We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Quebec, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“OK for one night”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

OK for one night, but would not spend a week-end. Twice I went to that hotel and was at the back. The room window gives on the stone company neighboring it, Not a nice view. In addition, lots of garbage on the ground.

Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Wi-fi was slow, but reliable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    75
    56
    32
    14
See reviews for
48
57
18
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here in mid February 2013 while in area for work. Everything you can expect in a Comfort Inn; nice clean, comfortable hotel. The rooms are comfortable as always. The hotel is in a great location near restaurants and close to the airport. The rates are reasonable too. Nice continental breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words...it is always a pleasure to know that we have satisfied our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I travel across Canada twice a year (with my dog) and I always stay at pet friendly Comfort Inns. Thunder Bay is my favourite (with Ste. Saint Marie a close 2nd)

The staff are friendly and helpful. There are treats left out for your pooch which is always nice. And best of all, unlike other Comfort Inns, they don't make you stay in a smoking room because you have a dog AND they don't charge extra for pets. I always try to leave the housekeeping staff a decent tip because of that. It is much appreciated.

The amenities are on par with other Comfort Inns. If you have a dog, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kocojojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and thoughts regarding your stay with us, here in Thunder Bay. We take pleasure in ensuring our guests' satisfaction and it is always great to hear that we have been successful in doing what we have set out to do!
We will look forward to welcoming you and your dog back to our Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here one night and had to sleep on the pull out couch. As all pull out couches are uncomfortable, so was this. It also didn't have a warm comforter, just a thin sheet. The room was cold and there was no thermostat in the room so I shivered a good portion of the night. The shower also didn't work in the morning so the staff gave us a key for the room next door to use that shower. Cleanliness was good though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I'm sorry to learn that you were uncomfortable while staying as our guest. We would have been happy to move you and your party to a guestroom with 2 beds, to get you off the sofabed. All of our rooms do have individual heat and air conditioning controls and are controllable based on personal preference. Should you ever encounter any problems with any of our hotels, please do not hesitate to contact our Guest Service Representatives, so that we may take the necessary steps to ensure your comfort and satisfaction.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Inn!
Best regards...Sherri Locke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

i travel every week all over north america, and everytime that i have to stop on my way to western canada, i planned to stay at that comfort inn in thunder bay, people at lobby are nice, rooms are clean, and what i check the most is the bathroom towels, they have to be white, so no problem with this hotel. don't forget, the delicious breakfast and served early in morning for workers, thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andre l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Comfort Inn, Thunder Bay. It is a pleasure to know that our guests are comfortable and satisfied with our services. I do hope we will have the opporunity to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Comfort Inn located on Arthur Street in Thunder Bay, ON is our family's choice for accomodationss when visiting the city. The staff are friendly and efficient and really make us feel welcome and that they value our business., The hotel is located near major travel routes and close enough to points of interest in Thunder Bay to make it a convenient location. While the hotel does have a free continental breakfast there are a number of good restaurants near by if you prefer a larger meal. The accomodations are very clean and we have never had a problem with noisy people disrupting our sleep. It is also one of the few hotels in the city that have a few smoking rooms still available to those of us who still have that bad habit. Great rates are available
and are great for families with a limited budget.

Room Tip: Book early for best dates as the hotel is used by many different people (business, medical, family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankBruyere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words following your most recent stay with us! It is always great to hear that we are doing everything we can to ensure our guests' satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

The front staff were very pleasant for our 2night stay while getting our daughter settled at Lakehead, but for the price we were disappointed. First the smoke smell upon entering the side door was disgusting, this was after stepping over the various oil spills left in the parking lot by the few trucks staying. The room was decent and clean, but the pillows were terribly lumpy.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank golfcaledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your review from your most recent stay with our Inn. I am pleased to know that our staff was pleasant and helpful during your visit. I'm sorry you found our pillows lumpy. We usually have great comments about our pillows (in fact we have guest requests to purchase new pillows from us). Should you ever encounter problems with anything in our guestrooms, please do not hesitate to contact the front desk during your stay, so that we may take the necessary steps to resolve the issue and provide a comfortable and memorable stay. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our inn. Please don't hesitate to contact me personally so that I might attend to your reservation requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 660 Arthur St W, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Thunder Bay is a 100% Smoke-Free hotel with newly renovated front desk, lobby area with fireplace and business centre. All guestrooms feature new carpet, drapes, bedding, bathroom vanity and floor tile. Additional room features include a 32 inch flat screen tv, fridge, microwave, ergonomic chair and free Wi-Fi. Relax in our spacious new breakfast room and enjoy a free full hot breakfast featuring eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles and more. Located 5 minutes driving distance from the Thunder Bay Intl Airport (YQT) and in close proximity to Arthur Street Marketplace, Regional Health Sciences Center and Lakehead University. We are pet-friendly and offer ground floor rooms with patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Thunder Bay
Comfort Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing