. Hi-def flat-screen TV with rabbit ears (3 channels!). Robins Donuts nearby. Open May to August. No credit cards accepted, deposit required with reservation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ursamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I am travelling from North Bay, Ontario to teach in the La Loche reserve in Northern Saskatchewan, and after 14-15 hours of driving in one day, all I wanted was a place to sleep and a hot shower in the morning. Well, I found it here! Gas station and pizza/sub place right down the road, and the owner is very friendly and welcoming (not like at those bigger, chain hotels). The apartment is clean, has everything you need, and at $50 a night I could rest easy. Very easy to find, just off the highway. I would highly suggest coming here if you need a quick stop-over. ^_^

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cassandra1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusnak1956, Owner at Strathcona Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words and positive review -- a real blessing for a small, independent, family-run business. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
4.4 mi away
Thunder Bay Inn
Thunder Bay Inn
#12 of 33 in Thunder Bay
84 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
8.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#7 of 33 in Thunder Bay
235 reviews
8.5 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,618 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathcona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathcona Motel

Address: 545 Hodder Ave, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thunder Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Green Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range: $39 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1956, the Strathcona Motel prides itself on being clean, quiet and affordable. Steps (or cycle) to gorgeous parks located in the Current River Greenway, an 18 hole municipal golf course and other attractions, you won't regret spending the night in this residential setting. We believe that a comment left by one of our guests recently says it all: "Your place here... it's really a hidden gem." We invite you to come and stay with us and see if you aren't charmed too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathcona Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing