We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Price and room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Price and room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our room in the Prince Arthur was huge, clean, comfy yet dated (maybe classic), but for the price it was a good stay and a good deal.

In the immediate vicinity there are a few bars, restaurants as well as fast food establishments.
The reception staff were very friendly, cracking jokes when checking in and advising on the best room for our family's needs.

We found our stay enjoyable and restful after a long days driving and so would stay again when next passing through Thunder Bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryBarnstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    81
    82
    39
    33
See reviews for
50
98
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I spent 5 nights at the Prince Arthur while on a business trip and couldn't have been more pleased. My refurbished room on the 5th floor was extremely clean and comfortable and came with a decent-sized fridge and microwave, not to mention a fantastic view of the sleeping giant and the harbour. Sunrises were spectacular. And the room was so quiet! I had 5 great sleeps, even with the trains running below. My only quibble was the low wattage light bulbs — but since I always travel with brighter bulbs, it wasn't a problem.
The common areas of the hotel (lobby, restaurant, corridors) were clean and well-maintained. The stairs (which I used for exercise) were a little beat-up, and the elevator somewhat creaky, but considering it's a 100-year-old hotel I didn't mind. It all adds to the character of the place. I didn't use the pool so can't comment on that. The food in the restaurant was great. Service throughout my stay was friendly, helpful and informative, beginning with the manager who booked my reservation to the security guard who drove me to the airport at 4:30 a.m. for my return flight.
The location is terrific — within walking distance of the public library, several good restaurants, and the lovely waterfront walk across the street. I would certainly recommend the Prince Arthur to other travellers, whether they're in Thunder Bay for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor overlooking the harbour. My room, 505, was very large and bright, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a regular room with a queen bed and a fantastic view of the sleeping giant and the harbor.
The linens were great and we both slept really well. The room had a small refrigerator and coffee maker and coffee. We had coffee in our room and looked at the harbor and the sleeping giant. We were on the fifth floor so our view was great. The front desk was excellent when we checked in and there is free parking. Did not use the pool or even looked at the pool. We drove to the hotel from the airport but they have shuttle service. We ate an excellent breakfast in the dining room. There are good historical facts and pictures about the hotel in the lobby and dining room. The shower and towels were great.

Room Tip: Ask for lakeside view and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smokedogaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is over 100 years old, but has great character. Our room was huge, we were on the water side and had a great view of the marina and freighters coming in. We stayed in a pet friendly room and were able to go for walks close by. The restaurant food was great, and my son loved the pool. Liquor store and McDonalds are a five minute walk.

Room Tip: Waterview is great, sun was beaming in the morning, could almost smell the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary And Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a nice stay! The hotel rooms are normal size, and are a bit older, but obviously have been well kept. The bathrooms, door knobs, TVs, are all older, however everything was very clean, and very well taken care of, almost 'antiquey'. The beds were comfortable, and we had a small (but old) refrigerator along with little drawers under the TV stand. The staircase is beautiful with the original marble, along with old paintings on the ceilings and on the walls. The Wifi worked great, as we were right next to the router.

But, the best thing about our stay was the customer service. The people at the front desk were PHENOMENAL! We had a special request to put our canoe in their facility somewhere, and they accommodated it so kindly! They also directed us to some great local places to eat, things to do, and answered all of our questions, and said, "Keep it comin!" You can tell they really enjoy their job! I didn't catch his name, but thank you tall skinny guy with glasses!

Hotel location is great, right on the main strip in Prince Arthur, with stunning views over looking the harbour, so be sure to ask for a lake-view room by the wireless router. This older, well kept hotel was nice, and I would recommend giving it a try.

Room Tip: Choose a top level lake-view room, next to the wireless router.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

All the staff -- from the moment I made my reservation by phone to the time I checked out -- were wonderfully friendly and helpful.

The old elevator was charming, the room comfortable and the breakfast fine.

On the other hand, the pool was so bone-chilling that I could not swim and all the towels were paper thin.

Room Tip: Lake view is the way to go.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CanadaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefield, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I always try to stay at the Prince Arthur when I am in Thunder Bay on business. I stayed last year in August and I am going again in December. Beautiful view of the Sleeping Giant and the full moon view is spectacular. The dining room is great for sunrise and a hot breakfast. The park across the walkway is lovely. The pool is splendid. Look at the picture! And a nice little sauna. The price is definitely right. I have no complaints. I find hotels like the Days Inn very boring.

Room Tip: book well in advance and ask for a corner room ( 2 windows).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kokomis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
5.5 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 17 North Cumberland Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel And Suites
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel Thunder Bay
Prince Arthur Thunder Bay
Prince Arthur Hotel
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing