We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I try and stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I like this hotel because it is clean, they have nice rooms, a restaurant and others near by. They are out of town so it is quiet without feeling remote. The staff is always friendly and you can tell that there are many guests who come back often.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank gregfromthepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear: Gregfromthepeg

Thank you for your feedback! Yes, you are correct many guests do return time after time to our hotel, it is mainly due to the customer service levels.

We look forward to welcoming you back home on your next stay in Thunder Bay.

Thank you again,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

853 - 859 of 969 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for one week in June 2012.One night a wedding party was so loud we contacted security to quell the noise which continued for several hours into the morning.We were lodged on the bottom floor.Other than this sleepless night we were impressed with the spectacular view,pleasant staff and great meals.Try not to use the pool during swimming lessons!.

Room Tip: Be cautious on bottom floor during a busy wedding season!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear: Dave S.

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel! It is feedback from our guests that enables us to continuously strive to deliver the service and experience that our Best Western guests know and love.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Thunder Bay.

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel overlooks a mountain range and a ski hill, which is a nice change. The main lobby, faced in logs, is warm and inviting. My room was spacious, the bathroom modern and everything was very clean. After a comfortable sleep, I had a very good breakfast in a sunny room, facing the mountain. The breakfast menu is varied, including many omelettes, breakfast sandwiches with a vegetarian option, and fruit. The staff is friendly and helpful. They offer a free shuttle to the airport or will pay your cab fare if you land after midnight. I stayed at this hotel when my usual (the Valhalla) was booked, but next time, I will choose this hotel, which is only a 10 to 15 minute drive from the airport, but a world away from the typical suburban hotel experience.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Countryfoodie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Countryfoodie50

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, the World Largest Travel Site. Also would like to thank you for highly recommending us to travelers heading to Thunder Bay.

We look forward to welcoming you back at your new home the Best Western PLUS Nor'Wester and Conference Centre, please feel free to call me directly to personally accommodate your next stay.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I spent 3 nights in September at the Nor'Wester located 5 minutes outside of Thunder Bay, ON. at the base of the Nor'Wester Mountains. Located on the highway it is set far enough back from the road that it is very quiet. The rooms are also well sound insulated which is important to me. The Front Desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. The bar/restaurant was in the process of renovating at nights. It was tired and the renovation I'm sure would help. However the meals were excellent ... far better in quality than I expected and excellent value. The wait staff were excellent. My room was nicely decorated and furnished and the mattress was very comfortable. The bathroom and shower was quite acceptable but getting a little tired. The hotel sits on a huge property with gardens & a pond with a short hiking trail around it. Canada Geese inhabit the pond. Overall it was excellent value, very clean and extremely quiet. It far exceeded expectations.

Room Tip: Select a room at the back facing the mountains. It is quieter & the view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaPhil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear ScubaPhil1

On behalf of our entire Best Western PLUS Nor' Wester Team, we would like to thank you for staying with us and your compliments about our property!

I was very pleased to read your comment "However the meals were excellent ... far better in quality than I expected and excellent value". The new Cliffhanger Restaurant and Bar is now fully renovated and open! It is offering new menu items that are sure to satisfy the different taste buds.

It is feedback from our guests that enables us to continuously strive to deliver the service and experience that our Best Western guests know and love.

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is a 50$ cab ride each way into town so don't plan for cheap nights out in Thunder Bay in the winter! The hotel offers a free shuttle to the airport and if there are enough of you will bring you into town for supplies. Really great spacious gym, which is attached to pool area that is generally swarming with moms and kids, so avoid this area! The hotel restaurant is forgettable, palatable. There's a restaurant across the four-lane highway that has laughable service, but it's a roadhouse in Thunder Bay, so don't expect miracles. Beer and pub food and reasonable. Staff at the hotel are friendly, helpful, and very accommodating for late checkouts, special requests. Great cable package in the rooms, to keep your brain in a coma while your layover passes you by. I'd stay here again and wouldn't regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu_W1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Bytowndude Reviewer,

Thank you for your loyaty to our brand, we truly appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor, the
WORLD’S LARGEST TRAVEL SITE as it help us see our products and services through the eyes of our guests so I would like to personally thank you for recommending our property to others. You are correct about the cab rides cost to different points of the City, regardless of where you are staying the taxi fairs in Thunder Bay are higher than average.

I am very please to hear that our "Staff at the hotel are friendly, helpful, and very accommodating for late checkouts, special requests. And also that you enjoy our "Great cable package in the rooms".


We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here on a hockey tournament. The only good thing about this place was that it is so close to the arena. Staff were rude and inattentive to concerns. My son had his eyes burning out of his head from the pool. Someone was actually throwing some kind of chemical into the pool while the children were in it swimming!!! Unreasonable regarding the noise levels that one should anticipate with many children staying for a hockey tournament. Could not even bring a birthday cake into the pool area (but was advised that I could BUY something from the restaurant and bring that in... pffft). In sum, not a great place for accommodating families with younger children. It`s almost worth considering the drive from somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TerriD282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear TerriD282,

Thank you for taking the time to write your note, and we appreciate your feedback. From my understanding this took place sometime in December and many changes to our processes have taken place to improve our services in all different areas. I welcome the opportunity to further discuss your experience at our hotel, and your contact information would be most appreciated so that I am able to understand your specific concerns. It is feedback from our guests that enables us to continuously strive to deliver the service and experience that our Best Western guests know and love.

Best Regards,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our high school sports teams travelled from Sioux Lookout ON and spent 2 nights at the NorWester hotel. We travelled with 30 students which is never an easy task; however, the staff at the NorWester made it that. Upon arrival, the front desk was ready with the room keys for each of our rooms so there was no loitering time. The difficulties of finding a place to eat with a large group were solved by the NorWester as they catered to us a Taco Bar buffet which was perfect and so good! The students all enjoyed it as it had a variety of veggies, beef and chicken tacos that I would recommend to anyone staying at the NorWester or not! The cleanliness of the hotel was superb and the pool and fitness area was a great place for the students to hang out during off time! In the mornings we arranged for a hot breakfast buffet which was just as good and efficient as the taco bar! The Location of the hotel prevents students from trying to wonder, unless they are going next door to the Tournament Center to watch a game of hockey! We also took advantage of the proximity to Loch Lomond and took the boys tubing which was an experience they will never forget. All in all, it was an enjoyable stay and if ever traveling to Thunder Bay whether for sports or on my own, the NorWester is my first option!

Room Tip: If traveling with students, try to stay on the second floor as it pevents them from using the slidin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Shawn H.

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, the World Largest Travel Site. Also would like to thank you for highly recommending us to travelers heading to Thunder Bay. Our kitchen staff are very pleased to hear the group enjoyed the Taco Bar Buffet as well as your breakfast.

It was a pleasure having your high school sport team from Sioux Lookout staying with us last month and look forward to welcoming the team on your next travel dates to Thunder Bay.

I have taken the liberty of printing your review to share it with the entire team here at the Nor'Wester as it is because of their efforts and hard work that we continue to exceed the expectations of our guests.

Sincerely,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
5.1 mi away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
8.4 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
909 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay District > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range: $103 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this full-service accommodations near Fort William Historical Park, Loch Lommond ski resort, Thunder Bay Tournament Centre, and Kamview Nordic Ski Centre. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre has it all! Featuring an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, private steam and sauna rooms, and a full scale fitness centre. Situated in beautiful Thunder Bay, Ontario, this hotel provides guests with exceptional customer service, superb full-service amenities and an unbeatable Nor'Wester Mountain location, only 7 minutes from downtown. Guests will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable television, Flat Screen TV's, Fridges, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Suites are also available to accommodate the entire family. For a more comfortable stay on the road, our well appointed standard rooms or our luxurious suites will meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Nor`Wester Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing