We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Thunder Bay
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Reviewed October 10, 2012

room was good and nice, and big.,I like the big tv. I enjoyed my stay at the motel.Also,it was very quiet and I was able to sleep better. The bed was very comfortable for my back. I with recommend my friends to stay in this motel if they come to Thunder Bay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank CYRIL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Thunder Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 389 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

Noisy location. Every night there was loud noises, slaming of doors and general disturbance. On our last nite the police had to be called to take away some unruly guests in handcuffs. In my opinion the police were not called until repeated complaints from other tenants. They should have been called on the first complaint not the last. I will never stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel is on a major street in Thunder Bay so it's convenient. It's definitely dated and needs updating but my room was comfortable and was on the back side so it was a little more quiet. The staff was very helpful and suggested a few things to see. The free breakfast was ok - basically juice, tea/coffee, cereal, muffins, bagels/bread. There's enough fast food and restaurants within walking distance if you need something more substantial.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gyraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Horrible this room smelled bad cost $120 and continental breakfast sucks. The only good thing about this room was the location. Across the street was a nice sushi restaurant which my wife and I ate at (probably the highlight of our stay in Thunder Bay).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I spent one two nights back and forth in this hotel and I my family enjoyed it a lot.
The value-price I received was very high. Staff was extremely helpful in all aspects.
I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are travelling between Winnipeg and Sault Ste Marie.

Room Tip: Call the hotel after booking the room online or write a request while booking.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanEntrepeneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We are travelling with our dog and even she shouldn't have to stay here. The beds were comfortable enough but I did wonder why the entrance way to our room was wet. The breakfast was adequate. We walked to Boston Pizza for supper. We wouldn't have stayed here except for the fact we needed a dog friendly hotel. She's stayed in better.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed here in February on my way to southern Ontario. The staff were friendly but the hotel is very old and needs major work or demolition. The room i got was very old the bed was a joke. I have stayed in lots of super 8's before and this is the first time i have felt i needed to jam a chair under the door handles. I will never stay at this dump again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chaos-CDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#24 of 33 in Thunder Bay
130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
881 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
242 reviews
4.4 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Thunder Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Thunder Bay

Address: 439 Memorial Ave | Lakehead Expwy. to Harbour Expwy., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range: $74 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Thunder Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Super 8 Thunder Bay hotel offers value you can count on. Located off Highways 11B and 17B, we are just a short distance from the most popular attractions in the area, including the Canada Games Complex. Our hotel offers amenities to help get you where you want to go. Start your morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast, and connect to free high-speed Internet to look up local attractions and events. Free parking makes it easy to get off and on the road. We offer dry-cleaning service and a guest laundry facility for your convenience. All of our rooms are non-smoking, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our Thunder Bay hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Thunder Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Thunder Bay Hotel Thunder Bay
Super Eight Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Super 8
Thunder Bay Super Eight
Super 8 Thunder Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing