We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean, quiet, decent restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valhalla Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Valhalla Inn
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, quiet, decent restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a road trip with kids. Quiet decent-sized room, great salt water pool (no changing area), nice lower-end restaurant options with good portions. The second restaurant is undergoing a reno but overall the place is tidy, well appointed, lots of parking, helpful staff. I would be more inclined to give it a 3.5 star (rather than 4) rating but not an option on trip advisor!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite that faces into the courtyard (perhaps they all do) - private because of the trees b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnipeger767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    436
    246
    95
    61
See reviews for
322
218
75
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in Thunder Bay to attend the wedding of a family friend's son. Coming from Boston, we knew little about this part of Canada, located at the western end of Lake Superior. The name Thunder Bay was chosen, by ballot, as part of the amalgamation of two cities - Port Arthur and Fort Williams, Ontario. These cities have a rich history in fur trading, mining, grain trade and transport. More recently, Thunder Bay has been reinventing itself with a focus on University education (Lakehead University), medical training and technology and other areas of higher technology.

The city of 109,000 is spread over a huge area, but has no really high end hotel. The Valhalla Inn, located close to the airport is well run, maintained and sufficiently large to easily handle large family events, and smaller conferences and business meetings. Staff were very helpful and friendly and offered many suggestions for things to do in the area. The downtown area is struggling a bit, but the lake, areas of the waterfront, waterfalls, beautiful canyons and amethyst mines are worth visiting.

My only complaints about the Inn (resulting in a four rather than five rating are: (1)rather barren grounds resulting from being so close to the airport and (2a rather strong odor of chlorine on the first floor coming from the pool. In all other respects, it is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Best to get a room on the Fifth floor. These rooms are the most secure and recently renovated. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Valhalla Inn as we were visiting for a family wedding. Having stayed there on previous occasions, our expectations were low. The newly renovated rooms were just what this hotel needed. Everything was clean and fresh! There are not too many choices for hotel stays in Thunder Bay as it is not a large city. I feel that the rest of the hotel could use some additional renovations to freshen it up. The restaurant seemed a bit tired. I was aware that there was a fire in one of their restaurants so maybe when this is refurbished things will improve.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room that is renovated and also that does not face the airport runways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Kansas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were a little disappointed in our choices of lodging in Thunder Bay; we originally had a different hotel booked buy when we realized they couldn't keep the outside clean there was no way the inside would be kept up either. We switched to the Vahalla Inn because we were told by a local that it was the best place in town. We were given what they called an updated room on the 4th floor and I cringe to think what the rooms looked like that weren't updated. There was just something a bit "odd" about the place and to this day we can't put our hands on it. The feel of the place was old, it was out dated, the lights in the elevator flickered, customer service was borderline snobbish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauryJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I went to this hotel on June 2013 for business purposes. This hotel was a very basic place....
old-fasioned, ugly and old furnitures in the whole hotel.
Customer service: It was OK not WOW for the only hotel in Thunder Bay near by the airport.
Room: Very old, there was a smell (first time I entered in my room), it was looking like a Motel and not like a Hotel but their price was very high for a motel.
Gym: Their gym very POOR, they had one treadmill, one stairmaster, one appliance for your back. The only thing they had that was nice was the pool and their sauna.
Restaurant: Very old furnitures, service was OK, their coffee was not good at all! Their breakfast was all about bacon....so not a lot of varieties!
Location: the only good side of this "hotel" was the location, we were 5 min from the airport and 10 min form the restaurant area (by car).

*Downside: I couldnt stand their green/dirty carpet in the room, I had to walk with my shoes on and the smell was horrible...I had to leave the windows open even though it was very hot and humid outside!

Overall, I do NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. Although, they are renovating a part of this hotel may be it would be better but I did not see anything. I was in their old part rooms. Very old-fashioned!

Room Tip: Please rent a car...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were not in a renovated hotel room. Even though we booked for three people my daughter had to sleep on the very dated sofa bed in our room because they didn't have a room with two doubles. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are clean but it was average. There was a lot of noise from the ventilation system, and fridge. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lived up to it's expectations. Attended a convention there and stayed 5 nights. The staff went beyond what they were contracted for in helping with the logistics of the convention. Meals served to delegates were excellent in variety, quantity and value. Room was spacious and clean. No issues with supplies in the room not being replaced. Front desk was courteous and helpful. Shuttle bus held 9 passengers and was on time. Over all, good value for your money and a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
5.5 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#10 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valhalla Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Inn

Property: Valhalla Inn
Address: 1 Valhalla Inn Rd, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 6J1, Canada (Formerly Golden Tulip Valhalla Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valhalla Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel in Thunder Bay, 60 newly renovated rooms, and 2 luxury suites. All inclusive weekend packages. The largest convention and wedding facilities in NW Ontario. Surperb landscaping and just minutes from the Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Valhalla Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valhalla Hotel Thunder Bay
Valhalla Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing