We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Needs some sprucing up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Voyageur Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Voyageur Motel
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
209 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Needs some sprucing up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our 3rd stay here allbeit the last time was 22 years ago and it's still okay to stay for a night or 2. It's on Cumberland St. and that is the old part of town and there are several stand alone motels along the road. It's not the best part of town but the hotel was quiet and the room #38 was quite large with a good-sized bathroom.

Cons - no coffee-maker, no hair dryer, no shampoo, very stiff and old towels, some broken tiles on bathroom floor and no security chain on the door. The slider part was still nailed on the door but the chain and knob part was missing and the door frame showed signs of a force entry at some point??? Not sure and did not ask.

Outside stairs only to the upper floor - very steep. Plug ins available in the parking lot for the winter months.

Room Tip: Book ahead and ask for bottom floor - nicer rooms and the staircases to the upper are scary and woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
17
17
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
246 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 640 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the second time that we've stayed at the Voyageur. It's passably clean and comfortable and the owners are friendly, but it's not great. The big attraction is the price. At $70/night it was less then half the price of a room at the Days Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimpete8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Pros - Microwave, fridge, large sized room, very reasonably priced at around $80. Clean. Shower had really good water pressure - that was nice! Quiet.
Cons - no coffee in room (I purchased a coffee from the Tim Horton's down the street the evening before and used the microwave to heat it up in the a.m. - worked just fine) Bed was pretty hard.
This is an older motel and looks it, but it was perfectly fine for a one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland Lake Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed two separate nights the month of August.
For the price, the room was clean and comfortable with exceptionally friendly, accommodating owners. No hair dryers or clocks however the little bar fridge & TV worked just fine. Location was ideal and in close proximity to downtown & waterfront. The trains close by are infrequent and slow moving so the noise is minimumal. Some TLC on the outside is needed. Nice lot with mature trees but sure could use some grass mowing! Overall this motel is above average for a budget motel.

Room Tip: Unit #31 was quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parkleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and had no issues with our room. It was basic, yes, but clean and big enough for three people to retreat to their own spaces at times. There were only 2 towels in the room, but we asked for more the first day and continued to receive them without asking the rest of our stay. Bring your own shampoo, as you only get the most basic bottle. There is no clock in the room, which drove me nuts, so bring one or be prepared to use your phone in its place. Always nice to have a fridge and microwave. I appreciated that the desk area was separate from the sleeping area; it allowed my husband to stay up late and work in the light while my daughter and I slept in the dark.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LilGoose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The room we were given was right beside the office, maybe it is the most heavily used? The carpet was GROSS (dirty, wrinkled), the beds had seen better days (the blankets actually had holes in the them), the bathroom ceiling had weird stains, and the toilet didn't even flush! The only good thing I can say about this room was that it was a decent size, with a fridge and a microwave, small eating table with two chairs. It did not have a clock. The room cost me $85 after taxes. I'm not too familiar with Thunder Bay, but I'm betting I can get a much nicer room than that for that price. I can not recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Do NOT take room 11! Maybe the other ones are better, but this one was yucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thunder Bay hotels

Madison, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Don't let my average rating turn you off to this hotel. It was actually pretty good. I stayed at the Voyageur during my motorcycle trip around Lake Superior this year. I needed to book a room at the last minute because it was raining. All of the other hotels were booked for this Sunday evening in July. They said it was a busy time for tourism in Thunder Bay.
I called the Voyageur after I ran out of other options. They had a room! Great! Better than staying in a wet campsite.
The outside of the hotel is nothing to brag about. It looks like a 1970's motel. But, inside my room it was pretty clean and well maintained. No complaints that way. It is very close to some restaurants on Cumberland St. In fact there was a nice drive-in right next to the motel.
The motel is somewhat close to railroad tracks, but I didn't notice any noise because they were moving the train cars very slowly. The parking lot was very well lit so I was not worried about my motorcycle overnight. This is a good place to stay for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Country Motel
Old Country Motel
#28 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
3.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Thunder Bay Inn
Thunder Bay Inn
#12 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
3.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Motel
Holiday Inn Motel
#19 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Motel

Property: Voyageur Motel
Address: 177 Powley St, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 2K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Voyageur Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlike many other hotels and motels, the Voyageur Motel prides itself on its friendliness, combining professionalism with sincere smiles that allow travellers to unwind, relax and enjoy their stays.Immaculate, quiet rooms to ensure a good night’s sleep. Few minutes drive to downtown, Thunder Bay charity casino, Hospital, Marina Park and other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Voyageur Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyageur Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing