We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very happy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We are a couple from Thunder Bay, and booked this hotel for our Wedding Night. Easy check in, very clean room, quiet, good location, close to airport. Good rates, great breakfast, comfy sleeping. Very happy with our stay!! Big flat screen tv, friendly staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side, probably less traffic noise as it backs onto residential instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_k_family_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you back on anniversaries. Stuart Bagnall, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    138
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
73
91
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

About six years ago I used to stay at the Crossroads on a regular basis, but was turned off by a very negative experience with rude hotel staff.
Recently we gave it another try and it was passable but nothing great. In that experience I was turned off by the fact that they wouldn't let me check into the hotel room because I was not with my wife, who booked the room, who was very late as a result of a flight that was delayed a number of hours.
Despite showing ID with the same address, they would not check me in without making another booking in my name and then cancelling hers once things arrived. It was a needless headache. Sometimes going the extra mile makes the difference. In this case a failure to be reasonable really ruined the experience.
This evening we decided to give it another chance and again, poor staff attitude really made the difference.
Once again my wife booked, this time we were together. Unlike other hotels that assume two people, which, if asked, she would have stated, they booked one, which led to an additional charge when we showed up.
The woman working the desk, simply did not seem to be all that interested in being friendly or cordial, and despite charging us for the additional person only gave us one room key - I suppose the charge is for the extra wrinkles in my side of the bed.
We are staying in a business suite, which while having ample space and being relatively clean simply does not make the grade.
The tub does not empty, the Internet is less than spotty (I've been fighting with it for hours to even get connected and miraculously at 1 a.m. I managed to get a slow signal). Just another bad experience, and given that it's not an isolated incident I'd have to point the finger at management or ownership in simply not training their staff that well.
For the money, with the frustratingly poor service (and you can read my other reviews to find out I'm not all that picky) I'd say take your chances on Hotwire or on a Travelocity Top Secret Rate, because you're simply not getting bang for your buck at this establishment.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Guest comments only allow us to get better. Like you, we have not been satisfied with the wi-fi in our guest rooms. We are pleased to announce that we have just signed a contract with a new internet provider. Parts are on order and should be installed very soon.

You mentioned that we would not allow you entrance to a room that was booked under your wifes name. We are very concerned with the safety of our guests. Unless we have specific instructions from the person who books the room, we are not at liberty to give out a guest room key. You might have the same address, but we have no way of knowing if there is recent problems at home that the wife may not want you to have access.

As we offer breakast to our guests, we base our rates on the number of guests in the room. Unless we are running special rates, we normally charge a base rate for one person and an additional $10.00 per guest.

I look forward to discussing this matter with you further. Please contact me at crossroadsbw@shaw.ca or 807-577-4241 ext 4 Stuart Bagnall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Clean, well maintained, comfortable beds, but no restaurant, no nearby good restaurants (chains/fast food only), slow internet and small TVs with limited cable. Here on business for one night so tolerable, but will look for another option if I'm in Thunder Bay again. Just OK, nothing more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejbmgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celtic
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is special because of the friendliness of the staff, the homely atmosphere, and the professionalism of the cleaning and maintenance. If you need something then just ask and they will try to help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerning_visitor55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on more than occasion. All my experiences have been positive. The staff were helpful, the rooms were clean, and I feel that it was good value. I also found the location to be convenient.
It's not fancy, however it has all the basics. One added bonus is that there are numerous stores and restaurants nearby. My only frustration was with the internet, in that it was not dependable and when it did work was really slow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guylaine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for takikng the time to rate our hotel. We really appreciate knowing how our guests feel about our property. The hotel's in room " wi-fi" has been an ongoing concern of ours. We have had our internet provider working on a solution, but have not been pleased with the results. We now have 3 new internet providers working on a proposal to replace our system with one that is faster and more reliable. We hope to have a much improved system in the very near future. Stuart Bagnall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We just checked into the Best Western Crossroads here in Thunder Bay. I must be more diligent to look for the PLUS sign. This place has no restaurant, no laundry facilities, no freezer in the room, no pool, no hot tub, just WiFi and with me CAA it costs us $125 plus tax - it must be rated a MINUS property LOL!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dalenliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post information regarding your recent stay with us.

We feel that we have a very good product. Our rooms are extremely clean, and comfortable and our building is always well maintained and constantly upgraded.

Our rates are very compeditive with our area competion.

We have a fittness area and a very nice breakfast room, although you are correct we do not have a pool or hot tub.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. Stuart Bagnall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Sometimes if you don't expect much, you are pleasantly supprised. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is decidedly average, however there is nothing wrong with it. The staff are polite and helpful, the rooms are clean and a reasonable size.

On the downside the breakfast is pretty limited and for some strange reason you can't open the windows in your room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunningBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads

Property: BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads
Address: 655 Arthur St W, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the head of Lake Superior in Ontario, the BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads is determined to offer the best customer service for both business and leisure travelers. This Thunder Bay hotel offers convenient access to skiing and fishing as well as a variety of local shops and restaurants. The BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads offers 84 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms including suites and Business Plus rooms. Each room features cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. This hotel features a complimentary continental breakfast each morning, free parking, an airport courtesy shuttle and a business centre. Small pets are welcome!The hotel has received a 3 Green Key Rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads Ontario
Thunder Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing