We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ripe Restaurant

Ripe Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 336 Restaurants in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian, Pizza, International, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Return visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have been to Ripe before during a business trip and had a good experience. This time the food seemed less flavourful. Our calamari was OK but the dish was a bit cool and the pesto not overly tasty. The pear and goat cheese salad lacked a good salad dressing. We found it too vinegary.

Our pizza was the best part of the meal. Could have been more generous with the carmalized onions. Staff were attentive and quick acting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    55
    19
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elliot Lake, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Wonderful food and friendly professional service..our main beef is the absence of Ontario wines from the wine list. Any restaurant in this province should have half it's wine list made up of the excellent wines produced here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Some detail work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The purpose of my review is not as a slam of Ripe but just a few comments to help improve their restaurant.

On a positive note was the friendliness of the server who made sure we were well looked after.

My main was the fresh halibut which was soft and flaky served with freshly sautéed vegetables in a very tasty broth.

For improvements accept reservations. If there is a problem with that concept ask yourself if you were going out for a nice meal would you not want to be assured that you would have a table as opposed to showing up finding there was no room having either to wait or go elsewhere.

We asked for bread along with oil and balsamic vinegar which when eaten the bread tasted stale. The balsamic vinegar was an amalgamation of oil and maybe some balsamic vinegar which was very greasy in texture.

I sampled some of my brother's calamari which was rubbery and greasy. I will be the first to admit to get calamari right is a considerable effort but this failed.

When the bill was brought I had asked to have all wine on my bill which was not done which resulted in some embarrassment. As most restaurants use hand held devices for credit cards they have options for gratuities it is considered presumptuous to have a preset gratuity of 20%. Unless if I am missing something 15% is considered the upper limit for excellent service and a gratuity is considered to be contingent on good service.

Once bill was paid no effort was made to refill water glasses or to offer hot water top up for tea.

It was just a series of small things that added up to some irritants especially when it is ones discretionary after tax income being used for a service

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pricey but good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A nice place for dinner before the symphony or theatre. The specials are often a good choice and they make tasty wood oven pizzas.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Sudbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

love, Love, LOVE this place. Home made pasta, stone fire pizza, awesome salads. I wish they would bring back the chocolate caramel crunch cake, but the other desserts are just as delish. Can't wait to go again next week!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripe Restaurant also viewed

Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
Sudbury, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Ripe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing