We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“a place to rest your head” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Inn
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
prior lake mn
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a place to rest your head”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I checked in for one night. At check in the staff were busy with a number of guests but still very friendly. I had a poolview room on the second floor. It and the hallway were very dark. The room felt tired and the hallways also are in need of some updating. While I could get wifi in my room, my co-travelers just around the corner could not and had to go to the lobby to connect and were not offered any compensation. Hotel met my basic needs of clean and quiet room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    84
    57
    25
    27
See reviews for
88
35
6
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The pool was great but if you stay there during the week the water slide is only open sporadically-this was disappointing to the kids. The pool area was clean and well kept. The staff were not friendly during my stay. Our room, which had a pool view, had no temperature control and was blasting out cold air continuously-the a/c must have been on and we were offered a blanket and told that maintenance couldn't do anything about it. When I complained the second day I was offered blankets. On the third night I was offered a heater, but not before this. Very poor service.
When we checked out the staff did nothing to reduce our rate or compensate us for the lack of temperature control/very cold room. It was a very expensive stay and very uncomfortable. I was not offered another room until we checked out.
Dated rooms but clean

Room Tip: Make sure your room has individual temperature control or you will freeze Pool view rooms are loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thunder Bay hotels

Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very clean hotel with friendly staff. The pool facilities were great for us and our grandchildren. At least 2-3 lifeguards while we were there and very watchful of everyone in the pool. Enjoyed very good dinners and breakfasts at the restaurant. This is the second time we've been there and have already recommended to friends and family. Also very close to the airport and highways - perfect for travelling. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gord4700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent three days in the hotel. We were attending a wedding and other members of our family were in the hotel. The young grand kids had a place to vent their couped up fealings in the pool and the water slide. The family room asigned to my Daughters family was big spacious. The cleaning staff did a good job. I would return to this hotel for a stay.

Room Tip: back corridor facing the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
365 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel was quite dated seemed like I was stepping into the 1960's- even though hotel was fairly empty they put me at the FARTHEST room from the elevators - the pool/slide looked like a lot of fun but didn't have time on this trip to try it out.
The lotion was half gone - a sign that it had been used previously - throw it out!!! The hand soap that was suppose to be foaming was watered down so much it wasn't soap.
The staff are amazing which made the stay more enjoyable. It's nice to feel welcomed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in a pool side room because we had our kids with us. Way over priced by about 30 more then regular room and all you get is a door directly to pool. Not worth it! No air conditioning in poolside rooms, it shouldnt be legal to rent a room for 180 a night w no a/c...no microwaves in the rooms either. They have vents in the rooms that go directly into pool and its noisy. Pool closed at 11pm but then cleaning staff were out till after 12am and were yelling ti each other talking loudly and loud in general making to get kids to sleep or ourslelves. Then in the morning a cleaning persn is back at 7am being loud again moving furniture and going crazy with her dustpan clanging. It was ridiculous. Hotel said poolside isnt the best choice to get rest, its a hotel....??Makes no sense. So they gave 10% off, wow we saved 15 dollars. Didnt make up for the terrible and tired long drive the next day. We got two breakfasts feee but waited over an hour after ordering for eggs benedict. Most staff was friendly and beds were comfortable, water slide and pool was okay but some kid puked in pool it closed for over an hour and we got no incentive for this. The breakfast wasnt very good either, small portions and very dry. I will never stay here again, way over priced!

Room Tip: Don't get a pool room and be prepared for a long wait for a sub par breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was easy to find but that is all the good I can say about this hotel. The front desk staff was not very nice or friendly. The room had a funny smell like it used to be a smoking room. The room had a sign that said 110% guaranteed clean but there was a piece of dried up food under the table and chip crumbs in the drawer. Breakfast was included but was only fair at best I think the chef needs to go to a restaurant and sample someone else's scrambled eggs mine were a gloppy mess! If you have kids and are only coming to this hotel for the water slide it will be great for you otherwise stay away overpriced and dirty.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parsons76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntarioRay74, General Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
I am sorry that we did not meet an acceptable level of service standard. We are working hard to get back on track and feel we are making great progress.
Your comments have been shared with our magement team and we will work hard to correct these concerns for future guests.
I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again when back in Thunder Bay.
R.N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
0.6 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#6 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Suites - Thunder Bay
Days Inn Suites - Thunder Bay
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn

Property: Victoria Inn
Address: 555 Arthur Street West, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Thunder Bay
Victoria Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing