We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with great view and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I found the hotel in the Lonely Planet Canada guide, along with seeing a few reviews on Expedia and Tripadvisor. It's definitely a dated hotel but it probably used to be the best hotel in the area. The front desk staff that were working in the evening were very pleasant and super helpful in suggesting places to eat, things to do, etc. Service with a smile for sure. It's definitely one of the most inexpensive hotels to stay at and its location allows you to actually check out "one of the" downtowns, along with being close to the lake and the beautiful waterfront walk. The beautiful view from our room, and the air conditioning was a nice treat after a long drive in the car.
I definitely recommend the hotel and will stay there in the future if I am coming through Thunder Bay again.

Room Tip: Expedia got me a good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nkootnikoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you, for taking time to send us your review. I am happy to read that our front desk staff where helpful to you.
Our hotel has celebrated its 100th anniversary in March. The hotel was recognized as one of the best furbished hotels on the continent at that time.
Today our goal is to ensure that our guests receive friendly service, clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate. We have over the past few years made a number of improvements with more to be done.
We appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Tony Scarcello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 325 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

When you advertise on CAA that you have a sauna and hottub and you don't, there should be some refund on the cost, but not at the Prince Arthur. The streets around it aren't quite a de-militarized zone. Queen sized bed with 2 flat pillows. Nobody had a spare housekeeping key so staff had to pillage another room for more supplies.(?!) Sauna was removed between a month and almost a year previous depending on whether you believe the manager or the staff. Hot tub was completely shut down for replacement. No notice of this at the check-in desk. Wifi signal gives out before you get to your room. But the manager states that "they don't charge for these amenities so he wouldn't be giving a discount". And he didn't care that I would be writing a review, so have a ball there Tony! We'll never return and we'll tell everyone we can!

Room Tip: Use Trip Advisor and Expedia and Google Maps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danGoderich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you, for staying with us during your visit to Thunder Bay. Comments from our guests are important to us as it helps us improve on our service and facility.

As per your review you ndicate that you searched the Prince Arthur Hotel on the CAA web site, which I was very surprised to read. I did speak with CAA and they did inform me that the Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites is NOT on the CAA North Western Ontario or National web site. So as to what site you are getting your information from I am not sure.

I did state that we had just removed our saunas for a number of reasons and that all authorized web sites have been updated.

Our hot tub was out for repairs and Ihappy to say that it is back in operation.

Thank you,
Tony Scarcello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Our experience at the Prince Arthur was an event we hosted in Salon E - with a gorgeous view of the lake. The food was delicious and plentiful and the service excellent. Everyone enjoyed the evening and went home satisfied. I know of at least one of our guests who had never experienced dining at the Prince Arthur before is now anxious to return to the dining room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank toucan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your event that was held at the Prince Arthur.
I am very happy to read that you and your guests enjoyed the food and that you where happy with the service you received.
Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to cater your special event and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Your's truly
Tony Scarcello
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

to JM1101 thankyou very much for bringing this up about the front desk manager here at the prince arthur i had the same encounter wit this gentlemen a couple of years back when i stayed at this hotel i never had a problem with anyone else in this hotel, it is very historic and the restaurant is great, but everytime i saw him "matt" he would give the hairy eye ball like i have done something wrong. when working in an industry like this you need to treat your guests like gold this manager definitely needs to improve on his customer service skills, other then that the hotel is great!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrifictom121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. It’s nice to read that you have enjoyed your stays with us and that my staff is always friendly. Good or not so good comments are shared with the staff and if it’s one particular staff member that is mentioned than the comments are shared with that individual so that they can improve on that specific item(s). The sooner we receive these comments and are reviewed with that staff person, the more affective it is.
We look forward to serving you again soon
Yours truly

Tony Scarcello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed with this hotel at check in we asked a few questions about Thunder bay as it was our first time in the city, the manager at the front, I do believe his name was Matt, was not at interested in answering our questions as he was on the phone with seemed to be a girlfriend talking like they were in high school. We saw him next afternoon and he rolled his eyes and said something to another employee weather or not it was something about us is not important what is is that to work in that industry you need to be a people person. We will not be staying there again thanks to him.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jm1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2011

Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us during your first visit to Thunder Bay and also for your comments. Comments are important to us as it helps us improve on our service and facilities.
At the Prince Arthur we pride ourselves in giving all of our guest’s good customer service. Your comments have been shared with our front desk manager.
I hope that you will reconsider and stay with us on your next trip to Thunder Bay.

Yours truly
Tony Scarcello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

I have not stayed at the Prince Arthur hotel, but often dine there for breakfast. The food is fabulous, they are wiling to accomodate if you need to make changes and Michelle and Sharon are always cheerful, welcoming and greet me by name. Great service every time!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Susan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending us your comments about the restaurant and the service that you have received from Michelle and Sharron.

Your comments will be shared with them and the rest of the staff.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Thank you

Tony Scarcello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

This hotel did a fabulous job accomodating our hockey team. Every employee was at the top of customer service. They were reasonably priced and made our trip from the United States enjoyable. The hotel is close to restaraunts, casino, stores. You would not need to go anywhere else to eat, the hotel restaraunt was very good and the staff was on top of everything. The hotel was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank predators2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_S123, Manager at Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Thunder Bay and thank you for taking the time to send us your comments.

I am happy to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable. Your commets will be shared with the rest of the hotel staff.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Your's truly

Tony Scarcello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
5.5 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,630 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 17 Cumberland St N, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range: $95 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel Thunder Bay
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel And Suites
Prince Arthur Thunder Bay
Prince Arthur Hotel
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing