We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Country Motel

Old Country Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Country Motel
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Affordable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband is traveling across country and I am booking hotels for him. I booked this hotel last night. They accommodated us no problem; it was cheap, clean and quiet, though it smelled quite stale. The staff were very courteous. This is the perfect spot for a budget traveler.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    6
    8
    15
See reviews for
9
12
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burr Oak
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We are a large family, and we had already been turned away from one motel because of no vacancy. It was late, and we were desperate to hurry and find a room. We had never heard of this motel before, but we saw it as we were passing through, so we pulled in. The outside is kind of creepy, but we learned that the owner just bought the motel this year, and has been busy with renovations inside the rooms- hopefully he eventually addresses the outside. When we went in our room we were pleasantly surprised! It was very clean, which is a requirement for us because 2 of our kids usually have to sleep on blankets on the floor. It also had no smell of smoke whatsoever. Which is also a requirement because 2 of our kids have asthma and are allergic to the smell. The room was nicely furnished, and we could tell that there were improvements to it. The mattress looked new, as did the flooring. There are more things that will probably be improved, but for the price, it was well worth it. The owner was very nice and helpful too. We would stay here again if we ever passed through.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjs77rls82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I had the misfortune of spending two nights in this dump. I would never EVER recommend this place to anyone, and here is why:

- there were dead flies in the screen door
- the entire room stank of cigarrette smoke (even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room)
-you had to jiggle the front door just-right before it actually locked
-the walls are paper thin and you can hear every little creak from the other rooms
-there were burn marks in the bed sheets
-the towels were random, mismatched, and scratchy
-the smoke detector was dangling from the ceiling
-the freezer was covered in electrical tape due to age/prior damage
-the remote control was covered in duct tape
-the room was dusty (who cleans this place?!)
-the pillows were paper-thin
-the floors will make the bottoms of your feet black
-the tub/shower was dreadfull
-the metal "vanity" in the washroom was full of corrosion

I did not feel safe here. I would certainly never recommend this motel to anyone at any time.

Room Tip: Tip: sleep in your car on the side of the road. It is safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thunder Bay hotels

Woodstock
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have been coming to Thunder Bay May to June for some time staying at name brand motels. This year we are trying something different and after a little internet checking selected the Old Country Motel. We saw it last year and were less than impressed! But, after discussion with the owner felt it was worth a try.
We looked at 3 rooms before settling on room 4. It has been a good choice. The dividing wall gives us a living area with the sleeping area by itself. It is clean, cheery and rather relaxing after a day's work.
The new owner (as of January, 2012) is steadily improving each room one at a time and as a professional contractor knows how to do it right and well on an economic budget. (No slip-shod patches - tear it out and start from scratch.)
Yes, the walls are concrete block and some with paneling and noise travels; but, I have been in noisy expensive motels too! The motel does not make the noise.
We have been in over 100 different motels over the last few years and spend half the year on the road and return to the ones we like. This is a "like"!
And if you take room 4, take care of it. We want it back next year in its pristine condition.

Room Tip: see the write-up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We were travelling through thunder bay recently we stoped for the night at old country motel place was very cute,clean and the owner was very friendly all the time,we were very surprised at all the negative ratings that we read.give it a try you will like it and you will come again and stay here.it is under new ownership and he is redoing all the rooms,and it looks very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabino i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Not the best motel but but best for the money you pay and best for the service they give you. Clean, renovated and the owner goes out of his way to accommodate his customer.

What else do you want. I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't expect a 5 star penthouse.

LGR.

Room Tip: Price and cleanness should be the determining factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grvideo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

we came to attend the hospital , I stayed the old country motel while my wife was at the hospital ,we didnt know how long we need to stay ,ended up that I stayed 7 days ,the friendly owner gave me one night for free , the room was clean ,and affordable $ 53.00,the internet connection was good , I came here because some one recommended to me ,and I will recommend it too .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#18 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nights Inn Motel
Nights Inn Motel
#14 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#24 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.1 mi away
A & K Motel
A & K Motel
#9 of 15 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Country Motel

Property: Old Country Motel
Address: 500 Cumberland St N, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4R8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Country Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Old Country Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Country Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing