We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no problem”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bob's Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bob's Motel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“no problem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

made reservation at Bob's for March 19, & for April 1,2013 as I was flying to vacation in Cuba & I live 65 miles from T.B.
My return flite to TB was late ,1am & had no problem getting my room. Beds were very comfortable, room spotlessly clean & nice and warm.
I spent 25yrs in the hotel business so you would think I was fussy, but hv no complaints with this place. I used to stay at a chain hotel in TB but find $130. a bit much for 1 person/nite. My last vist to Bob's was $72.00 inc. tax

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william2Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Most of the reviews we read were horrific, but Mexicoanny's recent comments encouraged us to give Bob's Motel a try -- and our experience echoes hers. We were promptly served at reception, our room was recently renovated, and there was nothing to complain about IF you're OK without Wi-Fi and air conditioning, which the staff clearly indicated on the phone they did not have. Comfy beds, nice bed and bath linens, perfectly adequate shower, plus new carpeting, and plenty of TV channels for our needs. We left our room early in the morning to go sightseeing in Thunder Bay, and when we returned, Gary from the front desk hurried up to us to apologize for the fact housekeeping had gone in and started cleaning already. They thought we'd checked out because we'd already packed up our luggage. This is definitely not a luxury resort, but the reasonable price, friendly folks, and good night's sleep made it a pleasant experience for us.

Room Tip: We really liked #33, the last room in the building furthest from reception. To our surprise, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Probably the worst motel in all of thunder bay. From poor service to poor rooms in n general. The front desk people are always rude and almost every person I know who was stayed here has found something disgusting in their rooms. The only upside is that its located on arthur street but there are tons of nicer hotels on arthur with actual good service. Stay somewhere else! Anywhere would be a better choice

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLLINGWOOD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had read very unfavourable reviews but a friend suggested i check it for myself and it provided very decent, basic accommodation. The room, bedding and linens were clearn, microwave worked, windows opened so airy, heat and hotwater very adequate, weekly rate was the best i found for quality. i did not expect the staff to be models of sartorial elegance, nor were they but they were pleasant and helpful. only thing missing was wifi which was unfortunate but i found excellent access and decent espresso at the Seattle Coffeehouse a few blocks away.

Room Tip: ask for non-smoking room;mine was clean, pleasant and simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicoanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

I was visiting Thunder Bay with frugal friends and they booked this hotel, which cost $72/night (I guess that's reasonable for this area). I would not have chosen to stay here and definitely won't stay here again. A resident manager checked us in and I immediately knew what we were in for...he had on shorts, a saggy tanktop, bare feet and BO. Rooms are very dated--old furniture, small old television, no alarm clock, no wi-fi, no shampoo. Luckily, I arrived late and left early the next morning, so I was asleep for 7 of the 8 hours that I occupied the room.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank OnTheRoadAgain1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Traveling from Winnipeg to Sault Ste. Marie to visit family. Not knowing Thunder Bay very well, we were tired and didn't want to keep driving so we took a chance, as the outside didn't look too bad. It was dirty inside and very noisy- seemed like a truck stop type of place. Didn't get much sleep for all the noise that night and were a little afraid that it may not be that secure at night. We couldn't wait to get out of there in the morning and we still talk about how bad it was.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanie27_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden,ON.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

What a duimp!!!!30C and no air-conditioning in any of the rooms. The carpets were so dirty (one can't imagine), that the NWHU should be notified, as this is very unhealthy. The owners should be ashamed to rent out these rooms for $65 per night. I shouldn't rate this place a 1-star, but the location was good for us. If you decide to try it (which we strongly recommend not to) make sure you have your own toiletries, as there weren't any. Nothing more to say-----DISGUSTING

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lariat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Thunder Bay Crossroads
0.4 mi away
Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Motel

Property: Bob's Motel
Address: 235 Authur Street W., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5P7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Bob's Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing