We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Do not go here....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Motor Hotel

Shoreline Motor Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shoreline Motor Hotel
Save
You added Shoreline Motor Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
York, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Do not go here....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is the first time I have ever written a bad review of anywhere we have been. I grew up with the understanding that if you can't say something good, say nothing at all.....however, since we stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks ago, I feel compelled to warn others off this place. it is probably the worst we have ever stayed in.

We ended up here when we arrived in Thunder Bay late afternoon without pre-booking and everywhere else was full. We had a choice to either stay or drive back from where we came, so decided to accept our lot and make the best of it.

For a start, the place was filthy with the lobby floors disgusting and the glass in the entrance doors cloudy and scummy. The front desk clerk sadly looked very emaciated and ill and while no offence intended to him personally it made us feel uncomfortable and ill at ease. The whole atmosphere was just wrong. Our rooms were not much better. Our travelling companions room was worse than ours with a large bleached stain on the carpet just inside the door and what appeared to be blood stain down the side of the bed. There was no hot water and after prepaying we were actually expected to pay a room key deposit of $20 per room in addition.

From our balcony we could see what appeared to be 'dealings' going on in the parking lot and a drunk by the road edge holding a brown paper bag. Sorry to say, but the whole place felt like a cess-pit. We did not sleep all night and our experience here pretty much spoiled our visit to the city and scarred the memory of our trip.

Advice is book ahead, don't get caught out like we did and avoid this hotel at all costs!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueBillB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here to save money because it is one of the cheapest places in town. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The place needs a makeover but we had a room on the fifth floor and it was fairly clean and quiet and had a great view of the lake. The restaurant looks dicey but the food is pretty good and a fairly good value. The bar is okay and seemed to be full of local regulars, always a good sign.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungrybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thunder Bay hotels

Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Dump city. As others have indicated it would be best avoided. Our room was pretty dirty, the carpet stained and the bed covers very ratty but not badly discoloured. The security was suspect since the previous unfortunate who stayed in the room absconded with the key. Perhaps the individual wished to save others from the ordeal he or she experienced. However we considered the possibility that the possessor of the key might return to rob new dwellers in the room.
As a result of this concern we built a pile of bags next to the door with our small cooler on top to alert us if we were being robbed. In addition my wife slept with a hammer (used for tent pegs) for defence at her side. Although the halls were stinky and the other hotel denizens boisterous and apparently inebriated at 2 AM, the symphony the toilet played upon flushing almost compensated for the ambience. On a more positive note the afternoon desk clerk, a paean to despair, was friendly but ineffective. The bars on the window were slightly comforting but we wonder as to their purpose; keep us in or others out. I count myself lucky that the pointy spring on the bed only worked its way through the mattress cover and not my leg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Upon walking into our room for the first time I noticed the garbage can was actually a empty laundry detergent containter with a garbage bag inside. The tv didn't work and there was no good wifi connection after they assured me there was wifi. My socks stuck to the floor and I had to wear shoes the whole time. The beds were comfy but clearly dirty and worn out. We told front desk about the tv situation and he said for us to clean the room and make it look like we werent there and he'll give us a new room cause there was no way to fix the tv. The new room was nicer until we looked in the drawer to find a plate and some gravol. When flushing the toliet it would leak and literally sound like it was going to explode. From 2-4am there people talking very loudly and we found out that one of the those loud people was the guy at the front desk joking around. We heard loud noises and banging and were getting worried. Also to add the whole hotel smells like pot but the beds were comfy even though we went and bought new blankets to use.. also found some hairs on my pillow.. Gross

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank laurenbeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Very affordable. Bar inside hotel is welcoming and comfortable. Staff were extremely helpful. Close to all entertainment venues, and shopping district.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbuffCanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Oh where to begin... we arrived at dusk. No vacancies anywhere else in Thunder Bay. We were greeted by the mentally handicapped desk clerk who asked ME if there were people staying in the room that she gave us the key for. I shouted, "Gee, I don't know." I couldn't hear myself over the din of hoboes fighting over bottle and can collecting rights to the hotel dumpster...
I gathered my wife and beer and we headed to room 313.
The first thing we noticed was the itrusive odor and the odd placement of the towels, haphazardly unfurled in the the closet. We noted to charmingly out of place 5 gallon bucket under the sink, dangerously close to spilling waste water all over our socked feet.
As we looked for the bible, we were surprised to find some spare change (an opportunity to use the broken vending machine?), a used cocaine straw and half a bottle of Pepto Bismol.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

This place might as well be turned into a flop house. Its a disgusting hole. There was no alarm clock, chair for the desk, the room smelt like smoke, the halls were disgusting and the front desk man was rude. Stay Away from this place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank roadtripsRbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Suites - Thunder Bay
Days Inn Suites - Thunder Bay
#3 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
2.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Motor Hotel

Property: Shoreline Motor Hotel
Address: 61 N. Cumberland Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 4L7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Shoreline Motor Hotel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing