We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*Awesome Hotel & Experience!*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“*Awesome Hotel & Experience!*”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We used the Best Western Nor'Wester twice last year, for 2 different events, last July & August. (My bridal shower, as well as our wedding reception). They were more than accommodating for both events, & the management was great to work with to plan our reception! We had many of our guests staying at the hotel that weekend. As well as myself, (the bride), and my wedding party, and then my husband and I on our wedding night. The family suite was perfect for the bridesmaids & myself to stay & get ready in, and the honeymoon suite the following night was amazing! (Big king sized bed, fireplace, *huge* shower, etc). The rooms were clean, lots of towels, etc. The restaurant/bar downstairs was great, and convenient to run down to as well.

We really enjoyed our stay, and have nothing negative to say about this hotel! We'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking to host a large function, or even as a place to stay while in Thunder Bay. This is always my #1 recommendation for hotels in town!

*J

Room Tip: If you're looking for a really nice stay, as a couple, they offer amazing honeymoon suites. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Jay,

Thank you for choosing us as venue to host your special day last year. Your kind words and your rating of our hotel is the best compliment we can receive as it shows how we take care of business and people.
I am pleased to read your comments of our rooms after experiencing the suites to include the SPA Suite with the *huge* shower.
Please do not hesitate to call us so we can assist you with your first year anniversary.

Thanks again,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    247
    63
    20
    12
See reviews for
235
208
49
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Well maintained facility. About 7 minutes from the airport and 10 to the main drag of the Fort William side of Thunder Bay. Nice view of the ski hills. Be careful in the winter because the hotel hosts hockey tournaments at the rink next door so can be noisy and busy in the evenings. Standard fare in the small restaurant.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms seemed to be under renovation. Room on the side away from the parking lot face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear BeachandBeyond,

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the view of Loch Lomond Ski Hill from the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!

Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night-great stay overall! Clean facility, friendly staff in both hotel and restaurant. We were skeptical about bed comfort (felt too hard) but turned out ok and slept well. Room clean, well appointed. Found a deal through an outside source-unfortunately unable to match through the hotel directly so I booked from outside-worked out fine. Nice patio access-thankful for pet friendly!! Would return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequenttravellerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear FrequenttravellerNT,

Thank you for your kind words. It is always an honour to hear that a guest has enjoyed their stay. We strive to make every experience a positive one and very happy to hear that our pillow top bed provided you with the comfort you needed.
We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Thunder Bay

Sincerely,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder BAy, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Nor'Wester is the perfect stay when in and around Thunder Bay. Its located on the oputskirts of the city next ot the neebing and Beaudaddys restaraunts and they are also superb. The Nor'Wester is a great quiet hotel in a great location and has excellent ammenities like their fitness center and pool/hot tub & Sauna.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vernon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Vernon A.

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. I was glad to read that you enjoyed our full service property as well as the serenity that our location provides. We value your loyalty to our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back so that you may enjoy our newly renovated pool and fitness area once again.

Thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feed back

Kind Regards.

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M'chigeeng
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great stay! Hotel and hotel amenities are first class with high level of professional staff at front desk and housekeeping. Only concern was the service in the hotel restaurant for breakfast was not at the same standard as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Robert B,

I would like to thank you for your rating of our property and posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel and staff 'First class with high level of professional staff".

We have been implementing service improvements and changes in our breakfast that I am confident you will truly enjoy on your next trip to Thunder Bay!

We look forward to your return!

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great room. Refurbished. Big large comfortable bed. Wonderful bathroom.
Free parking. Free internet. Helpful staff. Did not eat at the hotel. Just a bit outside of town, but this is my second visit and the distance is not a big deal. Microwave. Sink. Couches in corner.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Lauren M. Tripadvisor Top Contributor

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest room as well as the many complimentary amenities we provide for our valued guests. We anticipate welcoming you back to our hotel so that you can experience our Cliffhanger restaurant.
Thanks again for sharing your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor readership.

Kind Regards.


Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

peace and quiet night and day filled with activities. Quite a surprise find and it will be my new destination for all trips to thunder bay, ON. The people were very friendly and courteous, good food in the restaurant and the place is immaculate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Tommy D.

Thank you for providing such a positive review on TripAdvisor. Our hard working staff take pride in providing superior customer service to our valued guests and I am glad to hear that your experience with us was a direct reflection of that. We look forward to providing you with superior customer care upon your next stay with us an welcoming you to your new home in Northern Ontario.

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
8.4 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
857 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,476 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
10.5 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#3 Best Value Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this newly renovated Thunder Bay, Ontario hotel offering full-service accommodations near Fort William Historical Park, Loch Lommond ski resort, Thunder Bay Tournament Centre, and Kamview Nordic Ski Centre. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre has it all! Featuring an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, private steam and sauna rooms, and a full scale fitness centre. Situated in beautiful Thunder Bay, Ontario, this hotel provides guests with exceptional customer service, superb full-service amenities and an unbeatable Nor'Wester Mountain location, only 7 minutes from downtown. Guests will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable television, Flat Screen TV's, Fridges, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Suites are also available to accommodate the entire family. For a more comfortable stay on the road, our well appointed standard rooms or our luxurious suites will meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Nor`Wester Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing