We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but unimpressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Thunder Bay has very few good hotels. This was one of the better ones that took pets.

My issues:

* The wifi didn't work (yes I used the right code)
* The bathrooms were very 70s
* The lobby (if you can call it that) was tiny and uninviting
* They charge $15 extra for pets
* The rate was $120/night....a bit much for a hotel of this quality

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rc_trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 382 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

A convenient place to stop. Right on the highway and near the airport [but we did nt notice a lot of noise]. Furnishings were very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Within walking distance of several restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucsonPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time, from your busy schedule, to post a review of our hotel. We appreciate your business, and hope to see you again.

Stuart, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on way to Jasper AB, a little pricy but gave a corporate rate, looks fairly new.
Rooms were very clean beds were comfy linen in good shape.
They have hot breakfast which was ok. When checking out the front desk didn't seem the happiest person working but that's ok

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roblenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us, and hope that if you are ever passing through Thunder Bay again you will allow us to be your hotel of choice. You mentioned that we " looked fairly new" . As a 40 year old hotel, we put in a lot of effort and are constantly renovating to maintain the building un " as new" conditon as we can. Stuart, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

From the door left ajar into the parking lot by the housekeeping before we had checked in, to the insulting single paper towel labelled "complimentary guest towel", to the lumpy beds and broken bathroom faucet, to the nagging plastic signs on beds, tables, and bathroom counter, this was a hotel that spent all their time telling us what was expected of our behaviour, and did nothing to meet our expectations for a hotel. A second night spent on our return trip did nothing to improve our opinion. At nearly double the cost of local strip-style motels, I was expecting far better than we got.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write both on this Trip Advisor site, as well as on the Best Western survey site. I totally agree with your comment about the outside door left adjar. While cleaning the room, the housekeepers had opened the door, and failed to ensure that it was totally closed, when then finished the room.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our mattresses. We use Beauty Rest Westbury II plush mattresses. Most of our guests love them and some have even purchased some through us.

I have also inspected the room that you occuped and found that all taps were working order.

The plastic signs on the bed - As a " Green Key" rated hotel, we use environmental friendly products and procedures. Part of these environmental friendly requirements are such things as a towel and linen program. Although we will gladly replace all of the guest linens and towels daily for multiple stay guests, we do offer them the OPTION to reuse the towels, and sleep on the same linens for a 2nd night. This saves chemical and water usage. The complimentary paper towel you mentioned is provided for a guest to wipe their shoes, or to clean the car winshield. etc, to save on the towels. We will not reuse a towel that we cannot remove stains from, except as a rag.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Reservations were quick and easy. Very efficient, friendly and accommodating on the phone. Check in was fast and easy. Room was excellent, clean and very comfortable. King size bed was great. Breakfast was excellent and included almost everything from hot and cold cereals, toast, hard boiled eggs as well as scrambled eggs, sausage, and bacon. Also waffles with strawberry compote and wiping cream. Of course coffee, juice, etc. and more. No reason to start the day hungry. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. The value received was better than I expected, since we do most of our travelling in the States and the rates are usually lower, we were pleasantly surprised with the cost for the night. Recommend this motel and would stay here again, if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ghi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us, and hope that you will return in the near future.

Stuart, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is your typical Best Western ... which means a comfortable stay. Room was quite nice and very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pet friendly rooms available, continental breakfast, and workout room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDN_Traveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment to trip advisor on our property. We appreciate all the guest feedback we can get, so we can grow. We hope to see you again soon.

Stuart, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ended up staying here and canceling reservation at the Best Western Plus Nor'Wester . Discovered like an earlier reviewer that the Nor'Wester is NOT northwest of Thunder Bay, and not worth the distance. Stopped at Crossroads at 2:30pm on a Saturday, got a room for about $50 less and was able to call and cancel our reservation at the Nor'Wester. Crossroads also had a free breakfast and very centrally located in Thunder Bay, not too far from the Hoito Restaurant. No view like the Nor"wester claims but very nice rooms, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kct57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you during your recent stay in Thunder Bay. We hope that if you are passing through the city again, you choose our hotel.

Stuart, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,556 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads

Address: 655 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range: $110 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the head of Lake Superior in Ontario, the BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads is determined to offer the best customer service for both business and leisure travelers. This Thunder Bay hotel offers convenient access to skiing and fishing as well as a variety of local shops and restaurants. The BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads offers 84 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms including suites and Business Plus rooms. Each room features cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. This hotel features a complimentary continental breakfast each morning, free parking, an airport courtesy shuttle and a business centre. Small pets are welcome!The hotel has received a 3 Green Key Rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads Ontario
Thunder Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing