We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing weekend stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southbay Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sudbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southbay Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 15 Sudbury B&B and Inns
Newcastle, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great alternative to a hotel. Jose is a welcoming host, making you feel right at home. The bedroom was very comfortable, and the view of the lake from the deck was just lovely. Very tranquil and peaceful. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of fresh fruit, and eggs made to order one day, and french toast the second day. Already planning to re-book when we return to Sudbury in the fall to visit family again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnomeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoulin, Owner at Southbay Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
It was a pleasure sharing our home with you. It is guests like you that encourage us to continue sharing our home on lake Ramsey in Sudbury. "Arrive as a guest and leave as a friend"

Again we thank you for choosing our home for your stay in Sudbury. We would love seeing you again on your next trip to Sudbury or Manitoulin.

Muchas gracias, merci, miigwetch, masha danki, thank you.


Sincerely
Jose Garcia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
25
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful setting with a resident loon and charming host Jose.Very comfortable bedroom and a pleasant sitting room.Each morning we were served a healthy breakfast with exotic flavours and plenty of fresh fruit.A establishment with a difference.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoulin, Owner at Southbay Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Miigwetch, merci, gracias, masha dank, bedankt and thank you again for sharing our home and your description of your experience here on the lake.
You were a wonderful guest and we loved sharing our home with you.

Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Picture sitting on the back porch overlooking the lake, listening to the loons, and sipping wine. No pool but a nice-size lake, great for a morning dip. No fitness center, but great walking or jogging on the wide road and paths....or perhaps canoeing. After attending 4-day conference at Laurentian University, I was more relaxed than I had ever been. The university, in fact, is within walking distance (less than a mile) of both the campus and medical school. Our host, Jose, was the perfect: tasty breakfasts, wonderful company, & stimulating chats. My room was the larger of the two with an enclosed sitting room (outside), a jacuzzi, four poster bed, and ample room. Everything was clean, well kept, and.....just perfect. I really look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetrS184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoulin, Owner at Southbay Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
It was such a pleasure sharing our home with such an interesting person!!! Thank you for choosing our home here on lake Ramsey Sudbury for your stay. Our motto "Arrive as a guest and leave as a friend" certainly has meaning.

Bedankt, miigwetch, gracias, danki, merci and thank you again for sharing!!!!!

Jose Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was a wonderful stay in a beautiful setting. We are used to staying places where the breakfast is a simple continental one. However, Jose is an excellent cook who provided a delicious breakfast. The location is close to hiking opportunities and downtown Sudbury.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoulin, Owner at Southbay Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Your wonderful comments are appreciated!

Thanks, merci.

Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had a fantastic long weekend stay here. The room was beautiful and relaxing with plenty of reading, magazines, dvd's etc. to keep you entertained on a rainy day. The other guests that passed through were lovely - very interesting to talk to but respectful of each others' need to relax in private.There was plenty of wildlife and natural beauty out on the deck, plus great walking/biking/skiing trails along the lakes just at the end of the road. Last, but not least, Jose was a great host- he cooked up beautiful breakfasts and was an endless source of information about Sudbury, Canada, the Caribbean and much of the world beyond. He has a very soothing presence which cannot help but put you in a relaxed mood. I would not hesitate to book here again when I return to Sudbury!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darah12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoulin, Owner at Southbay Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We thank you for sharing our home and the comments you expressed about your stay.

Thanks, merci, gracias, miigwetch


Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We chose the location based on the location to the hospital while visiting a relative having treatment. What a pleasant surprise to be sooo close to town but in a cottage setting.
Jose was very welcoming, the room was clean with everything we needed, and we took the time to go for a nice cool swim during the heatwave. Picked blueberries at the dock before heading up for a glass of wine on the deck overlooking the lake. The baby bear by the side of the road was a special bonus on the way back to the hospital. Our one request was that it be quiet for sleeping - perfect.
Thanks Jose for the interesting conversations and healthy breakfasts that got us up and on our way each day. Got to try lots of new foods (he always asked first if we wanted to try something new).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoulin, Owner at Southbay Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Your description of our home could not be more exact. You capture in words what we have strived to establish for years. We thank you. It was a pleasure sharing our home with you and would not hesitate to experience those moments on your next visit to Sudbury or Manitoulin.

Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Brenda bubbled with delight as she welcomed us for a two night stay at their Luna De Miel Suite, with its magnificent king size four poster bed. Our son booked this retreat for us as a Christmas gift. We decided to use it in March so we could get some skiing in. After a day of cross-country skiing at the nearby Conservation area, soaking in the Jacuzzi with a bottle of ice-wine relaxed our muscles and tickled our fancy. Brenda is a good listener and enjoyed the magic tricks I gifted her. The food was delicious and the hospitality excellent. I half expected a working wood fireplace instead of an electric one, but it gave the correct atmosphere anyway. We highly recommend this place for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Sudbury Ontario
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sudbury
Hampton Inn Sudbury
#2 of 32 in Sudbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
Radisson Hotel Sudbury
#6 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelway Inn Sudbury
Travelway Inn Sudbury
#10 of 32 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbay Guesthouse

Property: Southbay Guesthouse
Address: 1802 South Bay Rd | Lake Ramsey, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 6H7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sudbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On lake Ramsey.Closest B&B to Laurentian University, Science North, Cancer Centre. Complimentary unlimited wi-fi internet. New 2 person spa, fireplace, heated floors. Utter tranquility assured. We invite you to sample the warmth, comfort & privacy of our accommodations in a safe ambiance of verified quality. Whether you are seeking a sense of peace, a state of mind or ultimate relaxation our guesthouse is your choice on Lake Ramsey. "Arrive as a guest at our home and leave as a friend" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southbay Guesthouse Sudbury, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing