We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleeping Giant Provincial Park

Sleeping Giant Provincial Park
Ranked #3 of 64 things to do in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on a rugged peninsula of thick forests, several lakes, and high granite cliffs, this scenic wonderland offers nature walks, camping and fishing activities.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sorry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had a hard time seeing a sleeping giant. Could just be me but, I really didn't get it. I will say that others with me could see the sleeping giant but not I. I couldn't see the old woman in the rocks at Old Woman's Bay though either. Perhaps it's my eyes. : (

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    80
    23
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy campground”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and our 13 yrs old girl stayed at the park this summer for 4 nights and was disappointed how noisy the it became att night time by campers and the lack of good park ranger to enforce the rule of quiet time. We met a couple at Rosport while looking at potteries and they also made a comment of how noisy the park became when they were at sleeping giant. The lake should also be protected by not allowing motorized vehicle in the lake for the future generations.
- although the night was shortened by adults rowdiness in the evening our days were filled with adventure by travelling some of the manny trails. My daughter loved the sea lion trail and also seing the many mushroom on the trails.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We loved camping here. Had a great campsite, right on the water!! Ducks came to visit us almost everyday. Great hiking and lots to see here. Lots of wildlife too... Deer everywhere, and we also saw a black bear crossing the road. Facilities are in great shape ad well kept, staff very friendly too...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wild-Travels-Photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super Service - Excellent Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were travelling with kids, ages 13, 3 and 1 and this was out final destination for this summer's vacation.

When we got there, the weather was less than optimal and we asked about the chalets. They readily changed our reservation and gave us a key. On the drive to get there though we saw many families with kids in tents and ready to party rain or shine. The chalet was really clean and all but we were alone in them and the 13 and 3 year old got sad that we were here to tent it and not sleep in a "house".

So, back to the front gate we went and they changed us back to a tent site with a smile.

Our site was clean and close to the water... A few sites down lay the Sleeping Giant in all his beauty. Our three day stay was great with no issues, wildlife, parties or anything else. We are already planning to come back here in a few years.

The hike into the park from the highway was a bit long after our 1500 km trek, but worth it for sure. Just make sure you don't forget any essentials :)

Loved it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oliverfamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoho National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“camping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

sleeping giant provincial park ...great place for families to spend out door time, always some thing going on , only bad thing is if you want a certain sight must book 6 months ahead and if you do so do it by 9 am or most good ones gone...was told by worker making rounds to keep the noise down at 11pm...was just 4 adults talking and no booze involved .......but still a good time .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank walmart_gal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleeping Giant Provincial Park also viewed

 

Been to Sleeping Giant Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing