We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“moldy shower walls” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Thunder Bay ON

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Thunder Bay ON
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“moldy shower walls”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at several hotels while traveling through Ontario, but this was by far the worst. The shower walls were moldy, the fan wasn't working properly, the bathroom door hit the sink right in the middle, so you couldn't open the door all the way.The room was so small you could barely move around in it. There was no stand to put your luggage on, we had to put it on the floor. oh and the elevator was broken and of course the elevator maintenance workers were on strike! This was the most expensive of the 5 hotels we stayed at in Ontario and it was the worst. I wish I had read the reviews before I had gone here. If we hadn't been so exhausted after driving for 13 hours we would have gone to another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heda_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    39
    37
    49
See reviews for
60
31
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is my first stay at a Travelodge. I normally do not book hotel rooms for personal reasons, but I travel frequently for business purposes. I normally stay at Hilton/Sawridge/Delta hotels. I am currently moving across Canada, and I'm aiming to stay within a budget while driving to relocate. This hotel is fantastic! The high speed internet is flawless, and the room is extremely clean/cozy/well-maintained. This hotel has far surpassed my expectations - I wasn't sure what to expect for the price.
While checking in, the female employee working at the front desk did a phenomenal job overall! There were seven clients in line to check-in, and we all arrived at the same time. She was extremely friendly, informative and worked with speed/efficiency. I hope you provide her with a verbal "pat on the back" for her work ethic. It made my experience extremely positive and the other patrons appeared to impressed as well.
- Chelsea -

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

i was hesitating about this hotel due to bad comments on trip advisory, than i was supprised when i got to my room, splendide, newly renovated, new beds, mattress, carpet, beautiful furnitures, wow this was more than expected, i was in room 208. Also, there was a continental free breakfast. In one word, GO

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andre l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitouwadge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

As a frequent visitor to Thunder Bay, with Pets, we use to stay here alot. but it went down hill. Heard about the renovations, so tried it again and yes it has gotten better. New beds, bedding, decor...bathroom was cleaner. For the value and price it is worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodbeth2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARAMAT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I do not stay at this hotel very often, but that is about to change. The hotel is very clean, my room was very comfortable and the breakfast was great, a very good layout of food. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. I was also very pleased at check out when I requested something out of the ordinary, the young lady, although a bit of an introvert was very helpful with my request. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel and I plan to stay there again.
Awesome staff, great location and nice room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARMAND G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memorial, General Manager at Travelodge Thunder Bay ON, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive comments! We have worked hard this past year on our renovations and it is good to hear the hard work is paying off. I will pass on your wonderful comments about the staff too - they really appreciate the recognition.
Looking forward to your next trip to town!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

In general this hotel needs major updates! The rooms are old, dirty and outdated. Everything looks like it needs to be thrown out and replaced. They do have a continental breakfast area but it is just a temporary room and there is never enough to eat, something was always running out and not getting replenished. The front desk staff was pleasant though, they tried their very best to make the stay better. I understand that most people choose to stay here because of the price but there are other places to stay for 5 or 10 dollars more that are so much better. Avoid this place!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiMark5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memorial, General Manager at Travelodge Thunder Bay ON, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay with us in February 2012. We have had some updates and refurbishments that took place later in 2012 that we are very proud of and would like to inform our guests of all the hard work that has been completed. We have replaced all guestroom carpet, all wall coverings in our guestrooms and bathrooms, new bedding and drapes in all guestrooms, new 32 inch televisions, new lighting and mirrors in all bathrooms as well as all our public areas that received new carpet and wall covering. Please come by the next time you are in Thunder Bay to see all the changes that have taken shape over the past year. We would be happy to show off our new look.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#10 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Thunder Bay ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Thunder Bay ON

Property: Travelodge Thunder Bay ON
Address: 450 Memorial Ave, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Y7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Thunder Bay ON 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Travelodge Thunder Bay ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Thunder Bay Hotel Thunder Bay
Travel Lodge Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Travelodge
Thunder Bay Travel Lodge
Travelodge Thunder Bay ON Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing