We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice hotel in centre of town. We wanted a place to sleep on route to winnipeg and the hotel was perfect. The Staff were friendly and room clean, spacious and comfortable. Even came with microwave and fridge which was a nice surprise. Decided to have extra rest and stay two nights which was easily accomodated. Would stay again and recommend to those wanting hotel pretty central in town.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Abby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, General Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and thank you for staying with us on your way to Winnipeg.
The Waterfront District is the place to be when visiting Thunder Bay. With the new maria steps away and with a number of great restaurants and night clubs within a short walk, why would you want to be anywhere else.

Thank you again,

Tony Scarcello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 322 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Nice older remodelled hotel, first night had smaller room, bathroom stank a bit like urine. Second night had suite - excellent! Plenty of room for a large group of people, beds comfortable, showers could have had a bit more pressure, staff friendly. Is an older hotel but the view is great and it was fairly close to all the places we needed to visit.

Room Tip: Just be sure to ask for an upgraded room, harbour view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, General Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Thunder Bay. I am glad to read that the suite was comfortable with lots of room.
The lack of water pressure could be the result of the low flow shower heads.
Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Yours truly

Tony Scarcello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed on July 1- Our room only had ONE chair to sit on (family of four was booked into this room), some electrical outlets didn't work (kids could not recharge their hand-held games), but the worst had to be the pool...the smell alone kept everyone away and the water was dirty. We informed the reception desk about our issues and was told oh well that's too bad! Will not stay ther again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, General Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you taking the time to send us your comments.
In order to ensure that our guests have ample room in our guest rooms we have placed one chair in each room, not including the desk chair. If more chairs where required, we would have been more then happy to have chairs brought to your room for you. To our knowledge all of the outlets in our guest rooms are working. There is a switch near the guest room door that may have been switched off therefore turning off the outlet.
Our pool area is clean on a daily basis and the pool itself is vacuumed on a weekly basis to remove any dirt along the pool floor. We also have our pool and hot tub water tested on a weekly basis to ensure that our chemical levels are to the levels set out in the guidelines. Chemical level testing is also done every 2 hours.

Thank you

Tony Scarcello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

the hotel itself is charming and the rooms are large and clean..but the resturant was a let down...it looks beautiful and the food is good but the service is terrible..maybe i just had a new server but its about the only time in my life i was tempted not to tip...she was horrible ..management really needs to step it up

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disappointed1748902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, General Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest

Your comments regarding the lack of service in Portside restaurant is not acceptable and I do apologize. Your comments have been sent to the restaurant manager.

Yours truly

Tony Scarcello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We recently stayed one night at the Prince Arthur. Honestly, the hotel is just fine. It is older, and therefore has what some people may consider 'issues' such as window air conditioners, older style furnishings, and older TV's. But, big deal, that didn't impact our stay. Our room was very clean. We had a corner room with a view of the waterfront, which was very nice. There were some funny quirks. It seems there was some recent renovations that could have been done better. For instance, in our bathroom, the light switch plate was cut to fit the space. They possibly switched the toilet and vanity spaces because there was a new toilet paper holder across from the toilet but the old in-wall paper holder was still in place on the side wall. Seems to me they could have removed that and with minor work, repair the small wall space. But those are just silly little things that don't impact your stay at all. The shower had great water pressure. The rooms were immaculate. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was good for what we wanted to do in Thunder Bay. We prefer staying in non-chain hotels and appreciated the history of this hotel. If you are looking for posh or modern, find another hotel. If you are looking for a clean, convenient, interesting hotel with professional staff, this is a great option for you.

Room Tip: As for a view of the waterfront. If you can get a corner, even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, General Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Thunder Bay.
The Prince Arthur has just celabrated it's 101st anniversary this year. The Prince is unique and a wonderfull hotel to stay at. We pride ourselves in giving our guests an enjoyable, comfortable stay in a clean guest room at a resonable rate.
I am glad to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one.

Yours truly

Tony Scarcello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is full of charactor ,clean and comfortable and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Perfect location with easy access to wonderful family marina park which includes wading fountain , cool skateboard park, lots of green space.
Restaurant was reasonably priced, good food ,good service.Close to downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, General Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Yours truly

Tony Scarcello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had to stay at this hotel because the Days Inn's were booked solid. I had to be in TBay 2 1/2 weeks with weekends back home. The first weeks stay at this hotel was as follows: the bathroom curtain smelled like body order, the TV was so small you needed binoculars to watch it, air conditioner not big enough to keep the room cool (it had to be on all night and still not enough)and when taking a shower the water temperature would change dramatically. The second weeks stay at this hotel (again because the others were booked solid) the room was better, TV was bigger, bathroom didn't smell BUT there's cob webs in the corner, hair found on the pillows and whiskers in the bathroom sink. When I went down to the pool area one night the sauna didn't work and the hot tub was closed. When I asked the front desk people why that was, their comment was "it should be working". I stayed for 5 nights and they didn't bother changing the sheets on the bed. When I called down to the front desk on the third day to ask why the sheets weren't changed the girl argued with me. Just change the sheets!!! The third week I had to stay at this hotel for another 4 nights (again because the others were still booked solid), they gave me the same room as the previous week but again, by the forth night the sheets were not changed. When I went down to the front desk to ask why that was, the same girl began to argue with me, saying I had to let her know I wanted it done. HELLO! I'm in a hotel! That's your job to a least have them changed once!!! The general manager came over to talk with me and said the sheets should have been changed every 2 days and only apologized. Didn't offer any compensation for my grief. Highly recommend not staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Go to Days Inn you'd be better off. The Days Inn are the better hotels in the city. Book early t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, General Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and sending us your comments regarding your stay with us. During our conversation you had indicated that your bed sheets had not been changed during your stay. Bedding is changed upon every check out or after the 2nd night if the guest is staying for more then 2 nights with us, We will also change bedding every day upon request from the guest. Please accept my sincere apology for any Inconvenience that this may have caused you.

As to your other items that did not come up during our conversation, they have been reviewed with the department manager to ensure that these concerns are addressed so that they do not reoccur in the future.

Yours truly

Tony Scarcello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
5.5 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,618 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
259 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 17 Cumberland St N, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range: $90 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel Thunder Bay
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel And Suites
Prince Arthur Thunder Bay
Prince Arthur Hotel
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing