We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap,clean comfortable & convienient.”
Review of Superior Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Superior Motel
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cheap,clean comfortable & convienient.”
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Stayed in room 9, near end of September. After paying $120 at the Airlane a few weeks before, for a dreadful experience, I wondered how far my 60 bucks would take me in the Superior. OMG I was astounded! On entering the room ( smoking room ) it was fresh, clean, spotless carpet. Walls appeared to have been painted recently and it had fridge, microwave, TV, coffee maker ( no coffee, but we always carry our own ) and air conditioner. All this for $60. Compared to what double that had got me at the Airlane, I was very happy. Also it is so convienient to the mall, Wal Mart and the downtown shopping areas. Couple this with the fact that theres a Tims, just about a block away, and guess where I'll be staying from now on?!?!
A great budget place to stay. Please ignore the Nay-sayers on this one, if its clean, comfortable, convienience and value you want. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tedstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
15
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I love the Superior Hotel. I live in Geraldton and often need to stay overnight in Thunder Bay and stay nowhere else unless I have no choice. We always get our family room if available and Maria is always so pleasant and so is her husband. The hotel Mascott "Polly" their pug dog is also always welcoming and stands guard in the window. Aside from the pleasant staff, the Superior Hotel offers comfort away from home. The rooms are always clean and fresh smelling, the beds comfortable, a fridge & microwave and coffee machine. What else can someone want while away from home? If you haven't stayed at hte SH, give it a try. Just remember it's not your five star hotel and never will be, but it will leave you feeling warm inside and will make you want to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwalterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

On the positive side, this motel was clean, had excellent air conditioning, new bathroom with lots of hot water and our small Maltese dog was welcomed. For the price of $60 all included per night, it was a good deal where we felt safe and had a place to call home for the 4 days we were there.
On the negative side, there was no extra comforts in this motel. No coffee, no shampoo, a double bed (not a queen), no newspaper, no frills. Also, we could not get the internet to work.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiafofana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitouwadge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We have stay'd at the superior motel several times in the past 2-3 years. Always clean, very plain and nice and quiet. Service could be a bit more affable, but the lady in charge has a no-nonse attitude though she is honest and nice enough. Lack of language skills
a small problem. I gladly recommended to anyone who wants a good nights sleep in a simple, clean motel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank railik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

our Daughter tried to get a hold of us and was told we weren't there , even though we had been checked in for a day and a half , she then phoned her sister and asked again if we were at Superior motel then immediately tried calling over a dozen times around dinner hour only to be greeted by a robot asking her for an access code , her last try and the miserable owner said merely a "hello" when answering the phone .
I have to say that while this motel is clean , the service is despicable . the owner is a miserable miserable woman and we will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThunderBayLiloleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thunder Bay hotels

Columbia SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The old lady was very rude not taking $100 bill suspecting it to be counterfeit and little bit yelling about late check in (about 10 pm). Also we were charged $60, not $55 for two and she said that $55 that I was told did not include the tax, which is not the case to other people when I read other post. The room itself is not that clean either.

Northern shore of the Lake Superior was very beautiful but the experience in that night was the most annoying part of the trip. Worth paying a bit more money to stay in name place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vestage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, ON
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We found this motel very clean and comfortable. It was worth the $55 we paid.

Did not find the lady who checked us in very friendly. I asked her if there was wireless internet and she handed me a paper with a password on it, then said "Some time it work some time it don't work". It didn't work. Not a big deal, really.

There was no shampoo/conditioner in the room, so remember to bring your own.

All in all the place was clean and comfortable. One of the best cheap motels in Thunder Bay- all of the others in the area are pretty sketchy looking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleyandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
11.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#22 of 33 in Thunder Bay
123 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
3.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#6 of 33 in Thunder Bay
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superior Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superior Motel

Property: Superior Motel
Address: 446 Cumberland St N, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4R2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Superior Hotel Thunder Bay
Superior Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing