We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing spectacular, but not bad....”
Review of Valhalla Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valhalla Inn
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
467 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular, but not bad....”
Reviewed October 28, 2008

I'd rate this hotel "Neutral/average" to "Okay". it certainly serviced our purposes - meeting facility and guest rooms.
Do the bad first, I guess; Nothing terribly negative, but the front desk couldn't every find any of our four guest room reservations. As for guest room, the bathroom exhaust fan raised such a racket at 5:30 in the morning I immediately switched it off and lived without for fear of waking the neighbors. Also when I checked in round 4 PM my room was nicely neat and made up but there was a tray of leftover room service food sitting right outside my door. That continued until
11 PM when I called the front desk and asked them to pick it up.

Positives; room was quiet and I slept well the short time I was there. The meeting room was certainly very workable and catering staff did all they could to ensure we had a great meeting, so no complaints there and high praise for the catered meal.

Overall, just don't expect too much and I think you'll enjoy your stay here. The decor's a bit dated and the cinder block walls in the hallways kind of leaving feeling sort of '70ish. But as clean,affordable, comforatable lodging goes, this place is fine.

  • Liked — Very close to the airport
  • Disliked — The bit dated decor and lost resrervations
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    495
    298
    130
    75
See reviews for
377
258
91
638
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2008

I am a Thunder Bay local just trying to get out of the house for a while with the lady. We chose the Valhalla Inn after hearing about how nice it was.

So I called a few days in advance to ask what capacity they were at (60% vacancy) and how much the room would cost ($109). I was happy hearing those and decided to call back the next day and book the room. I was informed that they were now at just under 90% occupancy (in under 24 hours) and the room would cost me $149. I argued with the woman on the phone and eventually got her down to $129.

Within minutes of being in the room we deducted that it the walls were paper thin and floors were stained. Also when I left to go get ice the door slammed behind me and rang loudly down the hall, thankfully this was at noon and not in the middle of the night.

This is where most of the negatives end. I won't elaborate too much on the positives as nothing struck me as being too noteworthy. But they had a very friendly staff. Quick response if anything was needed (i.e. towels).

Note to anyone wanting to use a computer in this hotel. If you use their ethernet connection you are limited to only 256kb/s unless you want to shell out cash per day to use it. Their WIFI is testing at 2.5mb/s so you get a greater connection over WIFI, but their coverage is spotty at best.

Would recommend to anyone, especially if they can get the room for $109 as that usually indicated a low occupancy and you may be able to ask for a room with no neighbours, so you don't have to hear their conversations.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gp_aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planet earth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Having stayed at this hotel numerous times, I've had fire alarms in the middle of the night occur here more than a few times. There is obviosuly a problem with their system, but its seems little has been done about it.
Despite this massive inconvenice for hotel guests, there will be zero compensation offered, (i.e. drink/meal vouchers like any other hotel would offer).....not even an apology for the disruption. The front desk staff are quite rude and indifferent. .
I would avoid if you have other choices.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank partmanpartcouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckywilbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Nothing exceptional but a good hotel for the price - well located, free and reliable airport shuttle, excellent business services and pleasant service. Didn't try their restaurant but have heard it is quite good. Would stay there again if in the area.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank luckywilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

I made arrangements via the hotel Web site for an overnight stay at the Valhalla Inn for two people with two beds in a non-smoking room. When I arrived at the hotel they gave me keys to a room with one bed. The room was dirty with stained carpets. The hallway carpeting leading to the room was even worse. I explained the situation to the hotel staff and I was told they gave my room away to a wedding party. I left the hotel and I would never return ever.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Used to stay here for business. Great service, never had any problems. The only thing keeping me from giving the hotel a 5 is the 70's room decor and the odd time that the water would not get hot enough in the morning.

The room service menu is great and priced very reasonably. Try the nachos they're great.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank n00btraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Stayed at the Valhalla Inn for three nights while visiting Thunder Bay. The decor of the hotel are dated but at least the rooms are clean and large. The housekeeping staff are very friendly and always said hello when guests passed by on the hallway. There is broadband Internet available in the room, but it is not wireless and higher speeds are available at a charge. The food at the hotel restaurant (Timbers) is not great and took a long time to arrive.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the rooms.
  • Disliked — Outdated decor.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
5.5 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valhalla Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Inn

Property: Valhalla Inn
Address: 1 Valhalla Inn Rd, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 6J1, Canada (Formerly Golden Tulip Valhalla Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valhalla Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel in Thunder Bay, 60 newly renovated rooms, and 2 luxury suites. All inclusive weekend packages. The largest convention and wedding facilities in NW Ontario. Surperb landscaping and just minutes from the Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Valhalla Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valhalla Hotel Thunder Bay
Valhalla Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing