We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff, dangerous levels of pool chemicals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude staff, dangerous levels of pool chemicals”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We just got home from a weekend stay at the Nor'Wester with our hockey team. The staff was so rude, especially the evening staff. We tried to book the party room by the pool and were told that we HAD to order food from the restaurant, and couldn't bring outside food in. Fine, we can understand that they want to make even more money off us, and that pizza from Little Ceasars would take money away from them. The restaurant doesn't even open until 7 a.m. so there is no way you can eat breakfast before the first game of the day. Thank goodness Robins is just down the road. The doors of the rooms don't close on their own. You need to tug at the door to close it, which causes a huge bang when it shuts, which makes us feel bad when we are going out early in the morning.

The WORST part of the trip was the pool. ALL of our kids ended up with chemical burns from the pool. My 5-year old had welts on his back where his lifejacket touched, and on his legs, especially behind his knees. An 8-year old girl had eyes so red, that it looked like she was wearing a mask! Another 9-year old boy required Benadryl to control the wheezing and redness to try to counter the effects of the pool. A 10-year old boy, and a 9-year old girl had red marks on their faces that looked like they had been burned. Absolutely unacceptable. Based on our experience, we will NEVER stay there again. So, considering we had 11 rooms booked for our team, the Nor'Wester can count on never having our business again. Since we come down for a couple of tournaments a year, plus our coaches also coach younger siblings (so those teams won't stay here either), I would say that the will be missing out on quite a bit of business.

So if you are looking for a hotel to stay at with your hockey team, try the Valhalla. Their rates are cheaper and they throw in a free pizza party.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaylorTravels111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear TaylorTravels111,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your review as it is feedback from our customers that help us improve our business to better serve our valued guests.

We do have strict policies that not always are liked by some guests, but these rules only ensure the safety of our guests and the comfort and quality of a good night rest. For all groups we encourage group meals in our banquet rooms so if the group needs to be served at 6:00 a.m. or any time of the day, it is done on time and quality service. Like any other hotel we also charge for this service, but our service is reliable, punctual, and with a great deal of care.

We were very concern after reading your comments of our pool chemicals. We immediately contacted the Thunder Bay Health Unit, and a full compliance inspection was conducted and not found at dangerous levels. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact them directly. We are mandated to check our chemical levels every hour and have records to prove this back to three years. We take our business very seriously and we are proud to take care of our guests with the utmost integrity.

Thank you again for your feedback and look forward to providing you with superior customer care.

Best Regards,


Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    241
    63
    19
    12
See reviews for
226
202
46
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dryden, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little bit out of the way from the main part of the city, but it was a very nice place. The front desk staff were excellent to deal with and very friendly. The hotel looks like a ski lodge inside which is fitting, being near the base of Loch Lomand Ski area. Wouls definitely stay here agsin.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamFfej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear TeamFfej,

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor after your stay in November. I am happy to read that our Front Desk Staff was excellent to deal with and very friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!

Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Nor'Wester many times over the years and have found the rooms comfortable, the staff friendly and efficient, and the food excellent. The best part though is the location. We always book a ground floor, mountain view, room. In all seasons except winter we can sit outside the room and admire the view. My partner smokes so he appreciates being able to have immediate outside access. The grounds are a great place to walk your dog (yes, they are "pet friendly") and the small lake and fountain is a wonderful photo op.
I've only ever had one complaint and it was during our last stay in October of this year. During the night a hydrant was knocked over in the yard and there was no water in the hotel. This happened shortly after midnight and still was not resolved when we left about 10:00 in the morning. We only found out this had happened when we got up and the toilet wouldn't flush and there was no water coming from the tap. There was no contact from staff to inform us of this and no mention of any cost reduction for the room, for either the current or a future stay. We were able to obtain a bottle of water to brush our teeth and splash on our faces, but that was it. We left for an appointment in the city feeling and looking very grubby, We realize that this was an unforeseen circumstance and couldn't be planned for, but it could have been better handled by the hotels management.

Room Tip: Mountain view all the way!! We like the ground floor so we can sit outside as well as unload/load r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Julie M,

We Sincerely appreciate your comments and would like to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. Improved plans have been put in place when dealing with this type of unforeseen circumstances.
We thank you again for your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please allow me to assist you making your next reservation when you are ready to return to Thunder Bay.

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A very clean hotel. The exterior seems a bit dated but the lobby, restaurant and the rooms are very clean and current. Staff is quick with a greeting and very friendly. I look forward to my next stay in december.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Kelly T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we sincerely appreciate your feedback as it enables us to see our products through the eyes of our customers. With our short seasons it is difficult to complete all phases of our renovation plans but rest assure we will continue with phases as time permits. I am also very pleased to read your customer service interaction with our staff.

Thanks again and look forward to your return!

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Can't fault it! It was better than we expected and worth the short drive out of the city to get there. Clean updated rooms. We stayed in a standard room on the second floor on our arrival to T.Bay and we returned to the same hotel a day or so later and we were upgraded to a suite on the ground level!! Nice views of the pond at the back. The hotel restaurant had a wonderful menu selection and the food was very good! Free wifi was great too. We'll stay there again next time for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Canabrit2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Canabrit2007,

Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and the great review of our property, we sincerely appreciate your business and are happy to hear that you were equally pleased with both of your stays.

We look forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Lookout, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

After a very late flight and arriving at the hotel after midnight with their shuttle service, it was great to get into a most comfortable room that sufficed my physical needs and weariness. The King bed in the suite was welcoming and comfortable.The spa shower was a very exhilarating experience to freshen up in, when the morning alarm went off. Having stayed there on numerous visits I find that I can rely on the staff and management to provide me with "great accommodations" on each trip. Travelers will enjoy the comforts of this establishment and most likely return, as I have done many years.

Room Tip: The spa suites are very unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear thoppe Senior Reviewer,

Your excellent review of our hotel on TripAdvisor is highly appreciated as it allow us to see ourselves and our product through the eyes of our valued customers.

We thank you for your loyalty to the Brand and our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back home. You are like family to us!

Thanks again for highly recommending us.

Yours truly,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

quiet, comfy and frindly service. Equipment in fitness room is somewhat dated ie) exercise bikes are very old and uncomfortable; suggest recumbent bikes, didnt use the spa or have continental breakfast so cant comment

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Leslie K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property on TripAdvisor. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and sincerely appreciated your feedback. We are currently in the process of acquiring new bikes for our Gym.

Thanks again for the great rating and review. We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel on your next conference or leisure travel.

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
8.4 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
847 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,441 reviews
8.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#6 of 33 in Thunder Bay
211 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this newly renovated Thunder Bay, Ontario hotel offering full-service accommodations near Fort William Historical Park, Loch Lommond ski resort, Thunder Bay Tournament Centre, and Kamview Nordic Ski Centre. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre has it all! Featuring an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, private steam and sauna rooms, and a full scale fitness centre. Situated in beautiful Thunder Bay, Ontario, this hotel provides guests with exceptional customer service, superb full-service amenities and an unbeatable Nor'Wester Mountain location, only 7 minutes from downtown. Guests will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable television, Flat Screen TV's, Fridges, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Suites are also available to accommodate the entire family. For a more comfortable stay on the road, our well appointed standard rooms or our luxurious suites will meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Nor`Wester Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing