We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was the way a hotel should be!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Was the way a hotel should be!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I am moving across the country and in all the hotels we stayed in this one was the best. The rooms were very clean, we got a room rate away, the service was excellent, and the scenery and atmosphere was beautiful. I will always stay there from now on. Wow!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiebonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Jackiebonbon TripAdvisor Reviewer,

Thank you for posting a review and for your loyalty!

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back home again! To us you are like family!

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    250
    65
    21
    15
See reviews for
268
220
54
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our room was clean, comfortable and everything worked. It was nice and quiet. We asked for a room away from noise like ice machines, and got that. The pool was nice and warm, but the hot tub was too hot.
We ate in their restaurant which was a pleasant surprise, especially since there seemed to be nothing beyond decent in the area. Their lemon caesar salad was very good, as was their mashed potatos. The Hawaiian salad with pineapple, bacon, chicken, lettuce and tomato was excellent. So was the garlic bread.
It was nice to be out of the main area of town. We purposely chose this quieter location, which is worth the roughly 15 min. extra drive.
We did not care that breakfast was not included since we planned on eating at Hoito for Finnish pancakes. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We always ask ahead of time for a room as high up as possible away from elevators, ice machines and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augweddedbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Augweddedbells TripAdvisor Tip Contributor,

Thank you dearly for taking the time to post a review after your stay with us in August. We truly appreciate the comments made of our restaurant and our meal choices. I am very happy that you chose our hotel....and now yours to be your home away from home when in Thunder Bay.

We would like to once again thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,


Edwin Martinez
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We drove into town late at night because we couldn't find a place to stay in Grand Portage, MN, and stayed here simply because it was the first hotel we found. It turned out to be super comfortable, with amazing staff, and great rooms. The restaurant was a little pricey, but that is to be expected with a hotel like this. While the hotel is on the edge of town, it is also close to many of the tourist attractions that are also on the edge of town, like the historic fort, and Kakebeka Falls.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whathehope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Whathehope TripAdvisor Reviewer,

I would like to first off thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Your review gives us an opportunity to view our product through the eyes of our customers.
I am very pleased to read that it was super comfortable and our staff was amazing.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly so I can personally assist you with your next reservation returning to Thunder Bay!

Sincerely,

Edwin Martinez
807-473-9123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visit once per year to visit family and always stay at the Nor'Wester. The location is beautiful and the staff ensures that your stay is perfect. We had an issue with our room and the manager was very fair. Its nice that the main level is canine friendly as well. We haven't brought our dog with us for a few years, but it is a very nice option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear T W,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review after your recent stay with us, and thank you for the marvelous comments and recommending our hotel.

Thanks again for the great review and we look forward to your return home!

Thanks again

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Choose to stay out of town, only a short drive, very quiet when I was there, nice view on the mountain side, patio also faces it so a nice way to end the day with a drink and some food. Good service, friendly staff, have used facility before for conference, staff really helpful. Rooms are a little dated, but clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Olds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Olds2013,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable comments in your TripAdvisor review. You may be interested to know that we are in the process of replacing our entire restaurant deck, and it will be a great spot where to enjoy a cocktail or perhaps just to relax especially after a long day at work!

I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed the good service, and that our staff are friendly!

We sincerely thank you for your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back home on your next trip!

Cheers,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I either stay at this Best Western or at the Crossroads in Thunder Bay during my drive. I often choose this one, with a mountain view, just because it is relaxing to get off the road and go sit on the deck over the duck pond or walk through the trails. It is an extra drive out of town to get to the NorWester, but it is nice not to be on a main drag in the city. It also feels a bit like Twin Peaks when you walk into the lobby, which I love! And the staff are very nice. The downfall is the rooms. The beds are perfectly comfortable, but the rooms feel dark and dated. They could use some definite updating if they want to stay on par with the Crossroads. It is nice to have access to a restaurant in the hotel, whether you want to dine in or do room service, but it's not a stellar restaurant. It's just okay. I would stay here again, particularly when traveling with my dog, because of the vast outdoor space, but I hope they put a bit of thought into brightening up the rooms and making them a bit more contemporary.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view. I don't think the stay would be as enjoyable on the highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SherryMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear SerryMontreal,

Your time spent posting this review is sincerely appreciated. I would like to start by thanking you for your loyalty to the Best Western brand, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are always upgrading our hotel to better serve our valued guests like yourself, and are sincerely interested to find out further ways of improving our property and would welcome a telephone conversation to further learn more details. All of our furniture, beddings, carpets, curtains, crown molding, micro ways, fridges, a/c units are all new and most recently two new Luxurious Spa Suites added to our inventory just two weeks ago.

Again, I sincerely thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Thunder Bay,

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager, Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here briefly for a conference. Not luxurious but very nice, really clean, and excellent and friendly service. Best to have a car here, it's a bit out of town. WiFi free and works well. Beds comfortable and room air conditioning not too noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzwanzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear jzwanzig,

Thank you for your kind review after your recent stay with us sincerely thank you for using the Best Western brand.
I am pleased to read that you enjoy your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Thunder Bay weather it is for business or pleasure.


Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
8.4 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
861 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
5.1 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
7.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
5.4 mi away
Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Best Value Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this newly renovated Thunder Bay, Ontario hotel offering full-service accommodations near Fort William Historical Park, Loch Lommond ski resort, Thunder Bay Tournament Centre, and Kamview Nordic Ski Centre. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre has it all! Featuring an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, private steam and sauna rooms, and a full scale fitness centre. Situated in beautiful Thunder Bay, Ontario, this hotel provides guests with exceptional customer service, superb full-service amenities and an unbeatable Nor'Wester Mountain location, only 7 minutes from downtown. Guests will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable television, Flat Screen TV's, Fridges, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Suites are also available to accommodate the entire family. For a more comfortable stay on the road, our well appointed standard rooms or our luxurious suites will meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Nor`Wester Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing