We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“November Visit to the Norwester” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
“November Visit to the Norwester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A very clean hotel. The exterior seems a bit dated but the lobby, restaurant and the rooms are very clean and current. Staff is quick with a greeting and very friendly. I look forward to my next stay in december.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Kelly T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we sincerely appreciate your feedback as it enables us to see our products through the eyes of our customers. With our short seasons it is difficult to complete all phases of our renovation plans but rest assure we will continue with phases as time permits. I am also very pleased to read your customer service interaction with our staff.

Thanks again and look forward to your return!

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    189
    54
    17
    9
See reviews for
177
160
37
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Can't fault it! It was better than we expected and worth the short drive out of the city to get there. Clean updated rooms. We stayed in a standard room on the second floor on our arrival to T.Bay and we returned to the same hotel a day or so later and we were upgraded to a suite on the ground level!! Nice views of the pond at the back. The hotel restaurant had a wonderful menu selection and the food was very good! Free wifi was great too. We'll stay there again next time for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Canabrit2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Canabrit2007,

Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and the great review of our property, we sincerely appreciate your business and are happy to hear that you were equally pleased with both of your stays.

We look forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Lookout, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

After a very late flight and arriving at the hotel after midnight with their shuttle service, it was great to get into a most comfortable room that sufficed my physical needs and weariness. The King bed in the suite was welcoming and comfortable.The spa shower was a very exhilarating experience to freshen up in, when the morning alarm went off. Having stayed there on numerous visits I find that I can rely on the staff and management to provide me with "great accommodations" on each trip. Travelers will enjoy the comforts of this establishment and most likely return, as I have done many years.

Room Tip: The spa suites are very unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear thoppe Senior Reviewer,

Your excellent review of our hotel on TripAdvisor is highly appreciated as it allow us to see ourselves and our product through the eyes of our valued customers.

We thank you for your loyalty to the Brand and our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back home. You are like family to us!

Thanks again for highly recommending us.

Yours truly,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

quiet, comfy and frindly service. Equipment in fitness room is somewhat dated ie) exercise bikes are very old and uncomfortable; suggest recumbent bikes, didnt use the spa or have continental breakfast so cant comment

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Leslie K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property on TripAdvisor. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and sincerely appreciated your feedback. We are currently in the process of acquiring new bikes for our Gym.

Thanks again for the great rating and review. We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel on your next conference or leisure travel.

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, MN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel was very nice and comfortable - too bad it is next to a hockey arena as there were a bunch of teenage girls staying in the room next to us and they were very noisy till 1 am... they were asked to quiet down but didn't really - I think the parents had gathered in another room and were having fun themselves.

Room Tip: Watch out for hockey tournaments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JimT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear JimT07,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We value your comments. It is true that we welcome a wide range of guests including those participating in hockey tournaments, however we strive to focus 100% on the needs of each individual guest.

I would welcome the opportunity to provide you with a quiet comfortable stay and encourage you to contact me personally for your next reservation.

Thank you or choosing to stay with us

Sincerely

Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager
(807)473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It's a little bit out of town, however depending on why you are in Thunder Bay, there is no reason you can't stay here. Nice little pool area, sauna, hot tub, restaurant, and bar. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are not five star, however they are clean and mostly updated. Fridge, Flat screen tv, Wifi. Beautiful surrounding. And across the street is one of my favourite restaurants, The Nebbing.

Room Tip: Most ground floor rooms can be accessed from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ColdCanuckTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear hszumowski,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide an excellent review and rating on TripAdvisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our new Cliffhanger restaurant and bar, as well as our newly renovated guest rooms.

Our mission is to lead the industry in Superior Customer Care, and it is wonderful to see that as our loyal guest you have experienced this first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our scenic location again in the future.
To us you are like family.

Sincerely

Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Every staff person at this hotel that we encountered was pleasant, professional, and accommodating. We stayed here for about a week at the end of August, 2013.

The rooms are clean, and spacious. The room that we upgraded to the night of the wedding (I think it was called a spa suite?) was AMAZING - the bathroom was beautiful, and it was huge!

Planning a wedding at this hotel was a piece of cake. Joanna (catering & events) was a pleasure to deal with, as was Justin, who took care of our room bookings. I planned everything from out of town, and it all went smoothly.

Our 4 course meal at the reception was seriously the best reception dinner I've ever had, and many of our guests told me this as well. Meals at the restaurant on site were great as well; we ate here a lot during the week.

Everyone who works at this hotel, from the groundskeepers to the front desk staff all did a great job the week we stayed here.

Any time I have to stay in a hotel in Thunder Bay in the future, it will be this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear rgessie,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials and for allowing us to be a part of this momentous occasion. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review and provide an excellent rating for our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I was very pleased to read that our newly renovated guest rooms exceeded your expectations, and that "planning a wedding at this hotel was a piece of cake", as our hard working Catering and Guest Services staff strive to provide superior customer care.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your anniversary.
Our best wishes to you both in your future together.

Sincerely

Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
8.4 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
8.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#7 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Suites - Thunder Bay
Days Inn Suites - Thunder Bay
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
10.5 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this newly renovated Thunder Bay, Ontario hotel offering full-service accommodations near Fort William Historical Park, Loch Lommond ski resort, Thunder Bay Tournament Centre, and Kamview Nordic Ski Centre. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre has it all! Featuring an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, private steam and sauna rooms, and a full scale fitness centre. Situated in beautiful Thunder Bay, Ontario, this hotel provides guests with exceptional customer service, superb full-service amenities and an unbeatable Nor'Wester Mountain location, only 7 minutes from downtown. Guests will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable television, Flat Screen TV's, Fridges, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Suites are also available to accommodate the entire family. For a more comfortable stay on the road, our well appointed standard rooms or our luxurious suites will meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Nor`Wester Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing